Merry Christmas 2015

Dear Friends, it’s HERE – finally HERE.  It’s Christmas.  Blessings to you and yours from my little family.  Miss Baby’s quote of the year: “Mom, I am already looking forward to the next Christmas while I am still celebrating this one!”  Yes, I agree, child!  Let’s keep Christmas all year round in our hearts, honoring and loving the One who didst His royal throne and kingly crown — for us, for you and for me!

wreath

Once in royal David’s city,
Stood a lowly cattle shed,
Where a mother laid her Baby,
In a manger for His bed:
Mary was that mother mild,
Jesus Christ, her little Child.

He came down to earth from heaven,
Who is God and Lord of all,
And His shelter was a stable,
And His cradle was a stall:
With the poor, and mean, and lowly,
Lived on earth our Saviour holy.

For He is our childhood’s pattern;
Day by day, like us, He grew;
He was little, weak, and helpless,
Tears and smiles, like us He knew;
And He cares when we are sad,
And he shares when we are glad.

And our eyes at last shall see Him,
Through His own redeeming love;
For that Child so dear and gentle,
Is our Lord in heaven above:
And He leads His children on,
To the place where He is gone.

[First published in 1848 in Miss Cecil Humphreys’ hymnbook Hymns for little Children.  Processional hymn of The Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols at King’s College since 1919.]

11 thoughts on “Merry Christmas 2015

  1. Thank you. Merry Christmas to you too. I’ve had Faith since last Sat and we will head to her house later this morning, She had an upset stomach most of the night but at 7:40 this morning, came in to my bedroom and plopped on my bed and said she felt fine and went right to sleep. So we will leave when we are ready but not before 10, probably a little later. I’ll bet Miss Baby is excited!

  2. Merry Christmas to you and your family! I know exactly how Miss Baby feels–I can’t wait to start on my sewn gifts for everyone for next year, and I haven’t given this year’s yet! I know how my mom felt when she said she had so many quilts racing through her head to be made. Her gift from me was two table toppers and her 2016 Quilt Art engagement calendar/planner. I have given her one for years and years. She uses them as journals and keeps a record of her quilts and sewing projects made each year. Since she turned 97 in November, she’s not sure how much she will use her journal, but I told her to plan on filling up each page and I’d get her another one next year! Best wishes for a happy and healthy new year! I’m looking forward to making your Expresso wall hanging soon after the first of the year. I think that will be my first project since I just received your book. Of course, I’m planning to do all the “birds” projects for my daughter for next Christmas unless I get some finished for her July birthday.

Leave a Reply

