Growing up with Lucy!

What is girlhood without jumpers for a little girl, right?  Miss Baby has had various jumper outfits, and the “Lucy” versions have been my favorites.   Miss Baby’s Lucy’s are all made using Children’s Corner’s Lucy pattern.

lucy5

Here are the Lucy’s Miss Baby has had through the years since she was about 9 months old.

lucy3

gingerbear9

green lucy1

candy corn lucy3

And here is the LATEST Lucy!  Dear Friend Annelle did a marvelous job making the jumper.  We are foxy fans in the Ivory Spring household. So, I was more than just a little tickled when Benartex sent me these Feeling Foxy fabrics to play with.  I ended up sending the fabrics to Annelle to have her make another (!) Lucy for Miss Baby.

IMG_7633

The jumper front is cut from the panel print in the collection – there was not piecing or applique involved.  Isn’t the fabric just the cutest?

IMG_7634

IMG_7599

Annelle monograms always look great!

IMG_7601

I purchased a foxy hair bow to go with the outfit.

IMG_7619

We recently bought Cinnabar, the One o’clock Fox.  This book was out of print, but was back to circulation only very recently.  It is a story about General George Washington’s estate and its surrounding area, told from a fox’s point of view.  It is a fun local interest read for our family. Miss Baby absolutely loves Cinnabar!  In case you wish you purchase the book, you can get the book here.

IMG_7623

I hope you have enjoyed Miss Baby’s latest fall outfit this year.

IMG_7631

But wait, there’s more…. I just need to show you the back of the jumper before I leave, done in the “Fox Hole” fabric from the same fabric line.

IMG_7607

Thank you for stopping by, Dear Friends.  I shall catch up with you later when I am able to do so!  Meanwhile, get those Feeling Foxy fabrics while they are still current.

15 thoughts on “Growing up with Lucy!

  1. That’s totally adorable. Great use of the fabric for something fun for Miss Baby! I wish I had a daughter. My son is 27, lol. I did make him clothes when he was little, and still have my favorites. I’m hoping for a grand daughter eventually, and will have to be happy sewing for a great-niece until then. It’s just so much fun!

  2. so cute, don’t know how you get it all done. Love the jumpers, made some when my daughter was little, Have you ever made a ‘reversible” I did a few, they were fun.

  3. Oh my goodness Wendy,this post on jumpers brought back many memories of another little girl who wore jumpers just like these. My own daughter, now 52 yrs. old! I made many, many of these,in summer many were made from feed sacks and much shorter over little elastic waist shorts. In winter many were corduroy . What fun to reminisce, thank you! Karen Arbaugh

    Ivory Spring wrote: > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com ivoryspring posted: “What is girlhood without jumpers for a little girl, right?  Miss Baby has had various jumper outfits, and the “Lucy” versions have been my favorites.   Miss Baby’s Lucy’s are all made using Children’s Corner’s Lucy pattern. Here are the Lucy’s Miss”

  4. Loved seeing the Miss Lucy’s. I am 74 years young and wore the same style when I was little. My mom and my grandma would make them for me. Back then in the 1940’s they were called “Jumpers”.What goes around comes around. Thanks for the memory! PS: I very much enjoy your Posts.

  5. Well, we all know what Miss Baby is wearing to school tomorrow, if she didn’t today. The foxes are adorable. Yes, I wore jumpers too. In fact, I think there is one still in the closet–although I’m not 6 any more. ;}

  6. LOVE the jumpers. Definitely fun seeing the progression through the years. I bet that Miss Baby was the cutest in her class wearing her new jumper today. Always fun to have new “duds.”

Leave a Reply

