A very hodge podgey Wednesday post!

Hello Friends, I am taking a little break from my last stretch of work marathon, and  decided to check in with you! I hope you have had a good day.

First all, I am very happy to share the news that my Star Struck  design won Benartex’s 2015 Fan Favorite!  You may download the pattern instructions here.  It’s always an honor and joy to be able to work with Benartex’s fabrics. You can read here the reason why Benartex is so special to me.

Star Struck with ribbon

Meanwhile, Mary wrote and asked me if I have been working on any cute projects.   Boy, have I ever!  I have been working on some sweet projects.  While I can’t really reveal the projects, I can share a sneak peek of one of the projects.

IMG_9736

And here is a conversation I had with my husband late one night while we were both working late… really late!

Me: I just realized I don’t have nearly as many pinks as I think I do!

Husband: I guess you can’t never have enough fabrics.

It was late… I was tired, and I really appreciated his kindness in not commenting about the huge stash of fabrics I already have.  Well, most of the fabrics you see in the picture below (and more not shown in the picture) made it into a recently completed project that finishes only at about 20″ x 40″.  It is going to be a fun project!

IMG_9733

And at lunch this afternoon, the first thing that jumped out at me was — the pebbles “background quilting design” on my Spode botanical plate!  Quiltingly pathethic, is it not? :) I think I have been working too much lately, ha!

IMG_9726

Thanks for letting me share these very mundane snippets with you.  I shall get back to work now.  I am curious though… what color fabrics are the fewest in your stash.

Oh – I almost forgot… A Mayo study was released today showing quilting and other arts and crafts activities helps with our brain power!  Click here to read more.  Now, I have the perfect excuse to badger everyone I know to start quilting, ha! :)

21 thoughts on “A very hodge podgey Wednesday post!

  1. Love the “hodge-podge” post!!!! Kinda like the one I recently put up!!!! Maybe it’s the Spring season……you, know, cleaning out gardens, cobwebs (wherever they reside!!! LOL!). I have the fewest true yellows. I have golds but sunny yellows are few…….. Now, on to the evening……

  2. You are so cute and so busy!! Congrats on the well deserved win. I loved A Red Letter day, also. I LOVE purple, blue, pink and red, and have most of those colors in my stash. Brown, green, yellow and orange are very small piles. Actually, yellow, and orange together equal less than 1/2 of the blue piles. Have a wonderful evening!

  3. HI love your hodge poge stuff lovely colors.I never outgrew my love of pink.My least favorite fabric it seems is brown and muddy shades I have stated working on trying new colors lately . my stash is out of control for sure giggle sigh.

  4. Rosemary here:
    Okay Wendy, this is great news about crafting and sewing are nourishment for the brain. I wonder if it is countered by caring for two 92 year olds. They are a handful.
    Congratulations on the big win. This quilt design is beautiful. I did down load the pattern but reading the pattern instructions made my brain hurt. SEE what I mean?
    I adore your pile of fabric. I have quite a mountain myself. You never know what lies in the future. We might need to barter, and since we have high quality fabric….

    Have a fun Thursday❤️

  5. Hi Wendy,

    Thanks so much for the information on the Mayo clinic study. I read it and found it quite interesting. I think that quilting is great, as it really can put your mind through some good math paces especially the more complex patterns.

    Love your blog, and all your great patterns and hints and tips

  6. Congratulations on a well-deserved win! Love that big pile ‘o pink!! I can say that most of the pink I have is hot pink…my granddaughter’s favorite color. I think the “affliction” of seeing quilting designs in odd places is one we all share!

  7. Congrats on the win! It is a beautiful pattern. I was at a conference recently and as I was walking down the hallway of the hotel I was trying to figure out how I could longarm the pattern into a continuous line. I recently put all my fabric onto pieces so they now stand up on a bookshelf. It is beautiful. When I did it I realized I have only 1 yellow and only 3 orange fabrics. Luckily I am pretty good at not picking up and keeping a huge stash.

  8. Congratulations!! On your much deserved win!! Wow!! All those luscious pink fabrics in one tiny quilt…….I can see another winner on the horizon. As I think of my stash I see lots of greens, pinks, reds, and beige to browns.

  9. Please let your husband know that fabrics, threads and many other notions are truly assets. To clarify, they are a worthwhile investment as cotton prices and prices of other quilty items keep increasing annually – BIG INCREASES! Seriously, you have an valuable asset in your fabrics!

    My stash is painfully low on yellow and orange. I used to have a good stash of pastels, but went thru all my pastel fabrics to make charity quilts one year and wiped those colors out.

    QuiltShopGal
    http://www.quiltshopgal.com

  10. Congratulations Wendy! I was tickled when I saw your quilt had won :) Pink used to be my smallest fabric color pile – until I fell in love with pinks/yellows/oranges together, and now I have tons of them. But not enough of course :*) I would say I am currently enhancing my purples stash. I was very much surprised to find so few purples in my stash during a recent reorganization binge! Since I LOVE purple, I began looking for them and quickly realized that it is not easy to find really beautiful purple fabrics in my local shops. I think it is like orange – very polarizing …. you either love it or hate it!

  11. Love this kind of post! Congratulations on your win!

    I’m smiling at seeing the quilting pattern on your plate. The current fabrics and glimpses of projects look very nice. You know I love pink!

    I just finished some valances and pillows this week that have been on my to-do list for a very long time. No pinks in them, though! I tried to have mercy on my menfolk by having one room without it.

Leave a Reply

