DONE: My Aurifil Designer of the Month Block 6

aurifil-2016-design-team-photo

pat-sloan-2016-aurifil-dom-program-button

Hello Friends, my Aurifil 2016 DOM Block #6 is finished!!  Click here to download instructions for this block if you haven’t done so.

IMG_4350

The block construction of my block follows exactly the June block.  The only thing different is that I did the hand embroidery a little differently.  Instead of embroidering the wreath, I hand embroidered around a fused and fussy cut floral bouquet from one of the Blush & Blooms focal fabrics to give my block center a bit more visual interest.

IMG_4358

I have been wanting to use the Blush & Blooms focal print in the Aurifil DOM blocks, but haven’t been able to because the scale of the print is on the large side.  I thought June’s block gave me the perfect opportunity to just fussy cut out a particular bouquet from the fabric to be fused on the center of the block.  I would normally use buttonhole stitches to finish off the raw edge fused applique, but I felt those buttonhole stitches would look a bit intrusive.  So, I outline-stitched (by hand) the applique instead.

focal

I used 2 strands of Aurifil’s Aurfloss for the embroidery.  Handwork is always fun for me.  So I enjoyed the stitching.

IMG_4357

And with that, I am ready for Block #7.  Oh wait, my Block #7 is already ready… because next month’s block is MINE!  That’s it for now, Friends.  Lots to get done still.  Thank you for stopping by, and I hope you have a lovely rest of your day!

IMG_4359

***

If you haven’t seen my previous blocks, here they are.  All my blocks are made with Windham Fabrics’ Blush & Blooms fabrics.

Block #1

Block #2

IMG_3392

Block #3

ello-optimized-df5ff387

Block #4

IMG_3834

Block #5

dom5d

7 thoughts on “DONE: My Aurifil Designer of the Month Block 6

  1. Those blocks are going to come together so well. The colors are so fresh and pretty. Your embroidery looks great on the newest block.

  2. Your June block is a beauty. I like the fussy-cut floral center. Looking forward to a “beauty of a block” next month!!

Leave a Reply

