There and Back…

I was there (i.e. Rogers Sewing Center aka Sewing Mother Ship), and now am back (i.e. Home) – all within the span of a few short days.  I had a wonderful time in Northwest Arkansas.  I had a couple of unexpected turns (including an almost 4 hour delay at the airport on my way there last Thursday), but they all worked out!  The sweet quilting ladies made it all worthwhile!  It was nice to catch up with old friends, and make new friends.  My only regret is that I didn’t have at least 30 minutes to spend with each one.  Thank you to everyone who came to my presentation and classes, and a HUGE thank you to the Rogers Sewing Center Team who made it all happen!  I am still mulling over in my mind the stories told to me, especially the creepy ones!!! 

FMQ

One of my college professors came to my presentation on Thursday night – talk about shock, surprise and absolute delight!  I commented to him that I must be eligible for the “Weirdest Chemical Engineering Alumni” award if there was one considering what I do now, compared to what I was trained to do.  I was a bit bummed out I didn’t get a picture with him.   But as it was, due to the flight delay I got there just in time to change, smooth down the wrinkles (!) and put on my lipstick and went out there to meet the group!   Mind you, I had been up since 2:30am that morning to get myself ready to go to the airport.  Nonetheless it turned out to be a most memorable day.  You can go to Rogers Sewing Center’s Facebook page to see more pictures.  And if you live in the area, and haven’t stopped by to meet Dan and Rhonda in person, you simply have to!  Mention my name, and they will give you the royal treatment… not that they don’t already treat anyone and everyone royally who walks through the door.  I owe them for the opportunities afforded to me in my quilting journey.  I wouldn’t have been able to do what I do without their encouragement and support all these years!

fmq2

So, I always optimistically think I am able to keep up with emails etc while I am traveling.  I never learn…. so, I will be playing catch up for the rest of the week.   Oh, I was also forced to remember how much I didn’t miss packing school snacks for Miss Baby while I was gone.  I don’t know why, but I never know just what to pack for snacks for Miss Baby…

inbox

But come back tomorrow and anytime this week, I will have a couple of editorial features to share with you, finally. It took a third round of photo shoot to finally get some decent pictures of a couple of quilts!  So, I will catch up with you tomorrow!

13 thoughts on “There and Back…

  1. It was great to see you again Wendy!! I look forward to watching for your next new designs! Hugs, Linda Yount

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. It looked like everyone had a great time at Rogers Sewing Center. Loved seeing the photos of you! Do you think you’ll do more teaching? (((hugs)))

  3. It is funny the school snacks….we usually sent 3. They could have one purchased snack (a prepackaged granola bar), a vegetable or fruit (grape tomatoes, raisins, blueberries, tangerine, orange, apple) and a homemade ( cookies, muffin, peanut utter and crackers, cheese and crackers, brownie, snack baggie of tra il mix or nuts) ….this really seemed to give variety. Something to tide them over in the morning and something with their sandwich and lastly , for after school. I have adult girls now and they still grab fruit and homemade muffins for their snacks.

  4. So good to see you Wendy!! Someday I’ll make some of those lovely things in your book, whenever my life settles down again! Glad you got home OK. See you next time :)!

  5. Loved sewing with you on Friday. My daughter a new quilter enjoyed receiving your signed book! Thanks again for coming and teaching I learned so much. What a blessing to my life. One of my favorite things about you is how you always graciously give God the glory for your talents and abilities and acknowledge those that helped you along your journey.

  6. Was great seeing you. Would have been better if I had not felt so ruff. I wish I would have taken your photo with your professor. Get some rest sometime. Thanks for coming. Bobbi

  7. It was so nice to finally meet you!!! Enjoyed the up close and personal with you and the quilts!!! Enjoyed the presentation!!

  8. “Sew” happy that your Rogers Center Event was a huge success. I know that everyone learned a great deal while having a wonderful time. I loved seeing the pictures and am envious of all who were able to participate. We are back home from our photo adventure to the Smokies, out of town company have gone home, we are back to reality. I no longer pack lunches for little one but am on duty each day for my husband. Happy week, Wendy!!

Leave a Reply

