Monday Miscellaneous

Happy Monday, FRIENDS!  Here’s to a great week for all of us!!  I have a few things to cover here…

First off, I just finished proofing the upcoming online/video quilting classes.  Annie’s is adding a few more domestic machine quilting classes in the near future, in addition to the two I did for them: Learn to Machine Quilt, and Machine Quilting Level 2.  I have to say having to watch and listen to myself is the most painful and un-enjoyable part for me in the entire process of getting an online class to happen!  Alas, in viewing these “almost final” cuts, I am having to face the fact that I speak with a Southern Twang, haha… when I really would like to speak crisp English like Queen Elizabeth II!

learn to machine quilt

Level2

Behind the scenes – these online class projects start with a phone call/email, and then, writing a proposal, making the sample(s), scripting the video shoot, revisions, prepping to leave town, the actual shoot, sitting in the plane and sighing sighs of relief on the way back, and a few weeks later, proofing the almost final cut of the video class.  You may click here and here to read more about my current two classes.

Speaking of my online machine quilting classes, I am happy to announce the winner of my Machine Quilting Level 2 class from last week’s giveaway: Donna W!  Congrats!  An email have been sent to you, Donna… and someone from Annie’s will get you set up!

Do stay tuned for more giveaways…. there will be another one this week.  “Fabrics” is the word for our next giveaway here. :)

***

I had mentioned to you the exciting news of being included in the Aurifil Designer Team for 2016.

aurifil-2016-design-team-photo

I am even more thrilled to share with you the news that Heather Valentine of The Sewing Loft has shared her block for the month of January! I hope you (or even your quilt group) are joining in making this mystery quilt?  Click here to get to know Heather, admire and download her block pattern for free, AND make the block for yourself.  It is a fun block. I am sewing along — and hope to share my block with you later this week… because I am waiting for fabrics! :) Imagine that… haha!

aurifil-2016-design-team-january-heather-valentine

***

Meanwhile, due to popular demand for Miss Baby’s artwork (seriously, what am I… chopped liver? haha!), I thought I would share one she drew recently of Miss Clara Clavel and the girls from the beloved Madeline series.

IMG_3056

Miss Baby also had a stitching finish!!!  She finished her Angels ornament by Country Cottage Needleworks. The following is the designer’s original version.

angels

Image source: Country Cottage Needleworks

Miss Baby wanted a more “diversified” representation — thus the different hair colors.

IMG_3058

Now that she has finished this ornament, she has a VERY ambitious project coming up.  I am not that certain about it because it is going to be HUGE . But who am I to dissuade her?  I am a firm believer of gaining confidence in doing things out of one’s comfort stitching zone.  So, I think we should just go along, and see where it takes Miss Baby… shall we?  I will have updates once I get the threads, fabrics and chart ready for her for the big reveal.

Meanwhile, I am preparing these fabrics from Windham FabricsBasic Lines for a fun and exciting project using my Aurifil Subtle Strings thread box. More details to follow…. and hopefully you will want to be a part of the excitement. :)

IMG_3044

That’s it for now, Friends!  The pattern instructions aren’t going to write themselves… so, I have to get back to work, as much as I would love to just sit and chat with you.  Have a lovely day, and Happy Week to all of you!

15 thoughts on “Monday Miscellaneous

  1. Besides being an excellent teacher, I personally think your voice sounds perfectly clear and distinct in your online classes. I honestly didn’t pick up any Southern accent! I’m looking forward to learning more about your upcoming class, which I’m sure will be wonderful. Miss Baby’s drawing is delightful. Such great colors. And congratulations to her for her recent stitchery project completion – which looks beautiful. You are both so very talented.

    QuiltShopGal
    http://www.quiltshopgal.com

  2. That Miss Baby is quite talented! And I love her interpretation of the angels and their hair color. Good for you Miss Baby!

  3. Wow, there’s quite a bit of behind-the-scenes work in filming those classes. Love Miss Baby’s Madeline picture – we enjoyed those books when the boys were small. And her stitchery turned out lovely!

  4. I am looking forward to the Aurifil BOM. It will be my first quilt along. Congrats on the Star-Dust quilt. It’s beautiful!!!

    I too think Miss Baby is an exceptional crafter and wouldn’t discourage her from doing any creative endeavor she has in mind. Based on her cross-stitched angels I would say she is quite advanced given her age. I love that she is aware of cultural diversity. My kids are teenagers now but they were the same way when they were young and drawing pictures. It gives me hope for the future of our country.

  5. I can see that Miss Baby has received her mommy’s talent gene! I love her artwork. I also admire her independence in her choice of colors for her stitching. ;-)

    Having to listen and watch myself on videos is so painful so I can imagine how you must feel. You look beautiful so that is 50% of it, but I am sure that you sound just as good. We are our own worst critics.

  6. Now THIS is the kind of post I like! Chock full of great photos and lots of information. Miss Baby’s stitchery is quite lovely as is her artwork. Do I see a writer/illustrator of children’s books in her future? :) Congrats on your collaboration regarding the Subtle Strings thread collection. (I did find out what the individual colors are and may just go ahead and get those as it seems waiting for the collection may take some time). It’s great news that you’ll be making more videos for Annie’s. I have to give a HUGE shout-out to Annnie’s–I have your first class and loved it but my internet connection is so bad I meant to purchase the second class on dvd but accidentally just bought the online class. Annie’s graciously (and painlessly) offered to send me the dvd’s even though it’s been awhile since I made the original purchase. How great is that? Many blessings….have a great and productive week. Stay warm…

    ps….your twang is delightful….but honestly, as a born-and-raised southern West Virginian, you sound pretty high-faloutin’ to me.

  7. You are so cute! Love all the photos of you on those courses. The artwork by Miss Baby is fabulous! She’s her own girl for sure with her changes on her stitching pattern!

  8. Oh my, it is creatively busy at the Sheppard household. Sew much talent!! Love the colorful Madeline picture. The cross-stitched Angel ornament is a treasure. Really like that each angel has her own personality. Miss Baby is one talented gal.

    Looking forward to more Annie’s classes. They sure are a lot of work for the presenter though…….WOW! The Windham Fabrics Bacics collection is enticing, looking forward to what you have in store for us, pairing it with your thread collection.

    Once again, thanks for your continued inspiration, Wendy. Is it too late to “go to my room?”

  9. As a Brit, believe me when I say that you do NOT want to speak like QE2. There is nothing wrong with your accent. Just be yourself!

Leave a Reply

