On the Cover ALERT: Sherbet Stars in McCall’s Quilting (January/February 2016)

Cover FULL

Hello Friends, I am still plugging along with catching up with overdue posts.  Thank you for bearing with me.  I hope you have been well, and your pre-Christmas week got off a stupendous start.  I still have a bit to do before I am ready for Christmas (including finish piecing a quilt top!).  We had traveled for Thanksgiving for a getaway this year.  So, I am making our Thanksgiving meal this weekend.  I just took the turkey out to thaw to get it ready for brining.  Before I go on, I just have to share with you one of the salt dough ornaments Miss Baby and I made over the weekend.  We are definitely sending you Christmas love from our hearts…

IMG_2513

Back to Sherbet Stars…. did you see the quilt on the cover – behind the chair?  This is my first time having a quilt on the cover of a McCall’s Quilting issue.  I am beyond excited. :)   Oh look – some of the quilting even shows!

cover1

This is technically a 2016 feature in McCall’s Quilting (January/February 2016) issue, but since the magazine is currently out on newsstands, I am going ahead and share about it in case you want to purchase the issue while it is still out.  Complete instructions are included in the magazine.  Even before I received my copy, Kathy B. had emailed me about spotting the quilt in the magazine. (Thanks, Kathy!!)

IMG_2237

Newsflash – sawtooth stars in my quilt – hehe!  I have shared with you various times I am kind of on an unofficial quest to see how many ways I can use the sawtooth star blocks in my designs.  Click here and here.  I think I am about ready to do a third installment of my sawtooth star quilts. :)

The sawtooth star blocks in Sherbet Stars are set on-point for a fun layout.  The quilt uses the Katherine Ann fabrics, designed by Patrick Lose for RJR Fabrics.  I love the combination of brown, purple, lime green and pink together… and the stripes!

IMG_2244

You may purchase the quilt top kit here.

IMG_2280

Due to the relatively busy prints (even the ground fabric), I free-motion quilted swirls all over the quilt.   I used Aurifil Mako 50 thread over Hobbs Tuscany silk batting.

IMG_2282

I am hoping to be able to show you before the week is over the “fraternal twin” of Sherbet Stars – i.e., another magazine feature quilt using the same fabrics.  Perhaps you have already seen it? I tried to take the twin for a photo shoot last weekend because it was going to be warm. For some reason, the dock we went to was a bit wet and foggy. So, my photo shoot attempt was foiled and unsuccessful… so, we came home and made the aforementioned salt dough cookies.

Thank you for stopping by.  I hope you have enjoyed seeing Sherbet Stars.  What do you think of Sherbet Stars? What do you like about it?  What don’t you like about it?

***

My 2015 Line-up

Note:  You may click here for the exhaustive list of my published work.

Editorial Features:

American Patchwork & Quilting 2015 Calendar: Get Happy

American Patchwork & Quilting 2015 Calendar: Migration

American Patchwork & Quilting 2016 Calendar: In Your Corner

Australian Quilters Companion (Issue 73): Over The Fence

Australian Quilters Companion (Issue 76): Needles and Pins

Fons & Porter’s Love of Quilting (January/February 2015): Sunny Delight

Fons & Porter’s Love of Quilting (January/February 2015): Family Dinner

Fons & Porter’s Scrap Quilts (Spring 2015): Stars are Brightly Shining

Fons & Porter’s Easy Quilts (Summer 2015): All In Knots (Cover Quilt)

Fons & Porter’s Quilting Quickly (December 2015): Snowbirds

Fons & Porter’s Quilting Quickly (December 2015): Painted Snowball

McCall’s Quilting (March/April 2015): Making Valentines

McCall’s Quilting (July/August 2015): Cozy Town

McCall’s Quilting (September/October 2015): Twilight Trellis

McCall’s Quick Quilts (December 2015/January 2016): Rows of Roses

Quilters Newsletter (October/November 2015): Sherry’s Stars

Quilter’s World (Spring 2015): Zigs and Zags

Quilter’s World (Winter 2015): Square Dance

Quilts and More (Spring 2015): Exclamation Point

Free-to-use Designs:

January: A Red Letter Day using Seeing Red (Benartex)

January: Star Struck using Caryl’s Feathers (Benartex)

February: Happy Home House Quilt (Quilting Treasures)

February: Happy Home Runner (Quilting Treasures)

February: Happy Home Throw Quilt (Quilting Treasures)

February: Farmville using Green Farms (Benartex)

February: Zoey’s Flowerbed using Zoey (Benartex)

March: Camp Cozy Quilt (Quilting Treasures)

March: Pretty Little Houses using Tango (Benartex)

March: Ariel (Quilting Treasures)

March: Flutter B’s using Butterfly Effect (Benartex)

April:  Baby Bunny using Bunny Hop (Benartex)

April: Yuki (Hoffman Fabrics)

April: Shimmering Constellations using Gold Standard (Benartex)

April: Bonjour (Quilting Treasures)

April: Baby Boutique (Quilting Treasures)

May: High Speed Racer using Vroom (Benartex)

May: Flower-Scapes using Blue Paradise / Sundrenched (Benartex)

May: Rusty’s Sleeping Hollow using Rusty & Friends (Benartex)

May: Christine’s Rose Garden using Christine (Benartex)

June: Treeline Drive (Hoffman Fabrics)

June: Frosty the Snowman (Quilting Treasures)

June: Jolly Old St. Nick (Quilting Treasures)

July: Memento (Hoffman Fabrics)

July: Monkey Business (Quilting Treausres)

July: Dream Blossom (Hoffman Fabrics)

August:  Birdhouse Neighborhood using Tweet As Can Be (Benartex)

August: For the Birds using Tweet As Can Be (Benartex)

August: Christmas Morning using Santa’s Here (Benartex)

August: Chelsea (Quilting Treasures)

September: Charlotte (Quilting Treasures)

September: Sassy (Quilting Treasures)

October: Devon (Quilting Treasures)

October: Ballet School using Tiny Dancers (Benartex)

November: Jenny Jane (Hoffman Fabrics)

November: Our Father (Quilting Treasures)

10 thoughts on “On the Cover ALERT: Sherbet Stars in McCall’s Quilting (January/February 2016)

  1. Oh this one is pretty. Interesting colors!
    These are the times you can really enjoy moments with your sweet Miss Baby, and make memories. My daughters and I are reaping those benefits now, looking back and laughing about the fun.
    Happy Christmas, Wendy, to you and your family!

  2. Absolutely Fantastic! This quilt is gorgeous and I will be looking for a copy the next time we go into town. Sorry to admit, but I rarely do buy magazines…I am a book quilter. Yet, I have found some fabulous quilts in magazines that have become treasured keepsakes…both quilts and the magazines! Congratulations to you for another great accomplishment! Have a great creative day!

  3. I love everything about Sherbet Stars. The pattern is fabulous, the fabrics are gorgeous! I’m still waiting for my snailmail copy. Cute little salt dough ornament! Fun heart! Have a good rest of the week.

  4. Definitely an outstanding cover choice…..they are very wise people!!! (of course I’m a tad biased!!) This is one of my faves and, it seems, I am drawn to any type of star piecing (just checked my Pinterest boards…..yup, one just for stars!!!!).

  5. Wendy, my dear friend, just when I think I can’t be more amazed at your talent you step it up and amaze me again! Your talent is phenomenal, but knowing you as I do your devotion to God inspires me even more! God bless you and your family and Merry Christmas to you!!! Love you always, Rhonda

Leave a Reply

