Creative New Quilts & Projects Project Highlight #1: Counting My Blessings

CreativeNewQuilts&Projects

Hello Friends, we are in Thanksgiving mode at my end.  We have a certain little girl who is super-excited about Thanksgiving!  And I thought it would be apt for me to share with you my banner quilt project Counting My Blessings.

birdhouse

Counting My Blessings is a precuts/stash friendly project in that the pieced background of the banner is made of 2 1/2″ precut batiks strips.  So, you have any of the leftover jellyroll strips laying around…. just sayin’!  The applique(machine fusible) of the pagoda birdhouse is done with charm squares, and so are the yoyo’s.

IMG_1957

IMG_1949

The yoyos were first made, and then blind-stitched onto the banner after the quilt was quilted.

IMG_9591

This entire banner is constructed and quilted with Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton threads.  The quilting is done with subtle contrasting effect by using threads that give just a smidgen-y hint of contrast to compliment the background fabrics.  I used light pink, light blue, lavender threads to quilt the different portions of the banner.

IMG_1955

IMG_9590

IMG_1951

And of course, my idea of subtle contrasting quilting effect has recently been packaged in Subtle Strings thread box by Aurifil.

WS DRAFT2

IMG_1775

I used a combination of silk and wool batting from Hobbs Tuscany collection — you can see that my feathers really have the “poof” factor going on from that batting combination!

IMG_9586

Complete pattern instructions including full sized templates are found in my book Creative New Quilts & Projects from Precuts or Stash.  This banner project also comes with an autumn version.  Leaf template is also in the book.

IMG_1972

IMG_1962

I hope you have a great Thanksgiving week, Dear Friends!  Please know that when I count my blessings, you are definitely one of them!!!  I shall catch up with you later!

14 thoughts on “Creative New Quilts & Projects Project Highlight #1: Counting My Blessings

  1. Wendy, the projects in your book look delicious! A copy is definitely going on my Christmas wish list (Santa, are you listening?)

  2. Oh wow! Wendy, your pagoda birdhouse quilt is gorgeous!! My bird fancier husband may “need” this one. I love the soft colored fabrics that you have used but he may need more “manly” colors. We are anxiously awaiting Thanksgiving here in snowy WI. Really feels like the holidays. Enjoy your special thankful day, being with family, we are thankful for ours. Blessings to all.

  3. Another fun quilt! I’m counting my blessings along with you. Also counting you as one of my blessings! Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

  4. Your quilting is so beautiful, Wendy! How do you make your feathers without having a very thread-dense spine? I love quilting feathers, but don’t always love it when the spine shows up more than the plumes due to thread build up.

  5. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours Wendy!
    I love the above quilt. It is definitely eye candy
    Thanks for walking us thru this quilt
    Hugs, Nancy

  6. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours as well. When I look at those yo-yo’s, they look like they are puckered up for a kiss. Maybe there will be a mistletoe version?

  7. Wendy, I am thankful for your inspiration and willingness to share your quilting knowledge. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!!!

Leave a Reply

