Scraps Sharing

Vicki W. and Karen A. of Country School Quilters, guess what’s coming your way?!  Yeap, it’s that time again —- see below!

IMG_5460

Vicki graciously takes over my fabric scraps, and passes them along to her quilting friends to make charity quilts to bless those who need a little encouragement!  Click here to see one of the quilts Karen A. made with the scraps from my and her stashes.

“And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity.”                                             ~1 Corinthians 13: 13

I was most encouraged to see The Quilter magazine highlight making charity quilts in their latest April/May 2014 issue.  Do make sure you check out the short but very informative article.

157008_720387318006675_1484002938_n

Benartex’s Sew in Love {with Fabric} blog has been highlighting charity quilt projects this week.  Do stop by and be inspired to be charitable.

Now curious mind wants to know what other productive ways you use your scraps.

That’s all for now, Dear Friends.  Happy Friday, and Happy Weekend! Hugs to you all.

13 thoughts on “Scraps Sharing

  1. Awesome! I make Charity quilts, at our local senior center, there are only a few of us, and we are overflowing w fabrics! But it allows us to do good for ‘free’. but there is never enough donated quilt batting. somehow we get by though. love your blog.!

  2. I love small quilts, so my scraps are usually repurposed into small blocks for small scrappy quilts :) I’m involved in several charity efforts with my guilds – it is one of the things I love most about the quilting community – we love to give to others!

  3. Our local Guild makes small pillows for the children’s ward. Many of the kids are having chemo treatments and love to have a pillow “just my size” We also do “soldier quilts” given to local vets. Our local Humane Society likes pillows stuffed with scraps for bedding for animals. Sometimes we hold a brown bag special and members get a bag of scraps and are challenged to make something for charity.

    These are just a few of the reasons I love my Guild!!

    Have a great weekend!

  4. the best charity quilt making I was involved with was making quilts for Romania and Albania in the 1990’s, I packed and sent over 170 over a 2 year period. It was quite amazing.

  5. A couple of years ago I organized our quilt guild to make placemats for Meals on Wheels. They were very well received. We have also made baby quilts, walker caddies and lap quilts for those who needed them. We also make a couple of quilts a year for the Retirement home we meet in. We do all of this with our scraps. (We do purchase backing and batting if no one donates it.)

  6. February is our fundraising month for the local hospital. This year we made close to $15,000 from quilts, crafts, baked goods, chili/hot dogs, and spaghetti dinner. Just prior to this event, one of our quilter’s son-in-law, a local policeman, requested quilt/blankets of the area’s children in need. In a two week period, we made close to 100. Wow! That made me think of you and the marathons you have. NOW, we were approached by the VA for local veterans. Our community is buzzing!

    I’m working on “Princess Aiko” for my sister’s great-granddaughter. I showed my sister the top (she’s 94 now and can’t travel to Arizona and I wanted her to see it before I send it off) and she broke out in tears. It is a darling quilt. Thank you for such a beautiful pattern. It was meant for Miss Emma, my great-great niece. For her first birthday, I should have the doll ready for her.

    Aloha,
    ellen

Leave a Reply

