I spy with my own eyes…

Happy Monday, Friends!  I am exhausted, but I was most excited heading out to the Post Office this morning posting my two quilts to their respective destinations.

In one of my quilts, I spy with my own eyes….

IMG_1014

… fabrics from Nancy Gere’s Low Country Indigo for Windham.   Read about Nancy’s fabrics here.

You know I love history, but the funny thing is that I really haven’t worked with any historic-themed fabrics until very recently.  I couldn’t be happier and excited about the prospect!!!  Stay tuned for some designs coming up I did using more reproduction lines — SO excited is all I can say.

So — curious mind wants to know if you like using reproduction fabrics in your quilts.

Thanks for stopping by!  I hope you have a lovely week ahead.  It’s time for me to catch up with laundry and housework… or, Miss Baby is going to say, “Mom, I don’t mean to nag, but I think you need to dust this lamp! I am seeing powdery dust on it.”  Yeah, about that… I shall get right on it!  Thus, the reason why my sister calls me the overqualified maid and underpaid chauffeur.

13 thoughts on “I spy with my own eyes…

  1. I have to admit that I really do not have a clue what reproduction fabrics are. A lot of my fabric stash has been given to me or bought at garage sales, so most likely I have some. LOL at myself, I have been quilting for over 10 years and just never thought about it. Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful creative day!

  2. To my knowledge I’ve never used any of the reproduction fabrics; at least I know I’ve not purchased any. I may have gotten some in the estate sales I bought fabrics from however. I know there are a few blogs that I do follow that use nothing but those types of fabric and the quilts they make using the reproduction fabrics are just gorgeous. Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

    Yea, about that dust? I’ve decided it won’t gather to a point where it just falls off. LOL Guess we all have to face that fact at some point.

  3. Sounds like Miss Baby might be ready for her very own Swifter Duster! ;0) Love that blue fabric!

    Sent via the Samsung Galaxy S®6 active, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

  4. My favorite repro fabrics are 30s and 40s, however since reading Barbara Brackman’s blog and completing some small Temecula Quilt sew alongs I am using more earlier to Civil War reproduction fabrics. The indigos temind me of a badket quilt on my bed when I was a kid… beautiful!

  5. I created a Civil War era quilt using reproduction fabrics years ago as a gift to my husband, a history buff and middle-school history teacher. I think he knows every minute detail of that era. Since recently relocating to TN I have, once again, begun acquiring Civil War fabrics. I am amazed at the colorful pieces of fabric. I am finishing up a Double Irish Chain using reproduction fabrics. I plan to create more with my newly acquired stash.

    In a day or two the direction of the sun will change and, oh my golly, the dust will disappear! …….hmmmmmm

    Have a great week………😉

  6. Though I will use anything that works in a particular quilt, I usually avoid reproduction fabrics. My quilts tend to be more contemporary than traditional.

  7. Cracking up on what your sister calls you! Ha! Might be time to give Miss Baby a ostrich feather duster…
    I need to clean my place from top to bottom!!

  8. Reproductions are my favorite fabrics to work with, I love the nostalgia. It doesn’t matter what era, 30’s, 40’s 50’s and civil war are all fun. When my mom gave me her stash of 60’s and 70’s fabrics I was in fabric heaven!

  9. Does a cat like milk? I LOVE reproduction fabrics. In fact, that’s about all I buy now (except for the oop Thimbleberries when I find them). My Civil War collection of fabric is growing out of control as is my stash of 30’s repro prints; but I find myself buying more! My “modern” fabrics, my shabby chic Robyn Pandolph florals, my wonderful Kaffe Fassetts sit on the shelves as I have about a dozen projects in the works right now—all of them reproduction fabrics. (P.S. I’m really anxious to hear more about how you like your new machine…can hardly wait for another post!)

  10. Hi Wendy. I really like your quilting motifs and designs. I think you are doing an overall edge-to-edge quilting. Do you mind sharing a little how the design looks like? If you have pics to show the overall effect of the quilting will be nice. Thanks a lot.
    Sandra from Singapore

  11. I have to say that my taste is all over the map, but reproductions are definitely one of the type that I like to make. There is just something so warm and wonderful about the colors and the intricacy of the designs!!

  12. I just recently finished my first quilt using reproduction civil war fabrics and I was very pleased with it. I am mostly a scrap quilter and rarely buy lengths of coordinating prints.

Leave a Reply

