Creative New Quilts & Projects Project Highlight #3: Crossings (Cover Quilt)

CreativeNewQuilts&Projects

Hello Friends, I hope you had a wonderful time wrapping your last year end and stellar start to your new year!  I have appreciated all the New Year wishes you have sent my way!  You all are sweet.  Let’s start off our new year at Ivory Spring with something colorful, shall we?

IMG_2480

There was not much doubt in our minds (mine and my publisher’s) that this quilt would probably be the book cover quilt as soon as it was completed.  The quilt very effectively captured my love for colors.  I think I have mentioned to you I am not classically trained in art, and so, I actually do not use a color wheel to pick colors for my designs.  I have a rather haphazard approach when it comes to incorporating colors in my quilt – I just throw them all in to see what I get.  BUT, I do make sure I use a ground color or two to balance out all the colors.  In my Crossings quilt, I used a really light gray that is almost white.

IMG_2504

This quilt is made with fat quarters from Quilting Treasures’ basic lines – Lola Textures and Quilting Temptations.  I actually really like designing with basic fabric lines.  You can see the actual fabrics I use better in the picture below. You will also be able to see the really light gray polka dot fabric I used as the ground fabric.  It is the soft gray mini dot fabric from Quilting Treasures’ Sorbet collection.  Do check with your local fabric stores to see if they carry these very versatile fabrics.  Nonetheless, I imagine you can easily come up with substitutes to make your own colorful Crossings quilt!  I want to talk to you if you are going to use batiks!

IMG_2495

I am not sure if you remembered my “Engineer vs. Artist” post from last year.  Well, my Crossings quilt was the battleground where the battle between the Engineer and Artist took place within in.  You can read more about it here.  In the end, I am really glad the Artist won in quilting this quilt.  The entire quilt is free-motion quilted with my Roundabout Feathers, only placed randomly all over the quilt.  The stitching path and schematic of the basic Roundabout Feathers are included in the book.

IMG_9667

Here are a few pictures of the quilt front.

IMG_2482

IMG_2489

IMG_2503

I used Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton threads to quilt over Hobbs Tuscany silk batting.  The slight poof from the feather quilting over the silk batting complemented the quilt top colors nicely.

IMG_2473

I thought I would also point out to you the yellow thread I used to quilt the quilt instead of the tone-on-tone light gray or white.   Nowadays, I have pretty much used slightly contrasting threads against the quilt fabrics for added visual interest in the final quilt.  So, don’t be afraid to buy color threads when you out shopping. :)  The thread color below looks almost taupe-ish, but it is yellow!

IMG_2497

Speaking of slightly contrasting quilting, have you checked out my Subtle Strings collection that has all my favorite quilting colors?  These shades work equally well for hand applique.  I am working on a hand applique project in my spare spare time… I will share pictures once I get enough done, and guess what thread I am using for the hand applique?  :)

IMG_1775

Click here to read more about my book Creative New Quilts & Projects from Precuts or Stash.  Do also send me pictures of your quilts made from patterns in the book.  I always love to see your projects.

Before I sign off for today, I thought I would share another picture from my artist-in-residence. :)

IMG_2941

Thanks for stopping by.  Happy Monday, and Happy Week!  Blessings to you all.

9 thoughts on “Creative New Quilts & Projects Project Highlight #3: Crossings (Cover Quilt)

  1. Wendy, I haven’t been able to find your thread collection on line, even at Aurifil.com. Love your artist’s picture!!

  2. Love your bright, cheery cover quilt. So inviting on cold, gloomy days like today and continuing the rest of the week. My, such an insightful statement from a sweet little gal. The artwork is perfect with it. Definitely a “frameable” piece. Aurifil thread has been my thread of choice for piecing for many years, but I am now acquiring many lovely colors to use for the quilting. A lovely choice. Looking forward to your continued inspiration Wendy……….

  3. Stunning quilt, free-motion quilting with beautiful fabrics and cheerful colors. And, of course, I love your collection of Aurifil thread too! But I’m absolutely dazzled with Miss Baby’s artwork. Total #CreativeGoodness. I think you definitely have an talented young artist in your home, possibly a future fabric designer, child’s book illustrator, or ????

    QuiltShopGal
    http://www.quiltshopgal.com

  4. Loved the Artist In Residence Picture! I copied and pasted it. I’m going to hang Miss Baby’s drawing in my quilting room! I love children’s works. Children are so open and pure when it comes thru creativity. Miss Baby is a chip from her “mom’s block” which of course is a compliment to both of you! Wendy you are an amazing mother and the leader of the band! Hugs, Nan

  5. 2015 is “in the books” and 2016 is bright with all its possibilities. Beginning the year with a few heavy “shadows” but He is faithful and the rainbow will appear. We’re thankful for our little place in So. TX for the next 3 months. Expecting blessings on the path. Hugs…………………..

  6. Another beauty. The book cover looks great. I really like Miss Baby’s artwork at the end. You should put it at the end of every post as a reminder to those of us that struggle on an ongoing basis. Thanks to Miss Baby. Many blessings on your new book endeavor.

Leave a Reply

