Island Batik & Creative New Quilts Blog Hop Day 4 / A question on beets!

CreativeNewQuiltsBlogHopCover

Happy Friends, I just came through a sewing marathon.  I am exhausted, but am glad that I got another thing checked off my list!  I am obsessive about making lists, and “me versus list” sums up my life most days.

Monday, March 14 – Island Batik Intro – be sure to stop by for the giveaway of a free fabric bundle! You will also see what outfit I wore to church yesterday when you visit Island Batik’s blog today.  Totally unplanned… I chuckled when I saw the picture!

Tuesday, March 15 – The Fit Quilter – Adele is using the Desert Rose collection to make her version of Crossings! You have got to pop on over to see her quilt – simply gorgeous! Adele is a quilt designer herself — check out her work, and the patterns she has for sale!

Wednesday, March 16 – Pamela Quilts — Pamela gives a batik-y twist to my Flight of Colors pillows. Pam is also a Craftsy Designer, as well as Etsy Shop owner.  Do take a moment to check out her offerings!!!  And there’s a giveaway of a copy of my book!

TODAY!!!!  Thursday, March 17 – MooseStash Quilting — Today featured hop project is one that is near and dear to my heart!!!  Joan made my quilt with the BUZZ – my coffee cup quilt! You simply have to head over to her blog to see her quilt.  I am tempted to reveal the colors of Joan’s quilt here, but I shall refrain!  And of course, as for the entire blog hop, a free copy of my book is given away by all the hop contributors.

Friday, March 18 –  Bejeweled Quilts
Monday, March 21 –  One Quilting Circle
Tuesday, March 22 –  BeaQuilter
Wednesday, March 23 – Freemotion by the River and KISSed Quilts 
Thursday, March 24 – Mary Mack Made Mine
Friday, March 25 – Lemon Tree Snippets

It is no secret I am a consumer of coffee.  Miss Baby dubs coffee my “stay awake juice”, and I have to admit she is quite right about that!  Here is my original Care for a Cuppa quilt!

cuppa TRY
IMG_9575
So, now you just need to head on over to Joan’s blog to see her version of the quilt.  She is also giving away a free copy of my Creative New Quilts & Projects book which has the instructions and full templates for making Care for a Cuppa!
***
Thank you for all your kind words on Miss Baby’s penmanship.  I had only intended to share the laughs, but then I started getting emails and comments about Miss Baby’s handwriting, haha!  My mother was very particular about my handwriting when I was learning how to write, and I suffered a few consequences when I didn’t do a good job.  My Mom would erase ALL my work when she spotted certain discrepancies (shall we say), and I would have to redo everything.  So, I learned early and quickly I’d better just do things right the first time.  Now, I haven’t quite used my mother’s consequences yet on Miss Baby, but I have threatened!!!  So far, she has taken my threats to heart.

Being in line with pioneer-ish and all….. I resisted buying the cooked/steamed/roasted beets at the store 2 weeks ago, and decided to buy the raw ones!  I mean, how hard can cooking some beets be?  I bought these:

Organic Beets
I first baked them in the oven…. after 2 hours, they were still hard.  Then, I decided I would boil them, after 45 minutes in boiling water, they were still considerably hard.  Then, I started getting concerned about cooking off the nutrients, so I stopped, and just cut up the beets and served them at the table.  It is universally established that I would make a dismal pioneer, and that’s for another day, ha!  But I am wondering…  Might any of you have some words of wisdom concerning cooking of beets?  What is your favorite way to cook beets, and how do you like to serve your beets?  

17 thoughts on “Island Batik & Creative New Quilts Blog Hop Day 4 / A question on beets!

  1. I have not had luck with baking beets! I buy medium size – no more than 3-1/2 to 4″ diameter. I leave the stem from the leaves on and boil covered in water. It takes from 30-45 mins. The very best are golden beets which I slice, butter, grate a little orange rind, and add a splash of OJ. They are fabulous!

  2. Those beets must have been huge not to cook up. I grow beets and pickle them. First I harvest, leave about an inch of the tops on, wash off dirt, put in large pans and boil. I divide up by size so some are not done before others. Pull the skins off and sometimes quarter them if large, make the mixture of sugar, vinegar, water and spices. Then I can them in pints in a hot water bath. Share with others and take some to dinners at church. Coming to AR soon? LOL

  3. They are largebeets but I slice the beets into 1/4″ slices and boil them. That is the only way that we really eat them and sometimes after cooking them I will put on a tossed salad maybe diced or cut in half after boiling them. Enjoy

  4. I peel and cut the beets in small chunks and then steam them. I search for the sweetest beets to grow so that when I eat them plain, it’s like eating candy.

  5. I love beets—slice them, steam until they are crisp/tender, then place them in a baking dish, sprinkle with sugar, add a little butter, and pop in the oven for just a few minutes—yum! If you like, you may add a bit of cinnamon or lemon zest, but we just eat them with sugar and butter.

  6. I loovvee fresh beets. I trim the tops and tail leaving lots of stem and tail so the beets don’t bleed all their color. I boil like potatoes add a little salt. usually takes 45 mintues to an hour depending on beet size. Slice up about 1/4″ and toss with butter. That’s it and they are delicious.

  7. Goodness! I didn’t realize cooking beets was so difficult. I do remember my mom liking small beets to use for pickling, and it wasn’t until I went to college that I learned there was some other way to prepare them than to pickle them. I will see what I can find in the recipe box. Perhaps she initially prepared them in the pressure cooker?
    I have had what I think was above: the roasted beets and feta cheese. Nummy

  8. My husband keeps threatening to grow beets in his vegetable garden, but he never has. The only way that we get them is from a can, which leads me to a family tale from long, long ago. Our oldest daughter was probably about ten, maybe a bit older. Anyway, we had beets for dinner and she would NOT eat them, don’t think that she would even try them. Well, in order to be excused from the dinner table she had to have at least a bite. According to her, she was still at the dinner table at 3 in the morning….. and she had to go to school the next morning. This is her version of a “fish” tale. chuckle, chuckle. I, too, am a list maker. It feels so good to be able to cross items off.

  9. I love beets! I peel and quarter them and toss in a little olive oil with salt and pepper and bake @350 for about 45 minutes. I also pickle them!

  10. My family loves beets from our garden. I peel them and cut them into one inch cubes. Then I steam them until they are tender crisp. I drain the water. Then I add butter, salt and pepper.

  11. It is no wonder that you do such perfect work, Wendy!!! I par boil my beets and then roast them with other veggies, herbs and olive oil. When finished I splash some balsamic vinegar on them.

Leave a Reply

