Joy of Needle and Thread: Part 2

Hello Friends!  The joy of needle and thread in Miss Baby’s life continues.  I finished up Miss Baby’s second cross-stitched piece into a hanging ornament pillow for her. ‘

IMG_7467

In her first stitching project,  I had Miss Baby work on stitching rows with spaces in between rows so that she could just focus on the concept of making individual stitches and not get confused on when to poke the needle upward or downward etc.  Click here to view more pictures of her first project.

IMG_7262

After she successfully stitched her first project, it’s time to get down to “real” stitching — stitching rows and not be confused by the concept.  So, I had her stitch pink row after pink row… and then, we finished off with a few brown rows to make a picture of a thread spool.

IMG_7393

And I have these REALLY REALLY REALLY cute fabrics from Benartex’s Made With Love line.  You may recall I have used the fabrics to make a pillowcase for the 1 Million Pillowcase Campaign.  Click here to read more the pillowcase.

IMG_7303

IMG_7337

So, Made With Love has this REALLY cool patch print fabric that has a perfect patch to go with Miss Baby’s stitch thread spool…

IMG_7307

I used one of the patches from the patch print fabric and a few scrap pieces from the pillowcase I made to finish up the hanging pillow ornament for Miss Baby.

IMG_7464

See the little thread tail there — that was an afterthought, Miss Baby’s… not mine. She insisted (with no wiggle room) the thread tail to be stitched before I finished the pillow ornament. So I traced out the tail with my washable marker for Miss Baby to put her backstitching to practical use.  Sometimes I wonder where she gets her strong will!!  Erm… yeah, let’s not go there. :)

IMG_7476

IMG_7462

We will be working on Miss Baby’s 3rd stitching project soon… as soon as Mom gets the supplies ready.  Stay tuned.

Thanks for stopping by.  I do feel much better today — thanks for your sweet wishes and prayers!  I shall catch up with you later.

21 thoughts on “Joy of Needle and Thread: Part 2

  1. My mom taught me to embroider when I was about Miss Baby’s age. I’ve never regretted how to use a needle and thread. Think forward a few years to when she is an adult with a home, kids and a job…being able to sit down and stitch on something will be a relaxing blessing. Good job mom.

  2. She is just so lucky to have a mom to teach her at this age all these wonderful crafty projects. I love the creative idea of threat tail. Thank you for sharing this with us. Carol H

  3. Oh Wendy, Miss Baby is so clever, a natural stitcher like her talented Mummy. It must be such a delight to spend time together creating beautiful little treasures. My ‘baby’ is all grown up, but I taught her as a little girl, as my grandmother did for me.

  4. Wow, Wendy, I’m impressed with Miss Baby’s stitching–such even tension! The thread tail is perfect. It’s her project, so she should be able to create her vision.
    Glad you are feeling better!

  5. Wendy, what a lovely job Miss Baby has done. You are teaching her well, and being such a wonderful example to her. So glad you are feeling better and hope you will take wee bits of time out to take care of yourself to keep yourself well. Blessings for the day, Karen Arbaugh

    Ivory Spring wrote: > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com ivoryspring posted: “Hello Friends!  The joy of needle and thread in Miss Baby’s life continues.  I finished up Miss Baby’s second cross-stitched piece into a hanging ornament pillow for her. ‘ In her first stitching project,  I had Miss Baby work on stitch in rows wit”

  6. That’s adorable and very clever. The apple fell VERY close to the tree! Thank you for being so generous and inspiring to ALL of us. God bless and have a wonderful and wonder-filled day.

  7. Pleae give our kudoes to Ms. Baby! She did a beautiful job, and I’m so glad you shared .. You inspire me to want to teach my little grandchildren to start a stitching project

  8. Miss Baby may have inherited her “strong will, “but she has also inherited a wonderful “creative gene.” Beautifully done, Miss Baby. Seeing what Miss Baby has created brings back fond memories of when I was about her age and my Mom taught me how to crossstitch a “stamped, Miss Muffet on Her Tuffet” piece. It has brought a lifelong love of all things fiber.

  9. Oh it is so cute. She should be really proud of her work, as I’m sure you are. Maybe I should introduce Sunshine to cross stitch. I hadn’t thought of that before but I’m betting she would love it.

Leave a Reply

