Joyce’s Song of Praise Pillow

… or rather Song of Patriotism pillow!  The following pictures show what I mean.  Dear Friend Joyce made my Song of Praise pillow in patriotic colors, and she plans to display her pillow through the summer!  Isn’t Joyce’s pillow a beauty?

joyce6

joyce4

I always like to quilt my pillow top before constructing the pillowcase because I think the quilting adds a dimensional look to the pillow top.  I never remember to take pictures of my pillow tops before they are quilted… but Joyce didn’t forget. Her pictures illustrate the dimensionless/before quilting and dimensional/after quilting looks perfectly!

Before:

joyce8

After (and I see Joyce has quilted my Jester’s Hat motif – she knows how to make my day!):

joyce5

Joyce is a woman of details – she even made her pillow back beautiful!  I love her blue/red pillow back.

joyce7

Thank you, Joyce, for sharing your patriotic Song of Praise pillow with us! Click here to read about my original Song of Praise pillow.

IMG_6926

Thank you for stopping by!  Now, do you have a favorite patriotic song? Curious mind would love to know.

I think mine would have to be My Country, Tis of Thee.

1
My country, ’tis of thee,
Sweet land of liberty,
Of thee I sing;
Land where my fathers died,
Land of the pilgrims’ pride,
From ev’ry mountainside
Let freedom ring!
2
My native country, thee,
Land of the noble free,
Thy name I love;
I love thy rocks and rills,
Thy woods and templed hills;
My heart with rapture thrills,
Like that above.
3
Let music swell the breeze,
And ring from all the trees
Sweet freedom’s song;
Let mortal tongues awake;
Let all that breathe partake;
Let rocks their silence break,
The sound prolong.
4
Our fathers’ God to Thee,
Author of liberty,
To Thee we sing.
Long may our land be bright,
With freedom’s holy light,
Protect us by Thy might,
Great God our King

Thanks for stopping by, Dear Friends!  Happy Monday and Happy Week to you.

***

You can view more of Joyce’s work here, and here.

8 thoughts on “Joyce’s Song of Praise Pillow

  1. Thank you Wendy, for your kind comments and for sharing my pictures with your readers. Your Song of Praise Pillow was a very fun, and gratifying, project. It will be on display at our County fair next week. Thank you for your continued inspiration and for creating “sew” many wonderful patterns for all of us to enjoy.

  2. Thanks for sharing JoyceO and Wendy! Is that “Jester’s Hat quilting motif” that I spy. It just works so beautifully on your pillow! Love it!

  3. That’s a neat idea! You know – this looks simple enough that I might try giving it a whirl later on after my current project is complete. I have a bird theme in my family room, only my colors there are blue and brown. I’ll let you know!

    And my favorite patriotic song is “America, the Beautiful,” especially the lines:

    America! America!
    God mend thine every flaw,
    Confirm thy soul in self-control,
    Thy liberty in law!

  4. Pingback: Joyce the winner!!! | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

