Look who’s stitching!!!

“Take your needle, my child, and work at your pattern; it will come out a rose by and by.  Life is like that – one stitch at a time taken patiently and the pattern will come out all right like the embroidery.”

~Oliver Wendell Holmes Sr.

IMG_7227

Yes, our little Miss Baby is not quite that little anymore.  She is officially embarking on her first needlework project.  She has done a few practice pieces here and there.  But this one is the real deal!  Stay tuned for work-in-progress pictures. :)

Curious ear would love to hear about your first crafty project.

Thanks for stopping by.  Have a most lovely weekend, Dear Friends!

28 thoughts on “Look who’s stitching!!!

  1. How wonderful this is, Wendy! I think my first crafty project was with my little maternal grandmother who tried to teach me to embroider…

  2. such a wonderful memory. I thought I was being soooooo creative because I embroidered my Friday day of the week dishtowel with half the letters in lavender and the last letters in dark purple. I did it all by myself. Could really tell by looking at it!!! sylvia

  3. Oh how fun! You go Miss B! My grandmother taught me to embroider and I was concentrating so hard on my stitches, that I had my hoop laying on my thigh~ you guessed it! I embroidered my piece right to my jeans! I was so sad to have to take out my stitches!! :o Have a wonderful weekend!

  4. How fabulous! You must be thrilled, watching this!
    My first craft project involved knitting. I think I drove my mother mad, begging and begging to be taught to knit. And at the age of 8 I started and never looked back. That first knitted project was a scarf and I was so proud of it!

  5. The beautiful hands of an artist in the workings! She is definitely growing up if she is tackling such a big-girl project. No more Miss Baby???? Maybe Miss Lady. (Love the smocked dress too, mommy.)

  6. During the era of roll down shades, my grandmother taught me to crochet around the pull ring to make it fancier….I was 6 years old.

  7. My mother taught me about colors using the flowers that felt on Fall to “paint” our small designs made with wood sticks. :-)
    I believe your DD will love it!! :-D

  8. I learned to knit at 5 made a green cotton pot holder and I used cream to crochet all around the edge. The nuns taught me ar boarding school. My Grandmother taught me to sew and also more knitting. My Mom also sewed and knitted so it sure was in my family. It’s so nice that Miss Baby is taking after her talented Mom.

  9. How wonderful to see her stitching Wendy! I think my first projects were little pillows and blankets for my Barbie doll……a long time ago. Then I did a lot of crochet and learned to sew clothes. My mom wasn’t a quilter.

  10. The picture brought back wonderful memories. My grandma was a sewing wizard and I had a dress almost identical to hers that grandma made for me. It is in my cedar chest and will go to my granddaughter in a year. It was this grandma that worked with me on my first project ,a tied doll quilt made with 2″ squares left over from one of her quilts. Still have it too. She made a quilt for each member of the family thru 8 Great grand kids. Died at 93 and made quilts up to a week before she passed. Thank you for the memory twinge.

  11. Rosemary B here:
    Awwwww sweeeet. She is so cute. she will be just like her mum one day.
    Or perhaps like my daughters — even better than their mum.
    My first sewing attempts were at age 9. My mom had a Singer 316G (which I still have, in my possession for the past 25 years) She set up the machine in the large laundry room in our house, I remember the fabric bin was really the box for the vacuum cleaner hahahaha. I was always playing on that machine but I do not recall making anything…. just sewing. It was so fun joining fabric together. I remember when I was about 10 I wanted to be a witch for Halloween and my mom died an old bed sheet black (what a mess) and I sewed that up myself… This is a good age to start sewing. It is the best thing to do in the whole world – besides eating ice cream haha :-D

  12. You go Miss Baby! My first emb was done when I was in high school. We did a sampler, small one, with a different color of thread and stitch in each row. I had it until a few years ago and it disappeared. High School? Try 1952. LOL

  13. My very first craft, oh my, this old memory brought tears in my eyes. I was about ten, and hand sew some doll dress for my little plastic doll using scrap cloth. Before I can handle needle, I remember I like to cut out flower motif from fabric and paste in my scrap book. Good for Miss Baby, sure she will enjoy crafting.

  14. Way to go, Miss Baby! My maternal grandmother, who sewed, knit, and crocheted, put a needle and thread in my hand at age 5 so I could sew a dress for my doll. It’s one of my favorite memories. I’ve been sewing ever since.

  15. How neat! Her dress is really cute, too. The first crafty thing I remember doing is sewing a poncho in Girl Scouts and making a thing for my grandmother in VBS that had something to do with putting fake flowers under glass. I remember being very pleased with that one. :) I did a little bit with ceramics in high school and I think did my first stitching project in college.

  16. It is so good to see the next generation being crafty!!! Both you and Miss Baby will have so much fun together.

    I learned to knit from the lady who lived across the street from me. She used to sit on her porch in the summer waiting for her husband to come home and knit. I was fascinated. She took me under her wing and showed me “continental” knitting. First project…headband. Next project….winter scarf, which I still have.

    My Great Grandma was the Martha Stewart of her time. She could do anything; knit, crochet, sew, quilt, bake, can, garden, raise animals wallpaper, fix the chicken coup…..you name it. If it needed doing she could do it. Always wish I had inherited more of that.

  17. I don’t even remember! I do remember sitting at my GM and doing embroidery, going to the “Ben Franklin 5& 10 cent store” and buying a dresser scarf to embroider. I was probably under 10 yrs of age….

  18. I don’t remember but it was likely embroidery. I used to drive my mother ‘crazy’ because I loved playing with her loose button collection when I was very young and they were in a bottom drawer.

  19. My first hand needle project was a cathedral window potholder. It was busy work for our home education teacher while teachers were on strike. So I was about 13 yrs old. But my first sewing project was a pair of pants. Drove my mom nuts to buy expensive fabric. Never finished that project…..lol.

  20. As a child I made clothes for my dolls -I must have been about 4 and mostly they were a strip of cloth with a gathering stitch along one side to make a skirt-or the same with holes cut for arms to make a blouse! I thought they were wonderful and think I still have some in the loft! This week my 11 year old grand daughter has been sewing a wall-hanging using one of her horse drawings.
    Watch this space! X

  21. Fantastic Wendy! Cannot wait to see what she is up to… I was fortunate to have a mom that taught summer camp where we learned to make the woven potholders and all sorts of finger painting crafts…. My sister, Janet, taught me to embroider and knit and crochet. I was very lucky to share these things with the ladies I admire/d the most. Hugs, Karen

Leave a Reply

