Stars for My Friends: Preview & Thoughts on Making Flying Geese Units

There came a point in time in my life when I just had to get some sewing done in order to meet my sample work deadlines.  It might be weird to you, but I have been doing nothing but computer work for the last couple of weeks. And I finally told myself I had to get me to the sewing machine!  So I got myself to the sewing machine…

And, lookie here at what I made?  Sawtooth Stars!!!  Click here if you missed my Sawtooth Star post.

IMG_0845

There are so many ways to make the flying geese units.  I generally use the no-waste method when I have to make a bunch of them.  I have found the tutorial here by Patti Anderson of www.patchpieces.com helpful.

IMG_0858

For me, it is helpful to press the seams open when I construct my flying geese units.  Then, I cut off this little “nubbie” thingie so that I have more flexibility as to where I can press my seams.  If the nubbie is allowed to stay, I can only press the seam to the direction where it will show the least bulk.  With the nubbie out of the way, I can press the seams any direction I want, and I don’t get the “bulk” problem.  So, I would carefully cut it off while I am making my flying geese unit.

IMG_0847

IMG_0851

Here you see the back of the flying geese unit after the nubbie is cut off.

IMG_0852

In order for me to make sure all my points work out nicely in my Sawtooth Star blocks, I also make my units a little larger and trim them to size later.  For these units, the finished size is 1 1/2″ x 3″ — so, I would make sure the valley of V in my flying geese unit falls RIGHT at 1 3/4″ on my ruler, and will cut my units to measure 2″ x 3 1/2″ raw edge to raw edge.

IMG_0855

Another little trick I use to improve accuracy in my piecing is using finer threads.  I use Aurifil Mako 50 wt threads for all my piecing.  For me, the threads doesn’t take up much of an “room” when I press my seams, especially when I have to press them to one side.

IMG_0829

My Stars for My Friends quilt is a tribute to all my friends (including you) who brighten up my life!  Thanks for stopping by!  I shall catch up with you later.

SO, what are the tricks you use when you make your flying geese units?  Also, do you match your threads to the fabrics when you piece?

13 thoughts on “Stars for My Friends: Preview & Thoughts on Making Flying Geese Units

  1. I make flying geese this way, but I do pres in half to get the sewing line, rather than drawing the line, it is quicker, but you have to be careful to sew just beside the crease and not right in it.
    Love the colors you are working with, beautiful choice

  2. This is pretty, I love stars,
    those snipped seams make me nervous. .
    I learned to make my geese the same way and it is good, no fiddling with half squares and stretching
    Except… I really really like that pattern with the cute splat red stars with the monkey fabric a couple of posts before, That is such a cutie quilt. So, I think those stars are not made like this… :-D

  3. Thank you for the hint on snipping the extra fabric. I plan to try that next time (soon) I make flying geese. Those fabrics and thread colors are beautiful! I have finally obtained some Aurifil thread and love it!

  4. P.S. I do not match my piecing thread to the fabrics. I use either pale gray, light tan or white (if much of the quilt is white). For dark quilts, I use darker neutral threads.

  5. It has been quite awhile since I have made any flying geese. I like your suggestion of cutting the nubbies and pressing open, will have to give it a try. Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful creative day!

  6. I use a very light neutral colored thread if sewing light colored fabrics and a darker color for darker fabrics. I like your “nubbie” idea. Thanks for the stars!!!!!

  7. I may have to try snipping that little bit. I do like making geese that way, and love your ruler suggestion. I use the Quilt In A Day method, as well, and use the QIAD rulers to square the geese blocks, which ever way I make them. I love Aurifil 50wt for piecing as well, and use neutrals mostly, not matching the fabric. White, cream, grey, mostly. Have a sweet evening!

  8. I make my flying geese units the old fashioned way. I barely kiss the line with my stitch line, and I’ve always pressed my seams to one side. I look forward to trying your technique. Thanks for sharing. I almost always use neutral colored threads when piecing.

  9. some years ago one of my students called those little “nubie” bits “rabbit’s ears” they have been “rabbit’s ears” ever since!

  10. I make flying geese using the same method you do. I’ve shared that method with my quilting group and they were so grateful. Like me, they’ve avoided making them; not anymore. I’ve used either light grey or light blue thread unless I’m sewing really dark pieces. Love the hints you share; thank you.

  11. I recently purchased a bloc-loc plastic template to aid in trimming the sewn goose. It really works great and I can get the points like never before. It is a little pricey, but well worth it to me. You can also trim down squares with a square. I will soon be doing a Stars and Stripes lap quilt to donate. I am looking forward to trying it out on both parts of the star block.

Leave a Reply

