The descendants who are blessed and bless…

Hello Dear Friends,  I hope you have had a blessed Christmas celebration!   This Christmas I have been struck by the importance of leaving a legacy of faith and encouragement to those who come behind us. 12_25_2014d You can imagine my absolute thrill and delight when Nancy (a Henry Longfellow descendant) left the following comment on my Christmas 2014 blog post where I had shared the words of I heard the bells on Christmas Day. The song was sung at our church the weekend before we left town for Christmas. I thought it worthwhile to share Nancy’s comment in case you had missed it: “Wendy…Blessings of the Season! I love reading all of your posts. Especially this Christmas post. I am a Henry Wadsworth Longfellow Descendant on my Grandfather’s side. Henry wrote the above poem during the Civil War as he felt a great sadness for those who fought in the conflict. His own son Charlie entered the War and suffered a serious injury. Henry traveled to his son’s bedside and nursed him back to health. Henry wrote his Civil War Poem explaining his own sadness and the families that were suffering the same. The poem was eventually set to music by an English Organist John Paptiste Calkin who used it as a church processional and this has been a long standard for numerous years. Even today, hundreds of popular modern day singers have recorded the above song/poem which also includes the amazing Mormon Tabernacle Choir. Elvis Presley, Johnny Cash and many more popular well known singers. Happy New Year!” In a similar quilty situation  a couple of years ago, Deborah had left a comment about being the descendant of Elizabeth Ann Darst.  Elizabeth Darst made a most stunning blue and white sunburst quilt which now belongs to DAR Museum.  I was able to attend a special event where quilters were able to view in person DAR quilts that were not normally on display. sunburst1 sunburst1 SunburstDeborah wrote the following: “I’m delighted that the quilt was featured in the exhibition, and that you found it so inspirational – Elizabeth Ann Darst was my 3xgreat-grandmother, and the quilt passed down to my cousin Jenny Holden, who donated it to the DAR. The quilt also mentioned in the book which was made by Elizabeth’s mother, Martha (Harness) Darst, passed down to my aunt Constance Hart Wulfman, and I had the pleasure of seeing both “in the flesh” several times, and seeing them on display when they were featured in the DAR’s “NewThreads” exhibition in 2007-2008. I was also privileged to accompany my aunt when she presented the Martha Darst quilt to the DAR. It was a hard decision for both my cousin and my aunt to part with the quilts, but I know that they will be thrilled to learn that they are bringing such pleasure to so many people. Thanks for your kind words on our family treasures!” *** SUCH are the examples of multi-generational blessings!  At any given time, I hope you will be heartened by the knowledge that the crafts that you so enjoy, and the gifts you lovingly make and give away will hopefully play a part in blessing your descendants so that they in turn can bless and inspire others.  Connecting with the past through quilts and needlework has been my passion, and it will continue through all my years! Thank you for stopping by.  I will be posting about another feature quilt tomorrow, and after that, we will have our annual Ivory Spring 2014 recap posts – they will run past the New Year, but we will have great fun with them! Till tomorrow, dear Friends!

9 thoughts on “The descendants who are blessed and bless…

  1. It is always a thrill when paths cross….the past with the present and, in your case, you and Nancy and Deborah. Imagine how many such crossings have occurred without our awareness! There are no coincidences or accidental happenings but all are orchestrated/ordained that we might be enriched. Lovely share……………………..

  2. So nice of these women to take the time to leave such lovely comments. It’s also a tribute to how important your blog postings are in their lives.

  3. Fascinating post. How interesting that relatives of the Longfellow Poem and the DAR Quilt connected and responded. One never knows how our lives will touch the lives of others. It may be through words or it may be something tangible. Having been a school teacher for many years I often wonder how I touched the lives of my students. My only hope is that it was, in some small way, positive.

    Have a wonderful 2015 Wendy, and please continue to inspire us with your thoughts and your creativity.

  4. I loved how these ladies with such a wonderful knowledge of their family heritage have reached out and shared with you. I was thinking the same as Joyce commented above, a person has no idea of how many people you can reach, but you give of yourself your talents and love of the craft, and most of all the love of the Lord. Thank you for your bright, cheery presence on my computer, and for so many others, Wendy. Hope you all have a blessed New Year!
    hugs, pokey

  5. It is so exciting to have had both of these ladies leave the comments. They were a thrill to read, but I also find it so interesting that they were generous enough to share their stories with all of us. We never know who reads our blogs, do we? Thank you for sharing with us.

Leave a Reply

