Complete the thought…. “You know you are in the mid-west when…”

… passengers on the plane do not bulldoze you over while getting off the plane!  At least that’s what I learned earlier this year when I flew into Ft. Wayne, Indiana.  I was in Row 8, and was up from my seat as soon as the airplane stopped taxing.  Then, I looked around and everyone else was seated nicely in their seats, while waiting for the passengers in front of them to get off the plane before proceeding to do so accordingly.

I felt like a total uncouth brute.  Embarrassed and red faced, I sat back down and waited my turn.  I will definitely remember my manners when I fly out of to Fort Wayne again this time!

So, what mid-west virtue(s) comes to your mind?

Tootles for now.  I am heading out to the airport.  Later, Dear Friends!

18 thoughts on “Complete the thought…. “You know you are in the mid-west when…”

  1. “Midwest polite” sometimes catches one off guard. Happens while driving, too, (believe it or not) and may even result in a traffic ticket….if observed by an officer! However, a few years ago I was stopped by the highway patrol (with a group of 3 quilters in my car) for going 72 in a 55!!!!! Yes! that’s right!!!! I explained that I forgot to put my cruise on and we were just returning from a mini shop-hop and jabbering at hyper speed. He politely suggested that I engage the ‘cruise’ at the posted speed next time…….and let me off w/o even a (paper) warning!!!!!!! That is permanently imprinted on me!!!!!!!!

  2. ^ wow, that is true.
    Hubbs’ family is from Michigan– central Michigan and also the UP
    They say Pop for soda, …and as Doreen said. I think everyone is much more polite.
    I am from “no where” because my dad and mom are from Holland and upon coming to the US, we were born, then dad got a job with the State Dept and NATO. So we just traveled the world. I never was American-ized until I moved here on my own to go to college and America had more modern conveniences.

    Everyone talks funny here in the US. The US east coastal states seem to have people that are less emotionally mature and they talk too fast and sloppy.
    Happy Thursday
    I am going shopping this morning then this afternoon play with my baby Sarah in Leesburg lucky me

  3. In Lansing cars stopped when a child’s ball rolled into a Main Street. I was driving in Detroit, nervous because I didn’t know my way. On an overpass there was not a car in sight and I sped up unawares. I was pulled over by a cop. I agreed I had sped up, and slowed as soon as I realized it. He topknot my lisvence, looked at my record. “Before you say anything..” He wrote me up for a fine but for something that would not show on my record and raise my insurance. Amazing. Happened at 8 Mile.

  4. I live in IL and I would say that is highly unusual for the Midwest. The flight attendants could take charge of that and like ushers at weddings they could stand in the aisles and discharge one row at a time, but that is probably a pie in the sky wish. It will never happen!

  5. I love your observation! I am from the Midwest originally but haven’t been there for years to take in the differences. It’s true we east and west coast people are a bit more aggressive, I think.

  6. I have never seen what you just described. Flights that I have been on, most everyone stands upon arrival. However, we do disembark forward row by forward row. It’s an orderly “standup.” Enjoy your adventures. I am beginning to panic with the holidays quickly approaching. I need a couple of Santa’s sewing elves to help me out!!

  7. So funny to read this. Ft Wayne is my nearest airport. I now understand why it takes me so long to get OFF the airplane. Here I was blaming it on all the luggage everyone was allowed to carry with them.

  8. I was born and bred in Michigan and lived for a few years in Chicago and in Northwest Ohio. If you visit someone in Michigan the first thing they will do is offer you something to drink (coffee, tea, water, etc.). If you are there at meal time you will be asked to share their meal. If they knew you were coming they will bake cookies or some other snack. Mid-west hospitality is famous all over the country, Drivers in Michigan are usually polite and in Chicago they are phenomenal, but I have never experienced such rude drivers as in Ohio. Of course I have never been on the west coast so I don’t know about that. All in all people in the Mid-west are good down home people.

  9. This behavior makes so much sense. I can’t tell you how many times I have sat in my seat and wondered why people in the back of the plane stand up and wait!!!!

  10. Wendy – how interesting you should observe this. I treasure a note from an older (than me) friend, born and bred here in the east, who said she knew I was from the Midwest (Wisconsin cheesehead) because I was so smiley and kind to her. We originally met on a quilter’s bus trip when I asked if the seat next to her was taken. As a transplant here to the east, and having lived in many parts of the country, I can say unequivocally that driver’s in MA are the worst and the people in this part of the country, as a whole, are rather stiff and don’t laugh much. BUT saying that, there are many exceptions too, thankfully. It doesn’t surprise me that studies have shown that people in the Midwest live longer. ‘We’ smile, we laugh, we have fun…all the while downing brats (sausage is ‘bad’ for you) and beer. :-) My parents lived into their 90’s with all their parts and wit.

  11. I’m from Ft Wayne! So glad you got to go there. However, they have the minimum of quilt shops (the one in Roanoke is marvelous)! I now live in their sister city (Wichita) and we have 3 great QS in town plus many within a 20-45 min drive. Must be more quilters in Kansas! I’ve been to both coasts and I felt out of place. To me, the midwest is Normal, USA! Yes, the midwest is great for people, but I’ve also met some great people on both coasts. And in a major crisis, we are all the same helpful and wonderful Americans, willing to give the shirts off our backs and money from our pockets. Your trip to Houston sounds wonderful! Glad you also recognized the workers behind the scene who made the show happen. Take care dear friend.
    dj

  12. Oh Minnesota Nice. Here if you walk down a street with a smile people you don’t know will say hi instead of thinking you are up to something. Men open doors. People politely line up. Drivers will make room for you to merge in but you are expected to wave a thank-you back. I
    You might live in Minnesota.
    if someone in a store offers you assistance, and they don’t work there,
    If your dad’s suntan stops at a line curving around the middle of his forehead,
    If you have worn shorts and a parka at the same time,
    If your town has an equal number of bars and churches,
    You know several people, who have hit deer more than once,
    You think of the major food groups as beer, fish, and Venison,
    You design your kid’s Halloween costume to fit over a snowsuit,
    Your idea of creative landscaping is a plastic deer next to your blue spruce,
    You find -10 degrees “a little chilly”,
    Every wedding dance you have ever been to has the hokey pokey and the chicken dance.
    You have driven your car on the lake.

    Show and Tell

    The kindergarten students’ Show and Tell assignment was to bring an object to share with the class that represented their religion.
    The first student got up in front of the class and said, “My name is Benjamin and I am Jewish and this is a Star of David..”
    The second student got up in front of the class and said, “My name is Mary. I’m a Catholic and this is a Rosary.”
    The third student got in up front of the class and said, “My name is Tommy. I am Lutheran, and this is a hot dish.”

  13. Midwest is best…or so my kids say. They were raised in Illinois and Indiana with grandparents who lived in Wisconsin and Michigan. Having just visited three of them in the San Fran area, Portland, and Seattle, I will have to agree that Midwesterners are a friendly bunch. I think there is less of a “rat race” mentality and they slow down and try to enjoy life. I love my kids and that is the only reason I’ll drive in the Seattle area…wowza, those drivers are horrible!

    • It doesn’t help that Seattle is perched on a spit of land between the Sound and the mountains and everything goes up, down, and around. Another crazy thing with Seattle is that it takes them “forever” to do study upon study to see if they “need” a new road.

  14. These replies are all very funny !!! Being from Wisconsin I try to never give it away by saying:

    “Hey, yous guys dere”
    “If you are thirsty dere is a bubbler over dere”
    “You want some pop?”
    “Get’er done”
    “Ya, hey”
    “‘What chew doing, dere?”

    Yup, I try to keep it a secret!

Leave a Reply

