FREE PATTERN: Broken Chain using Windham’s Shades of Grey

Hello Friends, I hope you had a lovely weekend!  Our summer has started for us, as Miss Baby’s school year ended last weekend.

Before I forget, I am happy to announce the winner of my What Shade Are You? giveaway is Joyce O’berle!  Joyce — I have forwarded your address to RJR Fabrics, and they will be shipping the FQ bundle to you directly.  Congrats, Dear Friend! :o)  Thank you to ALL of you for playing along – I will have more giveaways coming up this summer! Stay tuned for details.

RJRGiveaway

I have another free pattern to share with you today — this design is near and dear to my heart because it is GREY/GRAY! :) Broken Chain is designed using Windham’s Shades of Grey fabric line.  You may view the fabrics here.

Design 4d_50 x 70

You can purchase a quilt kit here.  A special note kits offered on my designs.  Recently, quite a few quilters emailed me about kits using my designs that are no longer current.  I have no control over the decisions quilt shops make to kit my designs, or how long they keep their kits currents.  SO — if you think you would like the kit, do purchase them while they are current. :)

Click here to download the free-to-use pattern instructions.

I hope you enjoyed seeing Broken Chain.  To me, the grays are the new whites in quilting. :)  Thanks for stopping by. I also enjoy your visits.

***

My 2016 Line-up

Note:  You may click here for the exhaustive list of my published work.

Editorial Features:

American Patchwork & Quilting 2016 Calendar: In Your Corner

Australian Quilters Companion: Little House on the Hill

Fons and Porter Love of Quilting (March/April 2016): Constellation of Stars

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2016): Estelle

Fons and Porter Scrap Quilts (Summer 2016): Pinwheel Parade

McCall’s Quick Quilts (December 2015/January 2016): Rows of Roses

McCall’s Quick Quilts (February/March 2016): Early Birds

McCall’s Quilting (January/February 2016): Sherbet Stars

Quiltmaker (May/June 2016): Lavender Love

Quiltmaker (July/August 2016): Dawnstar

Quilters Newsletter (April/May 2016): Tartan Links

Quilts and More (Summer 2016): Tutu Cute

 

Free-to-use Designs:

January: Heads Up Crib Quilt & Playmat (Quilting Treasures)

January: Big Love using Go Big or Go Home (Windham Fabrics)

January: Star Dust using Brittany (Benartex)

January: Wish You Were Here (Hoffman Fabrics)

January: Farfalle using Whisper (Windham Fabrics)

January: Tulips Quilt using Flower Pedals (Windham Fabrics)

9 thoughts on “FREE PATTERN: Broken Chain using Windham’s Shades of Grey

  1. Great use of a monochromatic palette! A closer look allowed me to see the subtle difference in the star blocks… very clever! That quilt has endless possibilities — perhaps a focus fabric in the snowballs… one of those “I can’t cut this into tiny pieces” fabrics.

  2. Oh my golly!! What a wonderful surprise to wake up to this a.m. Thank you, thank you for my win of the beautiful set of blue fat quarters. Such a fun way to begin my week! Great new pattern Wendy. I am seeing, sometimes difficult to cut, large florals showcased in the larger blocks surrounded by the pieced stars. Enjoy summer break with Miss Baby. There’s a forecast for lots of fun!! Again, thank you for my win of “What shade are you?”

  3. What a beautiful pattern….I love grey….was just looking on ebay last night at a collection of greys. Perhaps I’m just a little wonky in my thinking but I’m seeing this gorgeous pattern in all shades of grey with one block in reds….or pinks….or purples….ooooooh—-or Kelly green! This one, like so many of your other wonderful patterns, is a KEEPER, for sure. Thanks for sharing. Blessings and quilty hugs….

  4. Dear Wendy, I just tried to send you a private email but it came back that it was undeliverable. So, I decided to write my response to a comment you made on my blog…that sadly, I did not check and therefor never said Thank You for your nice comment and also I feel very honored that such a busy woman as yourself would take the time to do this. It really means a lot to me and I truly am sorry I did not respond promptly!

    I would also like to take the time to tell you that I really enjoy reading your posts everyday and admire and drool over many of your quilt patterns that you have designed and shared with us. Several of them are on my to do list, like the one posted today….I hope to make this one soon!

    You have truly inspired me, pretty much daily, on all of your achievements in the huge quilting world! I think that with everything you accomplish and share on posts, without a doubt you are a woman that has a giant heart and gives 100% in everything that you do! So again, Thank You for sharing and being such a special person and Mother!

    Have a fantastic creative day! Brenda

  5. Wendy–enjoy your posts always! Thank you for the beautiful Broken Chain pattern. Lovely! It’s on my to-do list. :-)

Leave a Reply

