Sheer Sherbet : Preview

Happy Monday, Friends!  I hope you are doing well. I came through a rather stressful weekend trying to finish a quilt to ship this morning.  It’s really not a hard quilt, but for some reason, I kept making dumb mistakes.  A friend told me that happened to her a couple of weeks ago — and I guess it was my turn over the weekend.  BUT… I did get it done!  What’s the loss of a few hours of sleep especially when one gets to work with these Sherbet-ish fabrics, right? So, from these fabrics,…

IMG_0740

…. four fabrics made it into the quilt!

IMG_0773

I tried out this cheerful variegated thread from Aurifil — and loved the effect.  The color is 4659 (I call it Peach Cobbler) in case you are interested and want to get some for yourself. Here is a close-up to show you the peachy effect of the variagated thred. :)

IMG_0774

There are way cooler quilting effects in Sheer Sherbert – can’t wait to share them with you! Thank you for stopping by.  I shall catch up with you later.

15 thoughts on “Sheer Sherbet : Preview

  1. Gorgeous combination! I love those batiks. I hope you will share more pictures of that quilt! And I would like to know what specifically your grey background you used. I am NOT brave when it comes to mixing batik and non batik.

  2. Sherbet is perfect for summer!! I’m anxious to see which other fabrics made the cut. The Peach Cobbler” thread is the perfect choice for the quilting. I’m on the search for it? Know the feeling, once on a roll of dumb mistakes, they are like rabbits and just keep multiplying. Tomorrow is a new day!!

  3. I see your sherbet was a hit!!! Really lovely and I can’t wait to see to see the other flavors! It is getting really hot here in NW Arkansas and sherbet sounds cool and refreshing!!!

  4. Love those fabrics. I’m putting a baby quilt together for a new granddaughter expected to arrive in September. I swear I looked at the picture of the pattern. I admit I’m not much into reading direction – lol – and maybe that’s my downfall. I sewed the 2 color sashing on all 56 blocks – thinking I could turn the block upside down to alternate the color arrangement. I didn’t notice that by doing that I put two pieces of sashing together instead of alternating. So I got out my design wall and trusty seam ripper and changed 28 blocks. Works better when you can see things as you go along. Hopefully, it’s a story I can tell Addison when she’s old enough!

  5. Your quilting is beautiful. I really like the peachy thread on your background. Hopefully the mistakes when in a hurry isn’t contagious. I’ve got to finish a quilt for a bridal shower today.

Leave a Reply

