Bastille Day & Thread Journey Part 3!!!

Today is Bastille Day!  This very key from Bastille prison is displayed prominently at Historic Mount Vernon.  It was a gift from Marquis de Layfayette to the venerated General Washington who is almost like a father to Lafayette. Click here to read more about the fascinating story.[As of 7EST today, I heard the news of the Bastille Day tragedy.  So sad!  It’s during times like these, words fail me and I can only pray.]

bastille

[photo credit: Mount Vernon Ladies Association]

banner1

Hello Friends, Happy Thursday!  Over at Auribuzz today, we have the final installment for constructing the Thready Journey quilt top!  Here are a few beauty shots I took of my Thread Journey Version 2 completed quilt top.  We will continue on with quilting Thread Journey a month from now.  So, if you would still like to join the journey, just hop on!!!  Auribuzz has all the instructions, as well as upcoming schedule.

July13h

The mottled light gray fabric I used for the outer border is my new favorite gray.  In case you want to track it down, it is color 37098-12 from Windham Fabrics’ Palette collection.

July13i

July13j

I unwittingly captured the seams on the back of my quilt, reflected by the sunlight.  I love this shot.

July13k

Have a most fanta-bulous day, my Friends!!!  And I am always grateful that you are part of my life’s journey.

6 thoughts on “Bastille Day & Thread Journey Part 3!!!

  1. This “Wendy” quilt continues to be a favorite of mine. I need to end this vacation stuff so that I can get back to my sewing room and, once more, become productive. Although, I always have my handwork with me. Thanks again for sharing the “how to” with all of us, Wendy!!🤗🤗

  2. Wendy…there is a mistake in cutting measurements for the outer border on the Aurifil blog….here’s what I posted —–Hi…there’s a mistake in the cutting measurements for the outer border…the way it’s written now you cut 2 of the sides 6.5 inches but the other 2 at 1.5 inches. I think it needs to read “cut (2) 6.5 x 42.5 and cut (2) 6.5 x 54.5.”

  3. So pretty Wendy! I hope you are enjoying the heat haha
    I hate it. I love AC
    I absolutely love this quilt.
    What do you do with all of your quilts? Do you sell them? or give them to family that you love so dearly? Or do you stack them to the ceiling? use as insulation? all good ideas :-D

  4. Hi, Wendy! I am absolutely in love with your QAL. I am, however, just starting to pick out my fabrics for this project–from my stash! That in itself is a huge challenging project. I’m forbidden to buy any more fabric until the floor of my sewing room can be seen. Much love, ellen.

  5. My heart breaks from the people of Nice, France as they were celebrating Bastille Day. What a tragedy! Your quilt is lovely; and one that is “on my list” once I finish a few projects. :)

Leave a Reply

