FREE PATTERN: Charleston

Happy Monday, dear Friends!  I hope you all had a great Father’s Day weekend.  I have to be honest, mine was a bit weird because it’s the first one my own father is no longer on this side of heaven.  There was a sense of loss as I went through the day, but yet, I was comforted to know he is in heaven.   Heaven has become so much more personal to me because my Dad is there.

pic6

We did have a blessed time celebrating the day with an amazing father  whom Miss Baby absolutely adores!

IMG_3529

And here we are, another new week!

I am so glad to receive a picture of Miriam sent me of the quilt center of her Thread Journey Quilt.  Let’s just say Miriam didn’t waste ANY time!!! :)  If you haven’t heard about my Thready Journey Quilt Along, click here for information.  And the instructions to make the quilt center are posted here.

Mine:

Thread Journey Quilt Along with Wendy Sheppard - 15

Miriam’s — SO very gorgeous, don’t you think?!!!!

miriam

You can join in the fun.  And I do hope you will keep working on the project.  I am working on a big giveaway for those who complete the project in a couple of months.

I also have a free pattern to share with you — for my floral-loving friends!  Be sure to check out a new floral line, Charlestonreleased by Quilting Treasures.  The following is a free to use pattern I had design to highlight the Charleston fabrics.

High Res_2c_Pink Focal_59  x 71

Click here to view the fabrics.  

Click here to download the free to use pattern.

You may also purchase the kits here.

That’s all for now, Dear Friends.  I have a date with my sewing machine tonight…. more piecing to do on my current quilt.  Have a great week!

****

My 2016 Line-up

Note:  You may click here for the exhaustive list of my published work.

Editorial Features:

American Patchwork & Quilting 2016 Calendar: In Your Corner

Australian Quilters Companion: Little House on the Hill

Fons and Porter Love of Quilting (March/April 2016): Constellation of Stars

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2016): Estelle

Fons and Porter Scrap Quilts (Summer 2016): Pinwheel Parade

McCall’s Quick Quilts (December 2015/January 2016): Rows of Roses

McCall’s Quick Quilts (February/March 2016): Early Birds

McCall’s Quilting (January/February 2016): Sherbet Stars

Quiltmaker (May/June 2016): Lavender Love

Quiltmaker (July/August 2016): Dawnstar

Quilters Newsletter (April/May 2016): Tartan Links

Quilts and More (Summer 2016): Tutu Cute

 

Free-to-use Designs:

January: Heads Up Crib Quilt & Playmat (Quilting Treasures)

January: Big Love using Go Big or Go Home (Windham Fabrics)

January: Star Dust using Brittany (Benartex)

January: Wish You Were Here (Hoffman Fabrics)

January: Farfalle using Whisper (Windham Fabrics)

January: Tulips Quilt using Flower Pedals (Windham Fabrics)

11 thoughts on “FREE PATTERN: Charleston

  1. Thank you for the free pattern! I have the background done on my thread journey quilt.. I am hoping to pick out my colors and work on the applique!

  2. I am sorry you had a difficult Father’s Day; I am glad you shared a picture of your dad by the flower blooms. :-)

    I have admired your quilt since your first posting of it. I am excited to make one too! I hope I can do it justice.

  3. My Dad is on the other side, too. But we spent the evening with him by treking to the hunting cabin (he built and his ashes are scattered there) on the mountain and sitting on the porch talking of times past. I know he was there with us.

  4. I can relate to you. My father passed away in late January of this year at the age of 84 after a long illness. I had strange and sad feelings because this was the first year I didn’t send a Father’s Day card or call him.

  5. Wendy, I actually though about you on Sunday. It is hard to accept some days. You just want a little more time.
    Rex and I spent the day with my mom and dad, both 92 now. They are almost as silly as my one year old grand daughter Sarah. Every day is a blessing.
    Thank you for sharing this quilt pattern, I love it.

  6. Each of these “firsts” are going to be a bit different, but just keep in mind that your Dad is comfortable. Treasure your happy moments and memories. Glad that your little family celebrated “an amazing father, and husband.” On to another week. Your quilt is a delight as is Miriam’s. Mine will begin after I complete my signature quilt project!! 🤗

  7. The special days are always so hard when you are missing your loved one. I’m glad that you were able to help Miss Baby celebrate the special day with her daddy.

    I love Marian’s quilt in the neutrals. That is beautiful. I also really like the new quilt pattern. It has so many possibilities.

  8. So sorry for your loss. It is good to remember the good times and know that passed loved ones are in a better place. I’m really busy right now, and not reading all my blogs I follow, but I ALWAYS at least scan your pics! Hugs!

  9. You never stop thinking about them and missing them but that first Father’s Day is especially challenging. My dad has been gone 6 1/2 years. . My only aunt, his sister, just passed away on the 10th of June. How I hope we will all be together again one day. You are so blessed to have that assurance Wendy. Thanks for the lovely photos. They were very nice to see.

  10. All of those firsts – birthdays, Christmases, Father’s Days, etc. — are so hard that first year especially. I’m so glad you have the assurance of seeing him again in heaven. Lovely picture of Miss Baby and her dad.

Leave a Reply

