Little House on the Hill in AUSTRALIAN QUILTERS COMPANION (Issue 79)

AQCMay16

Hello Friends, and Happy Monday (what’s left of it at my end!).  I came through a mostly working weekend, and was able to ship out a quilt top this morning!  Today’s post is a celebration of friendship across the deep vast ocean — I am happy to share with you a collaborative project between myself and Lynette Anderson, featured in the latest issue of Australian Quilters Companion — Little House on the Hill!

MG_7739

This sweet little wallhanging is made with Lynette’s new fabric line Highland, released by RJR Fabrics.  I was particularly excited about this line with Lynette’s artwork being presented in richer colors!  Little house on the Hill is the first of three editorial features I have using these fabrics!

Highland

Though small, this project covers applique, straightforward and template piecing – perfect for a teaching project!

MG_7536

So the applique is done by machine fusible method.  The buttonhole stitches are done with Aurifil 50 wt cotton.

IMG_3914

The quilting is also done with the Aurifil 50 wt cotton over Hobbs Tuscany silk batting.  I used a variegated thread.

IMG_1939

And I also pressed the seams open for the template pieced blocks.IMG_1934

The full instructions with templates for the piecing and applique (& stitchery) come with the magazine issue.  For my US friends, you may purchase or subscribe to the magazine in digital format by clicking here.  I have heard from some of you who subscribe digitally that you have been really happy with your subscription.  THANK YOU for sending me your feedback.  I highly recommend this magazine!  I am bringing it with me to sneak in some reading while I am taking notes during Miss Baby’s music lesson! :o)

IMG_3917

Thank you for stopping by.  I hope you have a most lovely week!  Hugs to you all.

My 2016 Line-up

Note:  You may click here for the exhaustive list of my published work.

Editorial Features:

American Patchwork & Quilting 2016 Calendar: In Your Corner

Australian Quilters Companion: Little House on the Hill

Fons and Porter Love of Quilting (March/April 2016): Constellation of Stars

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2016): Estelle

Fons and Porter Scrap Quilts (Summer 2016): Pinwheel Parade

McCall’s Quick Quilts (December 2015/January 2016): Rows of Roses

McCall’s Quick Quilts (February/March 2016): Early Birds

McCall’s Quilting (January/February 2016): Sherbet Stars

Quiltmaker (May/June 2016): Lavender Love

Quiltmaker (July/August 2016): Dawnstar

Quilters Newsletter (April/May 2016): Tartan Links

Quilts and More (Summer 2016): Tutu Cute

 

Free-to-use Designs:

January: Heads Up Crib Quilt & Playmat (Quilting Treasures)

January: Big Love using Go Big or Go Home (Windham Fabrics)

January: Star Dust using Brittany (Benartex)

January: Wish You Were Here (Hoffman Fabrics)

January: Farfalle using Whisper (Windham Fabrics)

January: Tulips Quilt using Flower Pedals (Windham Fabrics)

7 thoughts on “Little House on the Hill in AUSTRALIAN QUILTERS COMPANION (Issue 79)

  1. This “house” quilt is definitely an award winner!!!! Sew many techniques! Wow!! “Quilters Companion” is a great magazine, one that I have enjoyed for a couple of years thanks to your recommendation, Wendy. Thanks for continuing to inspire!!!;-)

  2. What a great project! In addition to piecing and appliqué, my learning project had mitered borders. You always do a beautiful job, and this is no exception! Great collaboration with Lynette!

  3. It’s great to have a project that covers so many techniques. That center medallion is so sweet and the yo yo trees are perfect. I really like those fabrics.

Leave a Reply

