Leslie: Quilt to bless!

Happy Thursday, Friends!  If you know a quilter or two, you would probably have experienced first hand the generosity and love quilters have for others, including strangers with whom they have never met.

Today, Leslie from Pennsylvania is sharing with us her “quilt to bless” story. Enjoy!

leslie2

***

First off I want to thank Wendy for allowing me to write and tell you of my recent endeavors.

If you are an avid quilter like me, you most likely have done items for charity. It warms my heart when I think of my charity quilts, and the people that have been blessed by them. Babies in Romania and here at home, families in Japan, girls in Africa, senior citizens, and more. So, when I saw on the local news a few months ago that the Mennonite Central Committee was desperate for quilts to send to refugees, I knew I had to act.

I found out that my local drop off point was happy to just get quilt tops that they could tie. Perfect for me, due to some health issues. I got right to work sorting and cutting fabric from my stash. I started with older fabric I thought would blend together and then I started buying fabric on sale to use. My most recent find was at the Hershey Quilt Show. I purchased 2, 10 yard rolls of one yard cuts, of beautiful civil war fabric. They were $35.00 each. Yes….$35.00.

leslie4

I can’t really appreciate what it is like to lose everything and have to run for my life. I find myself often praying and even crying for the recipients as I quilt. On their end, the quilts often become cherished emblems of love, symbols of hope and the fact that they are not forgotten.

Leslie3

When my family and I went to drop off my tops and the tops of a few friends, Connie gave us a tour of the Ephrata Pa. facility and the work they do. We were amazed. There are many ways people can help MCC reach out to refugees around the world from baby blankies and kits of all kinds, to quilts and quilt tops.

leslie1

The only problem with this charity project… it gets in your blood. At least it has mine. I am sometimes haunted by the need to pour into these people and help the MCC meet the needs. I hope you will consider reaching out and helping. I slipped my last top in the mail….it was easy as that.

***

Thank you, Leslie, for sharing your story.  Please feel free to share about the charity quilts you make (as well as the organizations) in the comment section  — I am sure some of us would like to check out your charity quilt organization(s) .  I appreciate you stopping by, Dear Friends!  I shall catch up with you later!  Hugs to you all.

9 thoughts on “Leslie: Quilt to bless!

  1. MCC does GREAT work! I grew up in a Mennonite home and it was my Mom who inspired me to quilt. My charity quilts go to local hospitals in Calgary and placemats to Meals on Wheels. I am a member of Ujamaa Grandmas, (http://www.ujamaagrandmas.com/ )a grandmothers organisation raising funds to help the grandmas and aunties raising children orphaned by AIDS in Africa. The Ebola outbreak in Africa this year got LOTS of press as it should. However many people in the western hemisphere are not aware that there are roughly 23.8 million persons in all of Africa infected by AIDS and 91% of the world’s HIV-positive children live in Africa. The press is no longer covering that story. The long and the short of it, help where and how you can !

  2. What a lovely story and a lovely spirit behind the story. It’s people like you who make this world a better place. May we all be inspired by you to step out and make a difference where ever we can.

  3. Thank you for sharing this, Wendy. What a heartwarming story! I find quilters a very generous and caring bunch. Our church group, St Mark’s Quilters, makes tiny quilts for a local hospital’s Newborn Intensive Care Unit where they are given to the parents of bubs who pass away during or soon after their birth, as well as to parents of bubs who need to spend time in the NICU. We also make cot sized quilts which are given to each child enrolled at a preschool for autistic children. We really enjoy sharing Gods love in this way, and our monthly sewing workshops are always full of fun.

  4. Quilters are a very special breed. They’re all on the same wave length, all passionate, caring, giving. We all look forward to being together to share ideas, skills, shortcuts. Everyone pitches in when help is needed. We’ve raised over $100,000 for our little Emergency Hospital for equipment and much needed machines to save lives. The nearest medical facility is 70 miles but now the ER in our town is capable to handle more emergencies. We’ve had bake sales, spaghetti dinners, silent auctions for quilts of all sizes, and small items to sell at bake sales and farmers markets (bibs, potholders, placemats, table runners, aprons, hats, etc.) and it all goes. It is amazing how people are so willing–to make and to buy for a good cause. We’ve made wheelchair quilts for the patients in long-term care and children blankets for displaced children. We all love the sound of busy sewing machines! Well done, quilty friends.

  5. It was wonderful to read this story. Quilting is a superb way of donating and giving to any organization that reaches out and helps others in need. I have only donated a few quilts, but not to long ago, I decided I needed to do much more and therefore have began to experience the joy of quilting to help someone. Thank you for sharing and I hope that you have a wonderful creative day!

  6. A very moving story-how stitching can help heal the world. I have made many quilts for various places over the years-but in 2005 was moved by a piece in The Quilter (magazine of the Quilter’s Guild of the British Isles) asking for quilt teachers in Mongolia. I responded and raised money and made and sent quilts and in 2006 and again in 2009, went with my sister Jane, to teach in Mongolia. What adventures we have experienced, responding to this piece that was printed, first with prayers and then practical effort. I keep in touch with the Mongolian friends we made and hope one day I may return. Look on Facebook for Mongolianquilt Mongolian Quilts.. see the amazing things they are doing.

  7. My daughter just returned from serving two years with MCC in Palestine. Last summer during the assault on Gaza, I sewed to relieve my stress and anxiety for her and all the Palestinians. I belong to a Friends (Quaker) church, with no Mennonite church close by. I decided to “auction” my quilt on social media and give the proceeds to MCC Gaza relief. A friend bought it for $200, and her husband’s work organization matched with another $200. I love making quilts and the labor of love they represent. It’s even more amazing when quilters make them to show love to strangers.

  8. Here in Kansas, we have a Comforter Blitz each March, where a lot of ladies get together to tie quilts for MCC. We usually tie at least 150 on those 2 days, and it is a lot of fun to meet people from all over, and touch bases with old friends. Also, the MCC sale quilt auction is legendary, raising a ton of money for overseas relief. Kansas one is great, as are other state’s.

Leave a Reply

