Holiday Blog Blitz: Merry Christmas and Recipe

Dear Friends!  I hope you have been well.  I am happy to be part of SewCalGal‘s Holiday Blog Blitz.

holiday blog blitz badge

Click on the participants’ blogs to read the bloggers share about Christmas and a recipe:

SewCalGal – www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com
Stitch This (Martingale) – http://blog.shopmartingale.com/
Leah Day – The Free Motion Quilting Project – http://freemotionquilting.blogspot.com/
Wendy Sheppard (Ivory Spring) – https://ivoryspring.wordpress.com/
Marjorie Busby (Blue Feather Quilt Studio) – http://b-quilts.com/blog/
Jeannette Jones (Inchworm Fabrics) – http://inchwormfabrics.blogspot.com/
Barb Gaddy (Bejeweled Quilts) – http://www.bejeweledquilts.blogspot.com/
The Electric Quilt Company (Behind The Mouse – The Electric Quilt Blog) – http://doyoueq.com/blog/

*****

Christmas 2013

There is a lot of excitement at my end, as it is only 3 days away from Christmas.  We have had a very fun month celebrating Christmas at the Ivory Spring household.  From getting ready for performing on stage to share the Good News,

IMG_8223

…the music of Christmas,

christmas

… the decorations,

IMG_8386

IMG_7533

IMG_4804

IMG_8337

IMG_8322

ornaments1

IMG_8149

…the baking,

IMG_8138

… the crafts,

IMG_8479

IMG_8418

IMG_8169

Gingerbread House1

… to the anticipation (each day),

IMG_4466

… all for my little family to ponder, appreciate and believe once again the reason for the season!

christmas2

IMG_4801

behold the lamb

O come to my heart, Lord Jesus,
There is room in my heart for Thee.

excerpted from There is Room in my Heart for Thee, by Emily Elliot (1864)

***

Recipe: Double Chocolate Chip Cookies (from Christmas with Southern Living 1997)

chocolate-chip-cookies1

2 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup butter

2 tablespoons instant coffee granules

1 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1 large egg

1 egg yolk

1 (11.5 oz) package semisweet chocolate mega-morsels (I used dark chocolate chips)

1 cup walnut halves, toasted (I used chopped pecans)

chocolate-chip-cookies2

1. Combine first 3 ingredients; stir well.

2. Combine butter and coffee granules in a small saucepan or skillet. Cook over medium-low heat until butter melts and coffee granules dissolve, stir occasionally. Remove from heat, and let cool to room temperature.

3. Combine butter mixture, sugars, egg, and egg yolk in a large bowl. Beat at medium speed of an electric mixer until blended. Gradually add flour mixture, beating at low speed just until blended. Stir in mega morsels and walnuts.

4. Drop dough by heaping tablespoonfuls 2″ apart onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake at 325 F for 12-14 minutes. Let cool slightly on cookie sheets. Remove to wire racks to cool completely.

***

So, do you have a favorite Christmas cookie?  If so, what is it?

Thank you for stopping by.  I hope you have a most blessed week.  Hugs to you all.

13 thoughts on “Holiday Blog Blitz: Merry Christmas and Recipe

  1. Your Christmas decorating is just beautiful, Wendy. The cookies look delicious too. I can feel the calm and beauty of the season as I scroll down the page. You have truly captured the reason for the season. May you and your family have a blessed Christmas.

  2. I hope Miss Baby (and you and your husband) have a very Merry Christmas. Such fun to go thru Christmas and see it from the eyes of a child. Love all your decorations. Looks like a photo shoot opportunity for a magazine (hint, hint). And your recipe looks yummy. Thank you. Chocolate Chip cookies are my husbands favorite so I look forward to making your recipe for him.

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

  3. I so enjoyed the pictures… Especially of Miss Baby taking a picture of the nativity. Made me smile the most. My wish is for everyone to know the reason for the season. Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  4. Thanks for sharing your beautiful traditions with us! Christmas has a way of making us all feel like kids again, if we can ignore the hustle and bustle part!

    I’ve been making Oatmeal Crispies every year for Christmas since the ’70’s! First with my mom, and then on my own thru the years. The recipe is from the old Better Homes & Gardens cookbook, which has been a staple in my kitchen for more years than I care to admit!

    Christmas Blessings to you and yours!

  5. Wonderful traditions and memories for your little one. Those are the things they hang onto and then carry on to their own family one day.
    My family love Almond Crescents been making them for 53 years.
    Have a Blessed Christmas to you and your family.
    Hugs Bunny

  6. So many wonderful things have happened this past month in the Ivory Spring household in anticipation of Christmas. How I would love to see your home and festivites in their entirety. This special, blessed time is evident in your photos.

    Your cookie recipe, my husbands’s favorite kind, sounds decadent. My favorite holiday cookie is a family recipe for cutout cookies from my Grandmother. I suspect that she brought it from Austria over one hundred years ago when she and my Grandfather came to America. I made a batch for my family today……yummy!

  7. What a sweet post! I love your traditions and the cookies sound wonderful. My favorite recipe is the basic Spritz, and I make a double batch. Half the batch, I press with a round disk, and dip in melted chocolate and sprinkles. The rest I add green food coloring and use the tree disk, and add some sprinkles or colored sugar. It’s about having fun! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

