Looking back 2015…

Hello Friends, looking back at the year 2015…. my heart is full.   First of all, my Miss Baby has grown and matured a lot this year.  I am glad that I have been able to spend her formative years with her.

IMG_2329

She is growing up quickly.  Yesterday, she taught me a new word before the new year even began… “moulting”.   From the back of the car…

MB: Mom, it’s good that Enid Blyton knows about moulting.

Me: What?  You mean melting, right?

MB:  No, Mom… it’s moulting.

Me:  Huh?

MB:  It’s shedding of feathers, for birds.

Me:  Seriously?  How do you spell it?

IMG_1478

My little family had many adventures this past year.

IMG_1062

IMG_1058

Ft Myer2

This year, I filmed a total of 4 quilting classes – one (Machine Quilting Level 2) is already released, the other three forthcoming.

Level2

level2c

2199845900_04B_Fanciful

And of course, through it all, I had made and designed many(!) quilts.  Here are a few of your favorites…

_MG_1004

IMG_1094

Making-Valentines-FLAT-600px

IMG_2246

IMG_0294

IMG_1094

High Res_1a_version2_colored doors

High Res_3b_73 x 73

Redo_stripes out

High Res_Blue_54 x 66

4b redo_15 inch block_61 x 86.5

Some of those quilts made it into my second book, Creative New Quilts & Projects from Precuts or Stash.

CreativeNewQuilts&Projects

birdhouse

There is also an Aurifil thread box released based on my subtle quilting concept.

WS DRAFT2

IMG_1404

IMG_1775

The Subtle Strings threads were used to make the following quilt, which I had called Thread Journey, because it represents all my years of quilting fun and lessons learned.

IMG_1923

IMG_1852

I am most thankful for a very understanding and supportive husband who knows that I am one of those who needs to always be working on something.  I am thankful for these two who occasionally act as armchair quilt designers giving their takes on my designs, whether I want them or not.

IMG_0956

I am thankful to the people with whom I work on a regular basis, and with whom I have become fast friends.

IMG_1862

IMG_1820

IMG_1873

I am thankful for YOU — my bloggy friends!  Your comments or emails that sometimes come in late at night never fail to encourage me when I am pulling all nighters.  So many of you have shared with me your life – pain and joy.  I have rejoiced with, and prayed for you!   And thank you to those who hold me in your prayers.  I am convinced that I have been able to do what I did because of your prayers – and though not shared publicly on this blog, there had been quite a few high-stress moments in my life this year.

IMG_2899

Over and over again, God has proven to me His grace is sufficient for me.  And it is with that thought, I have designed all my quilts — as an effort to reflect His glory and beauty, albeit the effort being a feeble one.

summer flowers

Happy New Year to you all, Dear Friends, for walking with me the year 2015.  Here’s to a great year in 2016!!  I LOVE YOU ALL!

18 thoughts on “Looking back 2015…

  1. Thank you for sharing your quilts and techniques! I wish you a most successful year in all your quilting endeavors. Health to you and yours and prayers to lift you up in times of need. I’m glad to count you as one of my dear quilting friends!!!!

  2. Happy New Year to you and your lovely family. It is amazing what a difference a supportive husband can make. Mine has both supported and pushed when I lacked confidence. He has always said that I can do anything I set my mind to. He has never held me back. A wonderful man that I am looking forward to spending many more years with. We have already had 41 years married. 44 years that I have known him. Seems strange that I cannot imagine life without him. And that is NOT just because he is a brilliant DIYer… ha ha! It seems he has passed that gene onto our 2 boys! Well it is 2016 in about 3.5 hours. What can I do with what’s left of the year?
    Have a great 2016 Happy quilting
    Anne Marie

  3. Nice to look back. Yes children grow up all too fast. My g/dau will be 9 next month. Doesn’t seem possible. Your quilts and books are just super. My fav one on this list is the tulip. that is so sweet and looks like a Miss Baby dress there too. Hope you have a wonderful 2016!

  4. You really accomplished a lot in 2015. So many quilts. What a blessing to be able to have lots of time with Miss Baby, too. She is a smart cookie!

  5. You have been truly blessed with a beautiful family, stunning work and a life that is filled with such joy. May you continue to be blessed in 2016. You are such an inspiration to all of us.

  6. Happy New Year to you too Wendy and your family! Your such an inspiration. So many gorgeous quilts and lovely dresses for Miss G. Wishing you boundless energy in 2016! Can’t wait to see what’s next!

  7. Thank you for being such an inspiration to us quilters!! Love your bright outlook on things and your strong faith. Happy New Year to you and your family.

  8. Happy New Year dear friend. I LOVE that Miss Baby is sharing birding words with you – a girl after my own heart. ❤️ Give her a hug from me. Many congratulations on your fantastic achievements ! Your work continues to please and inspire us – and, if others are like me I know they motivate to create because of YOU! I can’t wait to see what your next classes are – thank you for always sharing with us… Sending Blessings for 2016!

  9. Happy New Year to you Wendy! You are my inspiration. I look forward to your blog in my inbox. Your quilts are beautiful and they DO reflect the Glory of God. You reflect His Light by your excellent work, your kind words, and your willingness to share yourself with us! I am thankful for you! God Bless and hugs to you and yours.

  10. Such wonderful memories you and your family have made this yr. Miss baby is truly growing and maturing into such a lady. May you and your family have a healthy, happy , prosperous New 2016. You are such a blessing to me and to all the others on your blogg. Hugs to all!

  11. Oh my, what a lovely recap of 2015. While it was an extremely busy year for you, I think it was equally productive. You received so many accolades. Kudos to you. How nice that you have a built in cheering section, sprinkled with a bit of advice. Little ones tend to grow, but so many fond memories are gathered along the way………enjoy! Have a wonderful 2016! I am sure that many more accolades are on the horizon.

Leave a Reply

