Behind the Scenes #1

I thought I would show you a few “must-haves” when I do pattern writing.  The following shot was taken a few days ago when I was writing instructions for a design where I had to account for more than 30 fabrics.

IMG_9561

I am not very gadgety — so, except for my computer, everything else is old-school.  See that day planner behind my coffee cup?  Yeah, I live under the rock!  And that cup of coffee — absolute must have especially when I am needing to focus for calculating yardages.

How about you?  Do you tend toward technology, or do you tend toward old-school, or do you find yourself right in the middle?

Thanks for stopping by.  I hope you have a great day!

25 thoughts on “Behind the Scenes #1

  1. Definitely “old school”. I’ve often thought about such programs as EQ7, etc, but thing there would be more added computer time generated and I love to quilt!!!!! (rather than piece) Maybe someday but for now, taking care of my blog and Fb is enough ‘puter time! Final tally for day #1 blog “views”=511!!!!!!!!

  2. If I am working out a design or trying to work out how someone elses block is constructed, then I use good old fashioned graph paper. I also use my computer to print out 4×4, 5×5 and 6×6 grids so that Ican play with block designs. If Ineed to make instruction sheets for my quilting group, then I use a desk top publishing package. I am a computer nerd and I can happily spend twice as long doing in technicallt as I probably could on paper!!! Does that make me sad?

  3. I depend on my EQ7. Love that program. if I see a pattern I like I can draw it up in that program and make it the size I want.

  4. Wendy, I am definitely old school,paper, graph paper, pencils, lists, and regular coffee with cream and sugar (no fancy stuff!). I do use a hand held calculator occasionally but usually check it with old school math. Works for me! :) Karen

    Ivory Spring wrote: > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com ivoryspring posted: “I thought I would show you a few “must-haves” when I do pattern writing.  The following shot was taken a few days ago when I was writing instructions for a design where I had to account for more than 30 fabrics. I am not very gadgety — so, except “

  5. I use a little of both, traditional (don’t like the word “old”) techniques and more contemprary techniques. I use graph paper, pencil and a massive eraser at times. I also find the computer programs are great to use. I recently upgraded to EQ7.

  6. Rosemary B here:
    Hi Wendy. happy wintery Thursday :-)
    I do not have a fancy computer program.
    I use graph paper and my favorite colored pencils
    and calculator. I had to buy a new calculator because my old one required for nursing school (back in dino days, the Ti25)
    died :-(
    I got a new one for $5 at Staples.
    I like coffee too. I drink a lot of green tea as well

  7. I have my handy AQS weekly calendar for my things to write down. There’s so much going on, I can’t see everything on my phone’s screen. (and I have a 5″ phone which is not small)

  8. Think that I am more “old school.” Pencil, colored pencils, paper, graph paper, flip phone…….what can I say? I can spend hours making something “just right” with fabrics and threads, with the computer, I have no patience. I leave that skill for my husband. I have switched from my long-time friendly Dayrunner to using the calendar and contacts on my iPad. It is so much more convenient than my decades-old, cumbersome old companion. Sorry Dayrunner.

  9. I am old school too. I think it is because I never grew out of the “coloring” stage of my life!!! I suppose I really don’t trust the technology and I know I can be correct when I do it myself and see it. lol

  10. I am so not techy! IF I had to write a pattern, I would need good old graph paper. But my brain does not go easily in that direction. I commend you and the other designers who can make up patterns and they actually work!!

  11. My first thought was “Miss Baby lets you use her markers?!?!?!”

    After the events of the last couple of days, I’m glad I still know how to do the paper and pencil method. Tuesday I got up, sat down in this chair with my cup of coffee, and my internet said, “what? you need something”. Talk about feeling naked. Glaring at all this equipment didn’t seem to solve the problem. It wasn’t until I unplugged the power, and pushed the only available button (what does it do?) on the modem yesterday that my internet connection resumed.

    Yes, I still paper and pencil. When I started quilting, I took quilting classes through the community college available where I lived in California. At that time, classes were $2-3 for 12-16 weeks/1 class per week course. We learned to draft blocks, make cardboard/sandpaper templates, design our own quilting patterns, quarter inch seams… I can’t remember what all. So, when I look at a quilt, I dissect it as I would have done in those days. And I love to design my own patterns.

  12. When it comes to designing quilts, I still use graph paper. If I really need to see color placement, I color with colored pencils. I doodle with pencil and paper a lot, and those sometimes become quilting motifs. I do love my iPad, but don’t design on it. Someday, if I ever get a computer again, I would consider purchasing EQ7.

  13. OLD SCHOOL RULES! My only modern electical gadget is a solar powered calculator. I have 6 different kinds of graph paper, colored pencils, several kinds of erasers, mechanical pencils, scrap paper and my brain to design my quilts. I don’t even know the geometry formulas to figure out angles/lengths. I just draw a shape and measure it with my omnigrid rulers. My methods don’t fail me and I’ve won a lot of blue ribbons with my designs. So I guess old school is what works for me.
    Take care dear friend!
    dj

  14. I am very old school. I would rather write things down on paper then make lists on my phone, etc. I still have an old school address book and everyone in my family has to call me for the right address even though they think they put them in their computer or phone…
    I do use a calculator/adding machine.

  15. I am going kicking and fighting into our 21st century…it’s about time I would say. I have taught myself how to use EQ7 for most of my quilting needs, and finally have figured out ( and like) to use my iPhone as my calendar, and address book for the most part too…very handy to have once you get used to it.

  16. I love EQ7. and for the most part, it works for me. I do occasionally need to get the markers and colored pencils out, though. And it’s hot chocolate with whipped cream or water, and a few Dove dark chocolate promises when I need to concentrate. Or anytime, really. Nice to see how you work!

  17. Wendy, I am a geek at heart! I joke I know just enough about computers to be dangerous. lol. But I have a paper calendar that I keep all my happenings. I’ve tried with my phone, computer and it just doesn’t work for me. I like the physical writing and drawing. When I calculate yardage, it is with a calculator, tho the calculator is on my phone! I use graph paper to draw out the design and color pencils to color it in. Have a great day!

  18. I start pen and paper, go to touchdraw or something like that to firm up my idea and end up in eq7 for yardage and rotary cutting. Can’t seem to use just one thing!

Leave a Reply

