Quilting Treasures “Harmony” Summer Mystery Sew-Along / Part 5

mystery harmony

Hello Friends, we meet again on another Saturday.  I hope you have had an enjoyable weekend!

Harmony Mystery

I hope you have had fun with our Summer Mystery Sew-Along.  I know I certainly have, and have loved getting to meet some of you via emails.  Last week, we solved a little a bit on the mystery, and made these blocks.

IMG_4605

Today, we will solve a bit more on the mystery.  BUT BEFORE WE GET STARTED, YOU WILL WANT TO DOWNLOAD TODAY’S INSTRUCTIONS IN PDF FORMAT TO FOLLOW ALONG HERE. [Please note that this file is the MOST updated version!  Always check the postings on this site for the most updated versions of instructions.]  Instructions will be available on this site through Oct 31, 2016.

If you are new joining in, and would like to access previous posts, click:

HERE for introductory details

HERE for Installment #1

HERE for Installment #2

HERE for Installment #3

HERE for Installment #4

***

#1.  So, to get started, we will need all the units made in previous weeks that haven’t been used:

Stem Units (July 9)

Flying Geese and Flying Geese Variation Units (July 16)

Bright Row Units (July 23)

Refer to the pdf instructions, and lay the units out accordingly into 4 different sets.  I have done mine, as shown:

IMG_4607

Easy peasy – you just start sewing them together to make a tree unit.  Repeat to make a total of 10 tree units, and set aside for a moment.

IMG_4649

#2.  Then, you will cut 20 (2 1/2″ x 8 1/2″) rectangles from the vanilla weave ground fabric.  I have used two vanilla weave rectangles to lay out together with the tree unit and bright row units.  Sew together, and I will have completed 1 block.

#3.  Please refer to pdf instructions for fabric placements and block orientations (very important on the block orientation!), complete a total of 10 blocks!  And you are finished for today.

IMG_4651

And now, you have a total of 20 blocks (counting the ones we made last week) to play with!!!  What shall we do next… Hmmmm…. come back next week and find out!  Meanwhile, give yourself a pat on the back – you have done a great job!  :o)

IMG_4653

What do you have planned for the rest of today?  My little family has errands to run, and I think I am going to sit down and do some leisure stitching after we are finished with errands.  See you next week!

5 thoughts on “Quilting Treasures “Harmony” Summer Mystery Sew-Along / Part 5

  1. The mystery unravels a bit more!! How fun!! Anxious to see what we do next week. I hope to get completely caught up today, maybe tomorrow. Off to our County Fair this evening to do a 4-hour stint of volunteer time in the quilt/home arts section. Last day for our Fair.

  2. Ohhhhh such adorable fabrics I love the colors. I am printing out the parts but…. too much going on here. Happy Hot Summer, Wendy

  3. Hi, Wendy. I am late in starting this quilt and just wanted to let you know that Rossville Quilts was the most easiest to buy the fabric. They had it listed in their kits and clearly labelled. Many of the other shops had no listing at all, searching using Quilting Treasures produced listings for quilting only. Some had no shop at all and wanted one to contact them via phone. This is a bit difficult as I am in New Zealand. So if you have others wanting fabric, Rossville is the place to go to.

    Kind regards, Lorraine

  4. Do you have any idea where I can find these jelly rolls now? I have been looking at all of the places that you put on your original post, and they are not on any website that I can find. I am getting very disappointed! I just found your mystery QAL as it ended, I would have loved to have been able to follow it from the beginning, I live in western MA, and the closest places I found on your list were in NY.

Leave a Reply

