A loooong overdue WRAP-UP: Island Batik/Creative Quilts Blog Hop

Hello Friends, I hope you are doing well, and have had a great weekend!  My little family struggled to get our inner clocks adjusted back to the US local time this past week, with only a bit of success.  For most of last week, Miss Baby would go to bed at 4pm after school, and wake up at midnight/1am wanting to be fed — because it is lunch time at the other side of the globe!  How about doing her music practices at 4am because she couldn’t go back to bed? Hahah – totally lopsided, to say the least! :)  And I find myself sending emails to editors at 3am in the mornings because that’s when my mind functions the most coherently.

All that to say… we are still on the path of normalcy at Ivory Spring.  So I will be spending a few posts catching up on things I should have shared back in April.  First up is…. the Island Batik/Creative Quilts blog hop that happened back in March!

CreativeNewQuiltsBlogHopCover

A huge shout out of THANKS to Island Batik for coordinating the hop with their amazing Ambassadors.  I am most appreciative to these ladies for participating in the hop, and have totally admired the “Creative New Quilts” quilts they made with the Island Batik batiks!  I am showing you in one post all the batik quilts made, in comparison to the original quilts in my book Creative New Quilts & Projects.  You may click on the quilt name to go to the specific hop post for the particular project.  The moral of the story is obvious in this case – it’s the “Precuts” fabrics that make the quilts since my book targets fun quilts you can make with the precuts you have stashed away. :)

#1.  Counting my blessings 

birdhouse

Batik version done by Lemon Tree Snippets.

2016-03-19 14.59.21

#2.  Stars Over Columbia

Stars over Columbia

Batik version made by Mary Mack Made Mine.  

#3.  Winter Blues

Winter Blues

Batik versions made by  Freemotion by the River and  KISSed Quilts.

Island Batik quilt on a swing, pattern by Wendy Sheppard

#4.  Childhood Memories (Girl)

riley blake bown final

Batik version made by BeaQuilter.

DSCF5970

#5.  Birds of a Feather Runner

bird runner

Batik version made by One Quilting Circle.

20160319_091232 - Copy

#6.  Birds of a Feather Placemats

birds of a feather placemat

Batik version made by Bejeweled Quilts.

#7.  Care for a Cuppa?

cuppa TRY

Batik version made by MooseStash Quilting.

#8.  Flight of Colors Pillow

Flight of Colors Pillows

Batik version made by Pamela Quilts.

#9. Crossings

IMG_2480

Batik version made by The Fit Quilter.

Crossings Quilt

I hope you have enjoyed the eye candies presented by these talented quilters.  I am experiencing the aftermath of a personal loss, and more so than ever before, I have experienced the sweet sense of community within the quilting world.  Quilters always reach out, always encourage, and always step up to lend a hand…. THANK you to all my quilting friends — you know who you are!

Till tomorrow.

18 thoughts on “A loooong overdue WRAP-UP: Island Batik/Creative Quilts Blog Hop

  1. I am always amazed at how different a quilt looks when done in different colours. I tink this is why I struggle to choose colours for projects. The colours make the quilt. Get them wrong and everything is wrong. Ther must be something I can use to help get colours right ( other than my hubby)
    I know how horrible jet lag is when you are working. Fine now we are retired – we just sleep and eat when we feel like it and it comes right in the end. Hope you have been somewhere nice!

  2. Attended the Paducah quilt show this year. Looked for you. Love your ideas. Do you ever go and display your work?

  3. So glad you are home and readjusting. It takes time to absorb such a great loss, but your family, your friends, your faith, and your quilting will help you through it. Just take one day at a time.

  4. What a difference a fabric/color makes. ALL of the quilts that you have posted are real beauties. I find that when I am stitching using “my” colors I thoroughly enjoy what I am doing and breeze through the project. If, on the other hand, I use the “wrong (not ‘my’) colors” I tend to bog down and struggle with the project. Amazing how color affects the process and the outcome.

    Have a good week, Wendy. A day at a time……….😉

  5. Many fave interpretations here!!! Love he “Cuppa” and “Crossings” versions, along with that pillow! Hope your “jet lag” fades soon. Early morning music practice is ok but 3 a.m. e-mails might be a stretch!!!! Hugs……………..SSAB

  6. Funny how our bodies adjust to time and just can’t reset quickly as we move to different time zones. Hopefully within another week you and your lovely family will be back where they should be.Love your virtual quilt show/blog hop wrap up. So much fun to see your beautiful designs made in batiks. All of the quilts are absolutely gorgeous. I thoroughly enjoyed this blog hop and found such great inspiration and fun along the way.

    QuiltShopGal
    http://www.quiltshopgal.com

  7. Gorgeous projects, Wendy. Everything you make is beautiful. You are so so inspiring.
    This book looks just marvelous.
    Take time settling back into this new life.
    Spring will always be bittersweet.
    My oldest sister went to heaven on May 4, 17 years ago.

  8. My sincere sympathy for your loss. May time smooth the rawness and leave you with wonderful, happy memories to enjoy.
    This is quickly becoming one of my all-time favorite books for the inspiration and beautiful designs. I can’t wait to start my own creations from it, and I’ll probably be using a batch of the batiks in my stash. Thank you!

  9. I pray you sense the comfort that the Holy Spirit will bring to you to the full and you will have peace. Counting my blessings is a sweet one!

  10. I am sorry to hear about your loss Wendy. My thoughts and prayers are with you. I believe your lovely quilting, crafting and creating – and your family, will give you strength and purpose.

  11. Hi Wendy,

    Today, I received Linda Pearl’s copy of your book from the Island Batik/Creative Quilts blog hop that happened back in March. It was mailed to me from the publisher.

    Thanks for the fun opportunity to win your book. I emailed a thank you to Linda, and I wanted to get one out to you as well. I can now look forward to reading and playing with fabric to make some fun projects from your patterns.

    Blessings to you and your family as you get back to USA time, and doing things our Great God has for you all. May He give you His most precious grace and mercies which are new every morning.

    Because of God who is rich in mercy … Patty Brown Ephesians 2:4-7

Leave a Reply

