Creative New Quilts & Projects Project Highlight #2: Birds Of A Feather Runner

CreativeNewQuilts&Projects

Hello Friends, I hope you are well!  Some of you had written to tell me you like my Birds Of A Feather runner quilt in my book Creative Quilts & Projects from Precuts or Stash.

bird runner

I thought I would share with you snippets of the autumn version of the same runner, made with Spice Pumpkin fabrics by dear friend Lynette Anderson for RJR Fabrics.

IMG_1995

Once the folds are fanned out, you see the same bird applique as shown in the bright summery version.

IMG_1986

Here are a couple pictures taken at various angles.

IMG_1980

IMG_1983

Quilting was done with Aurifil Mako 50 cotton over Hobbs Tuscany silk batting.  I hope you are able to notice from the pictures that I used the applique swirls as “feather spines” as I quilt feather lobes off of the swirls.  And then, I filled in the non-feathered area with a background sand dunes motif that I have shared about here.

IMG_1990

IMG_1992

And of course, I used a thread that gives just enough of a contrast. I used a slight gold thread.

IMG_1989

And here is a peek on the back.

IMG_2000

I hope you have enjoyed this autumn version of Birds Of A Feather runner.  It is my prayer that you all have a most blessed and lovely Thanksgiving!

8 thoughts on “Creative New Quilts & Projects Project Highlight #2: Birds Of A Feather Runner

  1. “Out of the overflow of the heart, the mouth speaks” and the fingers create. Your designs are totally sweet, artful and appealing to the hearts of those who view them. Blessings and hugs……

  2. I remain in awe of the elegance of your quilting and only wish I could do half as good a job. But I keep trying. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  3. Your autumn version is delightful. I’ve been scrolling through your Thread Talk posts and am so inspired. I’ve been practicing a lot, but still need to gain confidence. I recently chose to ‘stitch in the ditch’ on a quilt because I was so afraid I’d ruin it after all my hard work piecing it. wish I could rewind and try again! Next quilt! Thanks for all of the time and effort you put into your posts. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  4. Oh my, another gorgeous runner!! It’s a beauty in both color ways!! It’s a dreary, rainy day here in WI, but our family is thankful to be together on this day. Missing the branch of our family who is keeping us safe on this day. Blessings to all for a happy Thanksgiving Day!

Leave a Reply

