To Market and BACK!

Hello Friends! I hope you are well. I have quite the traveling adventure this time around — a constantly screaming child on the plane for three hours, a guy at the waiting lounge moaning about forgetting his comb on his trip (I was forced to listen in on his side of the conversation because he was talking so loudly!), delayed flights etc! I enjoy watching people at airports, so I didn’t quite mind the aforementioned hiccups in air travel!

IMG_5810

The acclaimed red and white quilt exhibit is at Market this year – an overwhelmingly amazing collection.

1901801_868813033137592_5357771672304941423_n

And there were hundreds upon hundreds of quilts in addition displayed in the special exhibit hall.  Many of them are documented in this book, 500 Traditional Quilts by Karey Bresenhan. Photography was not allowed – so, I just bought the book.  You may purchase the book here.

download

Following are just some of the pictures I managed to snap here and there about 40 minutes before I headed out to come home.  I hope the pictures, which by no means exhaustive, will give you a glimpse of the workmanship, displays, colors, and just the general hustle and bustle on the floor.

IMG_5841

IMG_5842

IMG_5843

IMG_5846

IMG_5868

IMG_5870

IMG_5860

IMG_5864

IMG_5866

IMG_5859

IMG_5858

More about this cute fox later!

IMG_5855

IMG_5849

IMG_5863

IMG_5838

IMG_5847

IMG_5869

IMG_5865

IMG_5818

And at Landauer’s Publishing‘s booth…. there is a little section set aside for Recreating Antique Quilts!

IMG_5875

Dear friend Annelle emailed me about seeing pictures from my Schoolhouse session on Recreating Antique Quilts here on Fat Quarter Shop’s instagram page.  The Fat Quarter Shop team has posted an unbelievable collection of Market photos!  Check out their Instagram page for more photos!!

Click here to enter the giveaway of a copy of Recreating Antique Quilts if you haven’t already!

instagram

I skipped out a bit early on Market, but I was there and back!  I am exhausted, and I still have to unpack, sort through business cards and catalogs, catch up with laundry and meal plans, and get back to my “real” life!!

If you asked me what my favorite part of Market was — Besides meeting and making new friends, it was being able to meet the wonderful people in the industry with whom I work FACE TO FACE!  The personal contact solidifies the friendships for even more adventures!  With that, I shall sign off for the day!  Have a great week.

24 thoughts on “To Market and BACK!

  1. Awesome ‘share’!!! I imagine you will “rejoin” us without missing a beat, though!!! Flying/traveling these days has more “hiccups” than it did years ago=”norm”. We get into a tailspin when that is forgotten, I think. Exciting to see what’s happenin’!!!!! Hugs………………..

  2. Nice photos and happy you are back safe and sound. My youngest had a hard time flying when she was little until I found out she had fluid in ears always had to give her antihistamine a week befor scheduled flights. Hugs Bunny

  3. Never having been to Houston, I OBVIOUSLY HAVE NOT LIVED! (sorry to shout) Love all the pictures. Thanks for “braving” it out….. I know, I know. Somebody had to do it.

  4. 500 Traditional Quilts is an awesome book. I’m not sure what is different, but it is so much easier to see details in this book than in the Art Quilts book. Maybe I just like the quilts better.

  5. So happy that you are home. It sounds like your whirlwind trip went well, except for the airport stuff. Life goes on, it was an adventure. Thanks for the wonderful pictures of the show. I am always amazed by the creativity of quilters. the glimpse of your quilt display was impressive. Thanks for sharing. Have a restful next few days.

  6. Thanks for sharing and so glad you got to go. I have been to the show 3 times in the past. It was wonderful. Speaking of Fat Quarter shop, I knew Kimberly long before she started the shop. Actually she started by selling FQ bundles from her home and it grew and grew and grew. So happy for her!

  7. Wow! That looked like an amazing show. I would have been overwhelmed by everything to look at. Glad you were able to go and that you made it there and back again!!

  8. Beautiful pics!! I am going to a class with Ebony Love on Thursday, then shopping on Friday. I am going to try and stay focused…shopping for thread, the Panasonic cordless iron, and looking at embroidery machines. Must resist the urge to buy fabric…nowhere to put it!!

  9. What a marvelous time you must have had in Houston! Thanks for sharing your gorgeous photos with us all :) Glad you are home safe and sound.

  10. Amazing quilts. I followed Fat Quarter Shop on IG and it was almost like being there! I even saw a picture of you :-) We were just 4 hours away from Houston, but my FIL has had a stroke so we had to return home.

  11. It was wonderful seeing pictures from Market, Wendy. It looks like it was spectacular in spite of the travel glitches. I’d love to see it someday in person.

  12. Glad to hear you made it to Market. I went, not to the market side, many years ago and stayed all week taking classes from fabulous instructors and still did not see all the quilts on display. At least I got to go once in my lifetime to the Houston and once to the Long Beach festivals. So much talent–amazing. But there’s no place like home; safe and sound. Thanks for sharing photos.

Leave a Reply

