Happy Birthday, General Washington!

And that should be a great start for a new week for all of us, eh?

IMG_9484

Those who know me also know that I have a fondness for history, especially the Colonial American history.  Because of that, I never tire of learning about the beloved General’s life.   If we don’t know our history, we won’t know where we are headed.  My belief remains steadfast… generations – ours and upcoming – need to learn real and unbiased history, and the General’s life is a great place to start.

Click here to see how well you know about General Washington quiz.  I scored 93% — so obviously I have more learning to do!

Click here to read some interesting facts on General Washington.

Click here to read about the day set aside to remember the General’s birthday.

Click hereherehere, and here to read about past Washington’s birthday posts on Ivory Spring.

And legend has it Lady Washington had a Japanese Fruit Pie (a staple at the Ivory Spring household) made for the General for one of his birthday.   Click here for the recipe.

Over the years, I have thought about words I would use to describe General Washington.  This year, my words to describe him are understated elegant.  I have been reading up on the General’s life as a designer and architect, and his pursuits of things artistic this past year, and one thing I came away with was that General Washington was a man of details.  His keen interest in details reflect him as a complex man, with lots of depth, but never ostentatious nor tacky — just elegant!

What one word or words would would you use to describe the General in honor of the day set aside to remember his birthday?

Thanks for stopping by!  I hope you have a lovely week ahead.  Those who are stuck in the deep freeze (like me!), do stay warm and safe.

8 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, General Washington!

  1. After looking at the pie recipe, I can see why it is so yummers. If I ate it all day (which I could do too), I would be shaped like a coconut! Mount Vernon was an interesting place to visit.

  2. Thanks for sharing such an informative post. I went through most of the links and learned a lot. We have been to Mount Vernon since my dad used to live right down the road. That is a beautiful area. The recipe was very interesting. I do not know if dear hubby would like it since he is not wild for raisins in cooked food. Yes, we need to be more mindful of our roots and the accuracy of the things we accept. It is a shame how history has been changed and negated. Thanks for another good and thoughtful post.

  3. Have you been to Crystal Bridges Art Museum in Bentonville? If you haven’t you need to stop there when you are in town in April. There are some wonderful paintings of the General there!

  4. I was reading an article about Lincoln this morning, an it said, among other things, that he liked cats and was up on the technology of his day (the telegraph). I think understated elegance descr9bes what I know of Washington well.

  5. Your posts on Washington’s birthday are my favorites. Thank you!! I too think I will try the Japanese Fruit Pie….perhaps on Feb. 22. : )

Leave a Reply

