Happy Independence Day 2016

Happy Independence Day, Dear Friends!  I hope you have had a blessed weekend.  We commemorated our Independence Day a wee bit early this year…

martha1

I got to meet my role model, Lady Washington!  One of my favorite quotes has been Lady Washington’s: “I am determined to be cheerful and happy in whatever situation I may find myself. For I have learned that the greater part of our misery or unhappiness is determined not by our circumstance but by our disposition.”

An interesting fact about the Washingtons in July 1776 — General Washington wasn’t in Philadelphia, but another Washington was.  It was Mrs. Washington who was in town during that time getting inoculated for small pox.  The General was in New York City in the midst of much military tension.

martha and I

“Madeline” came with us too to the festivity, at the insistence of a certain girl!

IMG_4284

John Adams’ take on celebrating Independence Day: “I am apt to believe that it will be celebrated by succeeding generations as the great anniversary festival. It ought to be commemorated as the day of deliverance by solemn acts of devotion to God Almighty; it ought to be solemnized with pomp and parade, with shows, games, sports, guns, bells, bonfires and illuminations from one end of this continent to the other, from this time forward forever more.”

7_2_2016h

7_2_2016i

7_2_2016j

7_2_2016k

I am touched by a quote of General Washington’s this year regarding the struggle and fight for independence: “The fate of unborn millions will now depend, under God, on the courage and conduct of this army. Our cruel and unrelenting enemy leaves us only the choice of a brave resistance, or the most abject submission. We have, therefore, to resolve to conquer, or to die… Let us, then rely on the goodness of our cause, and the aid of the Supreme Being, in whose hands victory is, to animate and encourage us to great and noble actions.”  (Excerpted from the General’s speech to his troops before the Battle of Long Island on August 26, 1776).  The bravery, the resolve, the more-than-self attitude, the reliance on God…. and I am one of the unborn millions!!  That thought is almost too much to for me to take in.  And so, my heart is full of gratitude to God for honoring the effort of the General and many, and to those who fought.  Many generations later after that fateful year 1776, I pray that God would still reach down, in His mercy, to continue shedding His grace on America.

IMG_1058

Have a most blessed day – Dear Friends!

15 thoughts on “Happy Independence Day 2016

  1. That was beautiful! Thanks for the reminder of the wisdom of our Forefathers…our nation seems to have forgotten that. As the wife of a retired Air Force guy (26 1/2 years) and the mother of an Air Force guy (21 years), I appreciate it!

  2. Thank you for this eloquent and thoughtful reminder of the bravery, resolve, sacrifice and fortitude of our forefathers. Have a blessed and wonderful 4th.

  3. Thanks, Wendy, for your wonderful Independence Day tribute. As only a second generation American, I strive to savor the freedom we enjoy in this nation and never take it for granted. Sobering to think about how much our actions today can affect future generations.

  4. Beautifully Wendy! Thank you. The quotes are such great reminders that our forefathers had God and his grace with them in their endeavors. Do you mind if I share this post?? It really is wonderful!

  5. Well said!!! I am reading the “book behind the play/musical” “Hamilton” by Ron Chernow. Riveting, but definitely falls into the “War and Peace” category!!!!!! Got it from the library and I’m sure I’ll have to renew it a FEW times!!!!!!! Hugs……….and blessings this Independence Day..SSAB

  6. I enjoy your uplifting posts as much as your quilty posts. Thank you for sharing your life and beautiful spirit.

  7. Such a thoughtful post. Thank you. Martha Washington’s words are great words for all to live by. Thanks for sharing. It looks like you and your family had a wonderful celebration yesterday…..I am sure that the memories will linger. Happy 4th……🇱🇷🇱🇷🇱🇷

  8. Happy Independence Day! Thank you, Wendy, for sharing all of this wonderful history with us today! It truly touched my heart and made me say a prayer. Please have a very safe and happy 4th of July!

Leave a Reply

