The Holly and The Ivy – and your favorite Christmas carol

We were out walking, and I spotted “The Holly and The Ivy”…

IMG_2383

The holly and the ivy,
When they are both full grown
Of all the trees that are in the wood
The holly bears the crown.

The holly bears a blossom
As white as lily flower
And Mary bore sweet Jesus Christ
To be our sweet Saviour.

The holly bears a berry
As red as any blood,
And Mary bore sweet Jesus Christ
To do poor sinners good.

The holly bears a prickle
As sharp as any thorn,
And Mary bore sweet Jesus Christ
On Christmas Day in the morn.

The holly bears a bark
As bitter as any gall,
And Mary bore sweet Jesus Christ
For to redeem us all.

The holly and the ivy,
When they are both full grown
Of all the trees that are in the wood
The holly bears the crown.

Refrain:

O, the rising of the sun,
And the running of the deer
The playing of the merry organ,
Sweet singing in the choir.

***

So, curious mind wants to know if you have a favorite Christmas carol. Β I have SO many favorites, but one that I have loved even since I was a child is Once in Royal David’s City.

Thank you for stopping by! Β Just three more sleeps before Christmas!!!

14 thoughts on “The Holly and The Ivy – and your favorite Christmas carol

  1. My favorite carol changes with time…. but for now it’s “MARY, DID YOU KNOW?” I just love the words. I’ll have to check out your favorite….I don’t know that one…..and I’ve been a choir director/pianist for decades!

  2. Oh Holy Night is my favourite but truth be told I love all Christmas carols and love singing my heart out with the albums playing loudly on the stereo, of course this is done when no one is home haha.

  3. I love this time of year when Christmas carols are in abundance. This is the time when I get to load Christmas cd’s into my car’s cd system and enjoy. However, my favorite carols will be the ones that my two granddaughters will be singing at their Church Program on Christmas Eve.πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡

  4. I have several favorites, too. Different ones speak differently to me as years pass. It’s good to read through the familiar carols slowly…
    Hope you have the most Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

