Quilting Treasures “Harmony” Summer Mystery Sew-Along / Part 2

YOU MAY WANT TO DOWNLOAD TODAY’S INSTRUCTIONS IN PDF FORMAT TO FOLLOW ALONG HERE. [Please note that this file is the MOST updated version!  Always check the postings on this site for the most updated versions of instructions.]  Instructions will be available on this site through Oct 31, 2016.

mystery harmony

Hello and Happy Saturday, Friends!  I hope you have had a great week.  Welcome to the second installment of Harmony Summer Mystery Sew-Along!

***If you haven’t been with us last week when we sewed up the units from from first installment, and would like to join in, please do so by all means!  This mystery quilt is not demanding, and is meant for a quick summer sewing fix. Click here for the first installment and the list of participating quilt shops.  And you aren’t able to find a participating quilt shop in your area to purchase the fabrics, I got word from the following shops they still have kits available:

Nimble Thimble in Gilroy has kits available. The website ishttp://www.nimblethimble.com/ and the phone number is 408-842-6501

RahRah’s Fabrics & Quilting in Lubbock, TX has the jelly roll and vanilla weave background. I’m not sure if we still have the binding fabric or not. I don’t sell online, but I’m more than happy to ship. Give us a call at 806.792.1885.

Harmony Mystery

And with that, let’s take a look at the fabrics strips you will move right along to today’s sewing.

CUTTING & SEWING FLYING GEESE UNITS

#1.  We need the 4 following strips:  green mist weave, powder blue weave, lilac weave and grape spiral square, as shown below.  [Please note that the green mist and powder blue are not the lighter pastel blue and green.]

IMG_4495

#2.  Cut from green mist weave and powder blue weave strips, 3 (2 1/2″ x 4 1/2″) rectangles, and from lilac weave and grape spiral square strips, 2 (2 1/2″ x 4 1/2″) rectangles.

Also cut from vanilla weave fabric, 20 (2 1/2″ x 2 1/2″) squares and 20 (1 1/2″ x 2 1/2″) rectangles.

The below pictures shows the pieces I have cut for making 1 green mist weave flying geese unit.

IMG_4501

#3.  Draw a diagonal line on the wrong side of 1 (2 1/2″ x 2 1/2″) vanilla weave square.  Place square, right sides together, at a corner of 1 (2 1/2″ x 4 1/2″) green mist weave rectangle.  Sew on drawn line.  Trim 1/4″ away from sewn line.  Open and press to reveal green mist weave corner triangle.  Repeat with another (2 1/2″ x 2 1/2″) vanilla weave square at the opposite corner of the same green mist weave rectangle to complete 1 flying geese unit.

IMG_4504

My 2 cents:  I finger pressed the seams open.  I normally make my flying geese units larger and then trim them to size.  Since I am not able to do that with precut strips, I avoided using the iron for fear of risking the heat from the iron distort the square-ness of the flying geese units.  By finger pressing the seams, I pretty much kept my flying geese from going wonky.  I will just wait till after I construct my intended blocks to heat set the blocks. NOW, you may do whatever feels comfortable to you.  In case you haven’t known, my quilting motto echoes what Elizabeth Bennet in BBC’s Pride & Prejudice said, “Maria, this is your trunk; these are your gowns. You may arrange them in any way you wish. (whisper) Lady Catherine will never know.” :o)

IMG_4509

#4.  Sew 2 (1 1/2″ x 2 1/2″) vanilla weave rectangles to the opposite short sides of the flying geese unit to complete 1 sewn unit.

Repeat for all of the cut rectangles (3 green mist weave, 3 powder blue weave, 2 lilac weave and 2 grape spiral square).

IMG_4505

CUTTING & SEWING REMAINING UNITS

#1.  We need the following strips: spring green leaf & blue aster leaf (Set 1), crocus leaf & royal spiral square (Set 2), and sunflower swirl & carrot spiral square (Set 3), shown from top to bottom in the following image.

IMG_4513

#2.  Cut 6 (2 1/2″ x 6 1/2″) rectangles from Set 1 strips, and 2 (2 1/2″ x 6 1/2″) rectangles from Set 2 and Set 3 strips.  Cut 40 (2 1/2″ x 2 1/2″) squares from vanilla weave fabric.

IMG_4516

#3.  Draw a diagonal line on the wrong side of 1 (2 1/2″ x 2 1/2″) vanilla weave square.  Place square, right sides together, at a corner of 1 (2 1/2″ x 6 1/2″) rectangle.  Sew on drawn line.  Trim 1/4″ away from sewn line.  Open and press to reveal vanilla weave corner triangle.  Repeat with another (2 1/2″ x 2 1/2″) vanilla weave square at the opposite corner of the same rectangle to complete 1 sewn unit.

IMG_4520

Repeat for all the rectangles (6 spring green leaf, 6 blue aster, 2 crocus leaf, 2 royal spiral square, 2 sunflower swirl and 2 carrot spiral square).  And we are DONE for today! :)  See all the units I had sewn for today’s installment.   Now, that wasn’t hard at all, was it?

IMG_4522

I hope you have liked making these units today.  See you next Saturday!!  Nosy mind does want to know… what you have planned for today.  I would be so delighted if you could tell me!  Hugs to you all,have a great day – LATER!

9 thoughts on “Quilting Treasures “Harmony” Summer Mystery Sew-Along / Part 2

  1. I wish i could buy the fabric jelly roll for this quilt i have googled and goodgled and stillcannot locate a supplier who will send to Australiacan you helpregards sandee

    • Don’t feel to bad, I’m having issues w/finding it in the US too! So far an Etsy shop is the only place I’ve found the Jelly Roll.

  2. Oh this is so exciting. I love the jelly roll
    Wendy I am so happy that you are sharing your knowledge and skills to make a surprise quilt
    Happy Weekend

  3. Hopefully, my Jellyroll and fabrics will be waiting for me upon my arrival from vacation. Or, they will arrive soon after. I’m anxious to play catch-up. This afternoon, while grandsons are at a Bday party, my daughter, son-in-law, husband, and I will attend a Civil War re-enactment. Two years ago on the anniversary, we got rained out. Right now we are watching the Tour de France. 🚲🚲

  4. Fun! I almost had the line at a shop when I was rowing, but she only had the poster! She hadn’t ordered yet. I’m thinking I’m going to have to use stash fabrics, boo hoo!

  5. I would love to join this mystery quilt. Do you have the fabric I can purchase from you. Or is there a quilt shop in Coeur d’Alene, ID or Spokane, WA area that I can purchase the fabric?

    Thank you,
    Valerie Wilson
    808-927-1441

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

