Malady, Mistakes, Momentary Setback, Motivation!

Hello Friends, I have been working with these fabrics, and they are entirely related to my drama earlier this week, though not responsible.  am to be blamed.

IMG_9340

Malady — Over the weekend, I had a relapse of my flu I had a few weeks ago.  So I was back to the head pressure, Muscle aches etc.  You get the idea.  But then since I had looming deadlines, and the fact that I wasn’t flat on my back… I kept going.

MistakesMonday Morning, I was feeling pretty good about my quilt top because all I had left was 5-6 blocks, and I would be able to get the quilt done within the next 12 hours or so…. until I noticed 24 of the completed blocks had to be redone due to glaring Mistakes!!!  What a Mess!  Don’t get me wrong — the construction had been so Much fun!  The quilt is a fun quilt, I promise!!!

[Are you seeing all my M words yet?! HA.]

Momentary setback — I had planned to have the quilt completed and shipped yesterday!  The thought of having to take out stitches and redoing all 24 blocks sent me straight to the depths of the Mires of Melancholy. There was quite a bit of feeling sorry going around in our house that day. My husband felt sorry for me.  Miss Baby felt sorry for me.  I felt sorry for me.

Motivation — An editorial assignment is something to be Made happen – and that is the Motivation I needed to keep going on!  So, Many hours later (the un-stitching and re-stitching took the longest), and Motivational speeches directed to myself, I have a sneak preview for you!

IMG_9344

I have to say that I am thankful for the editorial assignments in my life – because they Make sure I complete My quilts!  And that brings up to My next series of questions…

#1.  What you would have done if the quilt wasn’t for work, per se… would you just set the quilt aside for a while and work on something else and then come back to face the Music?

#2.  What tactics you have employed to help you get past Multiples Mistakes you spot on a quilt top — do you just leave them as they are, or do you embark on an un-stitching crusade?

#3.  If you are the type that sets aside the quilt, what do you do to get yourself back to the project?

Thanks for stopping by – please note the humorous undertone of this post!  I am not about to jump off a cliff (though the thought Might have flashed through My Mind for a Millisecond). Hugs to you all.  Till next time!

31 thoughts on “Malady, Mistakes, Momentary Setback, Motivation!

  1. can’t wait to see the finished quilt. When I’m working on something , for someone else, and find myself with problems, I leave it , sleep on it, come back the following day with fresh eyes .
    Don’t be too hard on yourself and take care, stay (get) well.

  2. I feel for you. Trying to get a project done when you are under the weather is so difficult. I remember thinking, while I was still working, that if I could just crawl under my desk and sleep for a while I’d be better. As for the quilting, if I was on a time schedule, I’d unsew, if I was doing it for myself it would be folded up and put OUT OF SIGHT! Hope you feel better soon, Wendy.

  3. Great post. Sorry you had to go through such a struggle. I can not even imagine anything you would quilt that would be bad enough to have to take out. Did your hubbie confirm this decision? ; ) I hope you will be completely well soon. Have a good rest of the week.

  4. Oh poor you with the flu again. I do hope you feel better soon. Well if I had a deadline I would have done just what you did but if not I would have ripped it out and gone to bed LOL.
    Hugs

  5. I would have gone with solution #1 … sometimes, I just have to walk away from it for awhile. The funny thing is, I admire your work so much, that I had never imagined your going through a rough patch. Hang in there! We love your work.

  6. Wendy, sorry to hear your Malady returned. Hope you’re up to par quickly. As for the mistakes: if many block have the same mistake I try to see if the mistake could be incorporated into the design, otherwise I just start unstitching, I cannot put the project aside, I must work on fixing it immediately or it will be nagging at me until I do. This is how I deal with these situations. I know your project will turn out beautiful, as always. Take good care of yourself. Karen

    Ivory Spring wrote: > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com ivoryspring posted: “Hello Friends, I have been working with these fabrics, and they are entirely related to my drama earlier this week, though not responsible.  I am to be blamed. Malady — Over the weekend, I had a relapse of my flu I had a few weeks ago.  So I was b”

  7. We have all been there. It doesn’t pay for me to try to sew when I don’t feel well. I always end up ‘unstitching’! Can’t wait to see the finished quilt.

  8. Oh my dear!!! It sounds like you have been through the ringer this week. I hope you are feeling better. The sneek preview looks wonderful, but it must have been a real challenge to overcome. I am one that has to redo My Mistakes right away. If I put it away I might never get back to it. ;-)

  9. Oh, that sounds painful in so many ways. For myself…no, could not leave it. Have tried this in the past and I then feel somewhat compelled to keep looking at it. My perfectionist streak will not allow me to leave it. I don’t know about you, but even with minor things…once I noticed them I have to fix them. Hope the rest of the week goes better.

  10. Wendy, please take care of yourself–there’s only one of you! As someone who is totally (and sometimes ONLY) motivated by deadlines, I understand. Usually, I put things aside for a bit, if there’s time, but usually, my trusty seam ripper and I have serious bonding time. I’m generally sorry if I leave in imperfections, as they have a way of being magnified later on in the process.

  11. I feel so sorry that you had to work while sick. Deadlines should have a “mercy clause” in them. As to my mistakes, if they become too frustrating, I will shelve them for while but later return when my bad mood is gone. In general, if I’m not too angry with it, I’ll just rip out then and there and fix it. I hope you take care of yourself and get better soon.

  12. Can’t wait to see the finished product.  I guess I would keep going and made it a new design. No one knows if you haven’t shared a previous  drawing.  Hope you feel better soon. 

    Sew to make someone happy!

    Tea quiltbible.blogspot.com

    From:”Ivory Spring” Date:Wed, Feb 4, 2015 at 2:31 PM Subject:[New post] Malady, Mistakes, Momentary Setback, Motivation!

    ivoryspring posted: “Hello Friends, I have been working with these fabrics, and they are entirely related to my drama earlier this week, though not responsible.  I am to be blamed. Malady — Over the weekend, I had a relapse of my flu I had a few weeks ago.  So I was b”

  13. Sorry to hear you were feeling bad, that really makes finding mistakes a problem. But it would depend on the mistake, mismatched seams or points, rip it out. A design error, if it is consistent and you can make a new pattern with it, go for it. As we say in machine embriodery, it’s just a design change. In fact the quilt I am currently working on, I discovered I put one of the pieces(4patch) that create the block in turned wrong, but since it was at the first, I just decided that is the way the block is supposed to look and kept on going. Now I have a new block and it won’t affect the overall quilt since noone knows what it’s supposed to be to begin with.

    Happy Stitching
    pklein

  14. If the errors are in the piecing, I spend the time taking out the errors. Tedious, yes, but I figure that I learned something from making the errors and want to have the quilt top look the best that I can. If it is a FMQ error and I catch it early, I take it out. Otherwise, I let it ride and go on. I prefer to pick out the erroneous seam in the evening while watching tv with my husband. If I do it during the day, I tend to think I’ve wasted my quilting time. Silly, but I guess I like to know I’ve made a little progress during the day. I work on only one quilt top and interrupt the progress if I want to do a little project.

    The fabric choices for your new project looks beautiful.

  15. I am so sorry you were feeling terrible and still had work to do and those mistakes didn’t help. The top is beautiful. What would I have done? First I would have cried. Moaned and groaned. Then depending on the mistake, I mean could you see it from a galloping horse?, I would have: A. Kept going and ignored it. B. Do something creative with the mistake. (Mistakes are just design possibilities.) C. Put it aside as a UFO. I have so many, by the time I got back to it, I most likely would have forgotten the mistake and moved on. D. Ripped and Redo. As the last resort. I am not a perfectionist and dislike signs of that trait showing up in me. I’m a live and let live kind of woman and that philosophy shows up in my quilts and quilting. Since I’ve worked on my accuracy, I will rip sooner than I used to…

  16. So sorry to hear about your relapse with the flu. It’s definitely a nasty little bug!!! How frustrating to find, after stitching several blocks, that they are all wrong. Ugh!! I, too, would have unstitched them “right now.” As frustrating as it is, the sooner that the error gets corrected, the better. Hope that everything is progressing after that “bump in the road.”

  17. You are precious. Many of us have been bitten by the nasty flu-bug and or lung infections. I feel for keeping on, keeping on. I couldn’t have The preview is lovely and as for me, when I find I’ve made a mistake I stop and repair. I love you work. Thank you for sharing.

  18. Oh wow. My heart goes out to you. If a project like that were not for work or a gift, I would probably put it away for a while until I got over my frustration. But then there would be a danger of not getting back to it – I am ashamed I have done that with a frustrating project or two. Really probably the best thing is just to dig in and get the difficult parts done (or redone, in this case. :) ) I have learned that off and on over the years – when something is unpleasant or difficult I used to keep putting it off, but now I know it is better to just go ahead and get it done – at least that way I don’t feel like it’s still hanging over my head.

    I’m sorry about your relapse and hope you are feeling better.

  19. My previous working life always found me more productive if I had a deadline to motivate me. I spent one morning this week at retreat chain piecing 32 blocks incorrectly for a mystery quilt! I’ve decided to wait and see if I can incorporate my “design choice” into the overall pattern…if not…I will be unsewing this weekend!

    Hope you are on the mend!

  20. Wendy, hope you are feeling better soon! My eye was caught by the black and brown leaf patterned fabric. I think it’s just what I’ve been looking for to make a certain pattern I picked up at Road to California this year. Would you mind telling me the manufacturer or designer of that fabric?
    marilynrobin at gmail.com

  21. So sorry that those dang germies attacked you again and hurray for pushing through and getting it done. As for me it would totally depend on who the quilt was for, just how bad the mistakes were and what they looked like (maybe I’d like the new look better) and completely how much those oops bothered me. That last bit is what would be the final determining factor.

  22. Hope your feeling better and that’s your last relapse. I’m like you, rip out and start again I’m one of those people who finish my project before starting another so I’ve got to do what I have to before I start a new project.

  23. BTDT (Been There, Done That). I am THE queen of unstitching, Wendy, and I still hold that title. So, blame it on the flu. And speaking of flu, I’m glad to hear you’re all better. When my blocks go wrong, I make potholders and pincushions and give them away; that makes me feel better. Take care, Wendy.

  24. We must be kindard sisters. . .I had a return of the flu too! YUCK! Glad you are better! I’m better too.
    Answer to #1: I wouldn’t set the quilt aside with a known mistake without some kind of plan because all that plays in my head is . . .ohh dear. . .just you wait. . .Miles and Miles of “fix it” await.
    Answer to #2: If they are glaring Mistakes, I think about:
    why they happened so I don’t journey down that road again anytime soon;
    did I just create a new design option and the mistake can stay? (generally NOT!)
    do I have enough fabric to remake the “areas”? (sometimes)
    am I going to fix it? (Most likely!)
    Then whatever the decision, I tell myself what a Magical journey I’m having! :)
    Answer to #3: Generally, I’ll set aside a project because another project has a deadline or is just itching to get out of my head. I will give a project a “rest” if it is giving me a hard time; but, not a set aside. . .unless the set aside means it is going to be composted into something else!

  25. Wow, talk about a case of “Alexander’s Terrible,Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day”! It seems like it’s always the projects that are very important and/or on deadline that always have these types of problems. My solution would depend on the project: most times I’d walk away until a cooler and more focused head (or the urgent deadline priority) could prevail. I’ll admit though that with some projects I’m so determined not to let the quilt get the best of me that I do what you did and just hunker down and push to “get ‘er done”!!

    If you’re really lucky, what seems like (or sometimes is) a “glaring mistake” can sometimes be converted to a “design opportunity” and a slight change of direction can save you some re-do work. Fortunately you got through it all and lived to quilt another day!!

Leave a Reply

