Fanciful in MACHINE QUILTING LEVEL 2 Class

Level2b

Happy Monday, Friends!  I hope you had a lovely Father’s Day weekend.

I am happy to share with you today Fanciful, one of three “real” quilts included in my DVD or online machine quilting class, Machine Quilting Level 2, offered by Annies, with which you can practice the quilting skills you learn from the class presentation.  You will receive complete instructions, as well as full-sized applique templates, on how to construct the quilt top for Fanciful with the purchase of the class.

2199845900_04B_Fanciful

In constructing Fanciful, I mixed regular cotton quilting fabrics with batiks to see if I would like the effect.  The star blocks and the white and light taupe you see are of regular cotton quilting fabrics, while the rest are batik fabrics.  I have to say I am really pleased with the visual effect of mixing batiks and regular cotton fabrics in the same quilt. And of course, this exclusive project was designed with LOTS of quilting opportunities in mind… thus the vast expanse of negative space!

IMG_8260

IMG_8261

You will be able to see the quilting close-up in the class presentation toward the conclusion of the class as I walk you through on how I quilted all three of the real quilt projects presented in the class.

IMG_8264

IMG_8265

IMG_8266

IMG_0321

If you have been visiting here for a while, you will know that I am an Aurifil addict, specifically for their Mako 50 weight thread, with which I had quilted nearly all my quilts, including Fanciful. The batting used for this quilt is Hobbs Tuscany silk batting.

IMG_0322

IMG_0309

You may click here for a free preview of the class.  Of course, if you have any questions – you know where to find me. :)  I hope you are having a good summer.

IMG_0307

We are traipsing about here and there… while I am attempting to find time to work on some very exciting things for the coming Fall and the coming year.

IMG_0659

Thank you for stopping by.  I hope you have a lovely week!

9 thoughts on “Fanciful in MACHINE QUILTING LEVEL 2 Class

  1. I am slowly working on class one between other projects. I really like the use of regular cotton fabrics and batiks together. Such a temptress…LOL!!! Will have to get Class 2 to see how you achieved the lovely quilting!!!

  2. Sew much offered with your second class, Wendy. Projects are all beauties. Wonderful array in which to practice your techniques. Thanks for your friendly guidance.

  3. Combining the two fabric types adds so much interest and visual texture! A very lovely project and one that will definitely provide a wonderful teaching basis for your latest endeavor!!!

  4. Your quilt is gorgeous, Wendy. Glad you’ve discovered the joys of combining batiks and regular cottons. Happy summer!

  5. What a lovely quilt! My first thought was “anniversary gift with everyone signing the white areas in the stars”. Love your batik tulips!

  6. I am looking forward to having a little bit more success with quilting soon. My husband has just bought me a new Pfaff quilting machine. its got a wider throat and variable speed so I wont have my machine running away from me. I can’t wait for it to arrive and be able to play!!!! You never know, I may even master those feathers one day.

Leave a Reply

