Liz’s FMQ Quilting Story!

Hello Friends, I am working on a quilt I have titled Thread Journey – sneak peeks are forthcoming.   Indeed quilting is very much a journey. Oftentimes quilters relate to the events in their life by the quilts they make.  I made my first quilt when a nephew was born, and now that nephew is 10 years old.  I look back, and it’s definitely been a journey.

Starting something new in the journey is what came to mind when Liz wrote me about the class project she made from my online machine quilting class, Learn to Machine Quilt.  Click here to read more about the class. Liz graciously sent me pictures of her class project.  She did a great job, don’t you think?

Front:

Front

Back:

BackSampler

Here is what Liz shared about attempting something new in her quilting journey:

“Well, the only quilting I have ever done is “stitch in the ditch” or just straight line quilting. It was so much quicker and easier to just go straight. Now, I haven’t made many quilts. Probably a half dozen or so wall quilts, two lap quilts and some mug rugs and pot holders. All of these were done with straight line quilting. You can probably guess that after a while you feel you need to grow and expand your stitching repertoire.

I’ve been reading Wendy’s blog for quite some time now and even purchased Wendy’s book, Recreating Antique Quilts. I saw Wendy’s Learn to Machine Quilt class offered on Annie’s, and signed up.  Wendy’s teaching style seemed patient* and yet orderly. I really learned from the repetitive motions of sketching out my stitches before actually stitching them. Also, in Wendy’s Learn to Machine Quilt Class, I learned how valuable it is it practice, practice, practice first with the sketching and then with actually stitching out the designs on practice panels first. I started out feeling as though I was fumbling and then by the end of stitching the sampler I felt as if I could definitely add a little style to my next quilt.
I know I have a long way to go at becoming proficient but the journey to get there is so much fun! I love to quilt and now I feel like an artist who is painting with thread!  I’m looking forward to starting Wendy’s next Machine Quilting Class and project.”

Liz said it so well about machine quilting on her domestic machine being so much fun, and that she now feels like an artist who is painting with thread!  I just love that!  Friends, it is a journey, truly!

NOW — email me at wendy2@wendysheppard.net if you would like to have $5 off for signing up the class!

*Wendy’s note:  Miss Baby probably probably has a different take on my patience, or rather impatience! :)

***

Click here and here to see pictures of class projects sent to me by other quilters.

4 thoughts on “Liz’s FMQ Quilting Story!

  1. Please, convey to Liz how awesome her piece is and how sweet her shared thoughts are. Sketching + practice is something that is ongoing if one wants to continue on this fabulous journey!!! Both are things that are done each day by myself (a sketch book is always within reach!). Thanks so much for encouraging us all!!!!!!! And thank you, Wendy, with sharing your thoughts and talents with us all……..hugs……………………

  2. The “sampler of quilting” quilt is beautiful. Great job Liz. Totally agree, quilting is a journey. We all take different paths, we have different styles, we like different colors, and patterns. We have different machines. The list of differences just goes on and on, but our final outcomes are probably pretty much the same. We want a completed quilt and we want to say, “I did it.” Such a feeling of accomplishment when it is done!

  3. Congratulations Liz on a beautiful sampler. I too took Wendy’s Machine Quilting classes and have benefited from them and all her awesome Thread Talk posts. We’re so lucky to have someone like Wendy to share with us. Your sampler is awesome Liz — keep up the great work. Many hugs dear Wendy… xoxo

Leave a Reply

