MY TURN: The Aurifil DOM 2016 Block #7

aurifil-2016-design-team-photo

pat-sloan-2016-aurifil-dom-program-button

Hello and Happy Friday, Friends!  It is an exciting day at Ivory Spring because… today is the day my Aurifil Designer of the Month block is released!!!

me

Click here to find out more about my block done in the blue colorway to go with this year’s blue/white theme!  You might also learn a couple of deep dark secrets about me you haven’t yet known. :)  And, more importantly, you just have to make and share a block to be entered in the giveaway of a whole box of Aurifil large spool threads!!!  A really generous gesture by Aurifil!  Details are mentioned on Auribuzz.

block 7

me1

Meanwhile, here is the block I made for myself using Windham Fabrics’ Blush & Blooms fabrics.  I added two primitive birds onto the block.  Because of the fabric choice, the block ended up taking on a “Shabby Chic” primitive look! :)

IMG_4474

You may recall seeing the same bird being embroidered in my Block #5.  I enlarged the bird for this month’s block.

dom5c

IMG_4478

I used the yellow in my Subtle Strings thread collection to buttonhole stitch around the pink birds to give a bit of contrast.

SubtleStrings-Large-Inside

IMG_4492

You can add the bird to your block too if you would like.  Click here to download the bird applique template.  Use the image below for placement guide for the birds.  Just think of the quilting possibilities in th negative area.  I know I certainly am for my block. :)

DOM1b

I am so glad my spring dishes came out to play.

IMG_4484

IMG_4483

Thanks so much for stopping by.  I hope you are still sewing along?  If not, there’s no better time than now to join in the fun. I have thoroughly enjoyed making all the DOM blocks, so I imagine you would too.

Have a great weekend!

***

So, below are Blocks #1-6.  You have seen Block #7 today.  I am now ready for Block #8!

Block #1

Block #2

IMG_3392

Block #3

ello-optimized-df5ff387

Block #4

IMG_3834

Block #5

dom5d

Block #6

IMG_4350

8 thoughts on “MY TURN: The Aurifil DOM 2016 Block #7

  1. Congratulations! Your blocks are so beautiful!!! I wish, wish, wish I could find more time to spend in my sewing room. This is a wonderful sew along. I’m really enjoying working with Aurifil threads since I discovered them through your blog. They are everything you said they would be!!!

  2. Wendy your block is a winner!! I have sew many UFOs; you are the inspiration that I need to get them all completed! I thoroughly enjoyed reading your interview with Pat Sloan, nicely done!!

Leave a Reply

