Joy of Needle and Thread: Part 4

IMG_7854

Hello Friends, it’s time for another Joy of Needle and Thread update.  I had shared with you before Christmas last year the Christmas ornament Miss Baby stitched for my sister for a handmade gift exchange.

IMG_8149

Ever since that ornament, Miss Baby managed to finish stitching for herself two more Christmas ornaments before the end of 2014. These ornaments are quite small – about 2 1/2″ x 3 1/2″ finished.

IMG_9196

The Christmas tree stitching is just a repeat of the one she stitched for my sister, except we added more colors, and an extra “tree layer”.

IMG_9193

Miss Baby used a chart for the first time to stitch this adorable bird.  Her comment to me was, “Mom, this is good for Math.”  She meant the counting part of reading the cross-stitch chart was good for her Math skills, ha!  As she was stitching along, she also told me it was amazing to see the stitches come alive in the picture.

IMG_9197

Here is a sneak peek of Miss Baby’s current project — for her new cousin:

IMG_9189

Thanks for stopping by!  My joy is indescribable as I see the next generation enjoying needle and thread.

***

For past Joy of Needle and Thread post, click herehere, and here.

23 thoughts on “Joy of Needle and Thread: Part 4

  1. Such a joyful and exciting time for both of you. It gives me such a happy feeling, the memorable time that you are sharing. A lifetime of wonderful memories. Miss Baby’s work is gorgeous. I’m impressed with her patience. The most precious gifts, for both the giver and the receiver, are the ones that are handmade with love tucked inside. Thanks for sharing these special moments.

  2. I’m so proud of her, and of you. To think that she already gets the connection for fun crafts and learning. Such a smart cookie! Hugs to you both.

  3. she is amazing . . . . a needle and thread protige ( that’s probably mis-spelled) Ask Miss Baby, I can’t imagine what she’ll be doing a a few more years! You are a very good teacher.

  4. What precious counted cross stitching that she I done. She is definitely taking after her mother. WHAT A JOY to see Miss Baby doing this.

  5. I looked for the “Love” button but, finding none, settled for “Like”! Please, pass along to Ms Baby (she isn’t! any longer!) my highest regards for her skills as a needle artist. Hugs……Doreen

  6. This is so good to see!! In this day of people glued to their I-phones it is inspiring to know that hand made crafts are being passed on. It warms my heart to see the next generation learning what we prize. Great job, Wendy!!

  7. Very nice work from this precious young lady. I can feel how thrilling it must be for you. Way to go Wendy for the part you are playing in bringing handwork alive in Miss Baby. I lived with my stepmother and father for a short couple of years as a teen. My step mother saw a gift in me for the artistic. She encouraged it and provided the means for me to try things. Then in my 20’s working with my hands became a big part of my life. I went on to sell my crafts at parties and have a store for about 16 months. After that I settled on quilting, then card making, then wool work. It has been a lifesaver as I have had to deal with chronic illness the last 12 years. I cannot imagine my life without it. I have written blogs about this issue with the hopes of encouraging others to step out into the realm of working with your hands, I feel so strongly about its benefits. I have one person who saw the gift in me to thank for it. Thanks for being one of those people also. You may never know how many you have encouraged along this journey. Many blessings to you. Leslie

  8. What a wonderful job Miss Baby’s doing! These are lovely! I understand how this makes you feel. My daughter took some sewing/quilting classes when she was a young teen. I’m hoping that someday she’ll come back to it. What I really hope is that she finds the same joy in needle & thread as I do. It’s a wonderful thing to have. o:)

Leave a Reply

