Winner of Guide to Quiltmaking & “Summery” batiks!

Happy Monday, Friends.  I hope you are doing well.  I am happy to announce the winner of the giveaway of Guide to Quiltmaking.  You can read about my review here.  Thank you to all of you who entered the giveaway by sharing about your quilting and teaching stories.  I am sorry I haven’t been able to respond to each of you.

IMG_0755

The winner is Sylvia Strange (#11).  Congratulations, Sylvia.  An email was sent to you asking for your mailing address.  Please email me directly if you haven’t received the email.

winner

I am sorry I can’t give everyone a copy of this wonderful book.  Landauer Publishing is currently running a July in Christmas sale on all their books, including this newly released Guide to Quiltmaking (pdf). Click here to see the list of books on sale.

Meanwhile, we are experiencing the heat!  The rain is gone (so I don’t need a boat after all, ha!), but now we sort of need a portable igloo… all that to share with you these beautiful summery batiks by Island Batik!  These fabrics are from their Flower Fields collection!  Do check out their complete range of fabrics!  I think these fabrics would be perfect to make the cover quilt on Guide to Quiltmaking, don’t you?

IMG_0784

That flower fabric on the top is absolutely gorgeous!  But what really caught my attention is the “paisley” batik in the collection.  PAISLEY, I said!  And this particular fabric, the paisley is done in gray… my heart has gone afluttering again.  Check with you local quilt shops to see if they carry this beautiful line!

IMG_0788

Things are busy at my end.  I have been getting LOTS (like lots!) of fabrics that I will be sharing with you – that means lots of quilts to make!  I have been working lots (and playing Candy Land!), so stay tuned for details!

So – what is on your plate this week?  I have to start a new quilt, and finish one to ship.  But, I have to clear off my work list a bit before I can start on the quilts…  so, with that, off I go to work. Thanks for stopping by – hugs to you all!

7 thoughts on “Winner of Guide to Quiltmaking & “Summery” batiks!

  1. Love the batiks and I’m eager to see what you do with them!!! Who won Candyland???? LOL!!!!

    Trying to finish the binding on a baby quilt so I can move onto finish another quilt. I’ll NEVER get caught up! But you know that feeling!

  2. What a delightful and unexpected surprise! I just got home from my monthly quilt guild meeting and read your email. Thanks so much! I’ll enjoy the book and sharing it with my quilting friends.

    My mailing address is 2142 W. Chester School Rd., Chester, SC 29706.

    Sylvia Strange

    ClySyl@TruVista.net

    The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is not law. (Galatians 5:22-23 NIV)

    If you forward this e-mail, please delete the forwarding history, including my email address. Erasing the history helps prevent “spammers” from mining addresses and viruses from being propagated. Thank you.

  3. Candyland….yes, I do remember that fun game. I played “Sorry” with my grandson last week. We are tied at one each. We may need a playoff next time I see him. Summer has definitely set in……hot and humid here in middle TN. Perfect for sitting in front of the sewing machine with the a/c on.

  4. Hi Wendy – I see you are busy as usual. Batiks are a favorite of mine too. Lots been going on here at home…but I am back to sewing again :)

  5. I was just browsing Landauer’s Christmas in July sale. Temptation, temptation. Love those batiks. They would look wonderful in my latest batik project.

  6. Congrats to Sylvia!! You know how much I LUV paisleys and this one is gorgeous!!!! Some simple pot holders for gifts on tap for today and then some ideas lurking in my mind that are of the “Mod” variety…..still in the sketchbook stage! Warm or cool….the stitching continues at a frantic(!) pace, hmmmmm?????? Hugs, SSAB

  7. We stopped to pick up the mail as we came home from church tonight, and I was delighted to find the book—couldn’t wait to look through it. It’s a great book—clear instructions, good pictures, and practical, helpful tips! After I spend a few days with it, I will donate it to our quilt guild’s library so others can benefit from it too. Thank you so much!

    PS My typing leaves much to be desired J. I hit the wrong key when I sent you my address. It is 2152 W. Chester School Rd. instead of 2142. Our rural mail carrier is a wonderful lady who does a lot of extras for the customers on her route…

    Sylvia Strange

    ClySyl@TruVista.net

    Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. Romans 12:12

    Please be email friendly.

    If you forward this e-mail, please delete the forwarding history, including my email address. Erasing the history helps prevent “spammers” from mining addresses and viruses from being propagated. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

