COVER QUILT ALERT!! Nature Walk in AMERICAN PATCHWORK & QUILTING 2014 CALENDAR

307_1_[image source: Meredith Corp]

Hello Friends, I am most excited to share with you about my Nature Walk quilt being selected as cover quilt of American Patchwork & Quilting’s 2014 Calendar!

IMG_4169

Nature Walk differs slightly from my usual featured work in that it is a scrappy quilt that uses fabrics from my stash.  You can see the general schematic of the quilt in the initial design image below. Do you have any blue and green scraps you need to use up in your stash?  Perhaps Nature Walk would entice you to use up those tiny and not so tiny scrap pieces?  Actually, Nature Walk will also work with any two color scheme of your choice.

nature walk

In making the sample, I vowed to see if I could make the quilt top without repeating the same blue or green fabric more than TWICE…

IMG_4153

I didn’t think I had that many green and blue fabric pieces in my stash, but I guess I did – sure enough, each blue and green was not used more than twice in the quilt … I doubt I am the only one with that predicament, ha!  You can see that I even include some Christmas green fabrics in the mix.  Don’t you just love that candy apple green plaid swatch?

IMG_4182

While going through all the greens in my stash, I was most delighted I still have some green fabric left from my very first quilt.  See the carrots on green print?  The fabric was used in the backing of my first quilt.

IMG_4144

Here are a few more shots:

IMG_4158

IMG_4200

IMG_4195

I like the peaceful feel of the green and blue palette.  The palette reminds me of Psalm 23: 1-2: “The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.  He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he refreshes my soul.”

IMG_4193

Quilting was done using a light grayish blue Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton thread over Hobbs Tuscany silk batting.  The motif I used was a modified Jester’s Hat motif talked about here, and my online “Learn to Machine quilt” class here.

IMG_2434

IMG_4161

IMG_4184

Instructions to replicate this quilt are found in the accompanying booklet that comes with the calendar.  The booklet has instructions to make all the quilts featured in the calendar.  If you are looking for quilt of the month (QOM) projects for the year 2014, be sure to browse through the projects in the calendar here to see if the quilts are calling your name.

IMG_4219

I feel most honored that my dear friends at Rogers Sewing Center is displaying Nature Walk at their store now through the end of the year.  In case you are new at Ivory Spring, I affectionately call Rogers Sewing Center my sewing mother ship.  The wonderful people I have met at Rogers Sewing Center will always be dear to me even though I have moved away.  These dear friends accepted and encouraged me when I could barely tell the difference between a feed dog and sewing foot!  So in many ways, my Nature Walk quilt is a tribute to my dear friends at Rogers Sewing Center – and I gladly share my accomplishments with my friends! [Rhonda, you know what I am talking about!]

46423_401524139930579_57020331_n

Click here to find out more about Rogers Sewing Center’s 40th Open House and the annual Christmas party – how I wish I could be there.  If you live in the area or close by, you simply have to stop by.

IMG_4177

I hope you have enjoyed Nature Walk.  I would dearly like to know what your choices of colors would be for your version of Nature Walk.

IMG_4176

Thanks so much for stopping by, my bloggy Friends.  I wish you a happy and blessed week!

***

Did you miss any of my 2013 featured projects?

Annie’s Love Those Precuts Book (January 2013):  Apple of My Eye

Annie’s Sweet Layer Cakes Book (April 2013): Sunburst Melody

Annie’s Fat Quarter Shuffle (October 2013): Persian Rug

Annie’s Fat Quarter Shuffle (October 2013): Starry Dance

Australian Quilters Companion (November 2013, Cover Quilt): Farm Crossing

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Spring 2013): Baubles, Baubles

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2013): Curious Cats

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2013): Fabrique Foursome

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Fall 2013): Interlock

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Winter 2013, Cover Quilt): Scrappy Jewel

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Winter 2013): Christmastide

Fons and Porter’s Love of Quilting (March/April 2013):  Now I know my ABC’s

Machine Quilting Unlimited (March/April 2013): Quilting Curvy Feathers

QUILT (June/July 2013): Color Burst

QUILT (June/July 2013): Pattern Play

QUILT (August/September 2013): Enchanted Forest

QUILT (October/November 2013): Rise & Shine

Quilt-it…today (July/August 2013): Yay Day

Quilt Trends (Winter 2013, Cover Quilt): Tango

Quilt Trends (Fall 2013): Manhattan

Quilts and More (Spring 2013): 2 Wishes

Quilts and More (Spring 2013):  Watercolor Sketches

Quilter’s World (February 2013): New Life

Quilter’s World (April 2013): Monkey Around

Quilter’s World (Summer 2013): Garden Mist

Quilter’s World (Autumn 2013): Christmas Cheer

Quilter’s World (Autumn 2013): Quilty Christmas Ornaments

Quilter’s World (Winter 2013): Elephant Walk

Quilter’s World QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): In & Out

Quilter’s World QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): Garden Maze

Simple Quilts & Sewing (Spring 2013):  Stained Glass

The Quilter (December 2012/January 2013): Not Too Square

The Quilter (April/May 2013):  In the Meadow

The Quilter (August/September 2013): Rising Stars, Cover Quilt

The Quilter (Holiday 2013): Midnight Flurry

The Quilter (Holiday 2013): Winter Wonderland

The Quilter (December 2013/January 2014): Boxing Day

The Quilter (December 2013/January 2014): Farmyard Crossing

Benartex Free Pattern (March 2013): Pumpkin Patch/Autumn Fauna

Benartex Free Pattern (March 2013): Flora Linda/Catalina

Benartex Free Pattern (June 2013): Birds on a Wire using Let’s Tweet

Benartex Free Pattern (July 2013): Silver Lining using Urban Oasis 

Benartex (August 2013): The Gallery using Floral Philosophy

Benartex (November 2013): Movement in Squares using Op Art Reflections

Benartex (November 2013): Princess Aiko using Cherry Blossom Festival

Benartex (November 2013): A Midtown Story using City Construction

Benartex (November 2013): It’s Electrifying using Electric Feathers

Benartex (November 2013): Space Odyssey using I Want My Space

Benartex (November 2013): To Eternity and Beyond using I Want My Space

Lecien Free Pattern, Lynette Anderson (April 2013):  Forest Floor/Wildflower Wood

Lecien Free Pattern, Lynette Anderson (September 2013): Country Stars/Mending Fences

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (January 2013): Mediterranean Dream

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (February 2013): Butterfly Kisses

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (June 2013): Simply Sweet using lief!Lifestyle

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (July 2013):  Rooster Royale

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (October 2013): Moonflower

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (October 2013): Tutu Cute

RJR Fabrics Free Pattern (May 2013): Nature’s Harmony/Silent Harmony

RJR Fabrics Free Pattern (May 2013): Tied with a Bow/A Gingerbread Christmas

RJR Fabrics Free Pattern (November 2013): Apple Jacks/Quilters Garden

RJR Fabrics Free Pattern (November 2013): Towne Square/Quilters Garden

36 thoughts on “COVER QUILT ALERT!! Nature Walk in AMERICAN PATCHWORK & QUILTING 2014 CALENDAR

    • Wendy, Your sweet words to all of us at Rogers Sewing Center mean so much to us. We are so very proud of you and have watched your sewing progress with awe and pride as a mother watches her child take their first steps. We knew from the beginning that you were a “special child” as every mother knows! We are honored to display your quilt at Rogers Sewing Center and we swell with pride every time we show it off and tell the viewers that you are one of our very own. We have watched your progress and achievements and celebrate every step of your journey with you and thank you for giving us the joy and pride of having walked with you from the beginning! We love, admire, and adore you. Rhonda, Dan and all your sewing sisters and brothers! at Rogers Sewing Center.

  1. Yes, so much has happened in the days (years!) since leaving that “neck of the woods”! A not-so-surprising acknowledgement of your creativity and talents. Thanksgiving Blessings to you and your family………It has been a wondrous year for us and you are a very special part of our sweet memories. Hugs, SSAB

  2. Yippee! I’m doing my Happy Dance for one very talented and giving lady! Being thankful that the blogging world has allowed me to share in your excitement and accomplishments. Congratulations Cover Girl! A beautiful scrappy quilt – mine would be done in Burgundy and Gray or Taupes. Hugs, Karen

  3. Congratulations on making the calendar COVER!! The quilt is absolutely wonderful – and would be regardless of the color scheme. I have quite a few blues and greens but not THAT many. LOL!

  4. Another beautiful quilt Wendy! I like that it looks like a pinwheel, but you designed it in such a way that there isn’t so much bulk at the center point. BTW I just wanted to say thanks for everything, in case you missed my email. Your the best! :)

  5. CONGRATULATIONS!! On the cover–again! Guess what I will be gifting my quilty friends for Christmas? A beautiful quilt, girlfriend. A very special aloha to you and Thanksgiving blessings to you and your family.

  6. I absolutely love, love, love this quilt. The colors are my favorites. I am so very happy for you, Wendy. An honor well deserved. You will be hearing from me shortly. Have a great Thanksgiving.

  7. what a beautiful, beautiful quilt, absolutely love the colours, you are such an inspiration, I love looking and reading your regular blogs, thank you Wendy from Petronella in New Zealand

  8. Congratulations for being the Cover-girl Quilter for the AP&Q 2014 calendar. You quilt is stunning. As always, an inspiration to all. Being in the Christmas mode, I might try reds and greens. I know that I have enough of each in my stash.

  9. Hi Wendy, What a great quilt, and congrats on making the cover! I love the blue/green combo myself…very refreshing. And thanks for the tutorial on the jester’s hat quilting. I have just used it for a quilt I am finishing for one of my brother’s BIG birthdays And I have a question: I noticed you always used silk batting…is there a reason? Just curious.

  10. Love the scrappy look, Wendy! To me, it makes the finished quit so much more interesting. Congratulations on having it on the calendar cover.

  11. That is so beautiful. I absolutely love the randomness of a real scrappy quilt. I will buy the calendar for sure. I wish I had thought to number my quilts. Wait, there’s only been one! Haha, just kidding, a few more than that. Happy Thanksgiving to a wonderful person.

  12. I love this quilt! How big are the blocks in this quilt?? Are this 2 inch Triangle in it.? Is evry Triangle also only 2 times reoetet?? Your quilt is grat. You have a lot of stash I think.

    Greeting Guilitta

  13. Congratulations, Cover Girl! :-) I know what you mean about scrapping from your stash. I love it when I can work in a piece of fabric from an older quilt; it brings all the warm fuzzy memories right back with it. For my Christmas birdie quilt, I dug out the Christmas fabric scraps from the very first Christmas tree skirt I ever made, must be at least 11 years ago, and each time I can manage to use a bit of one of those fabrics in an applique or pieced block it’s like I’m sewing a decade of merry Christmases into the new project.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  14. Wendy, you have brought tears to my eyes with your sweet words to all of us at Rogers Sewing Center. We have watched your progress with the awe and pride of a mother watching her child take their first steps. We knew your were a”special child” from the very beginning, as a mother always does. You have more than exceeded our expectations and have made us happy and proud beyond measure to have had a role in your sewing journey. We are honored to have your beautiful quilt displayed in the shop and we swell with pride every time we show it and tell others that you are one of our very own!!! We love, admire, and adore you, our special girl and treasured friend!!! Rhonda, Dan and all your many sewing sisters and guys at Rogers Sewing Center

  15. Another amazing quilt, Wendy!! Glad to know that you have lots of scraps so you can make a quilt like this. It appears that this quilt has hour glass blocks in it and I am a fan of those as well. Great job!!

  16. Congratulations Wendy! What a gorgeous quilt! I too wish I could be at RSC for the celebration and to see your amazing quilt. I’m in awe of your beautiful quilts and am proud to say I learned FMQ from one of the best! Thanksgiving blessings to you and your family!

  17. Love this quilt and how you used the fabric from your first quilt backing to add to the label on this one… will have to look into their 2014 calendar and where to get one… looks amazingly fun. Gorgeous quilt and quilting.. thanks for blogging it! Kathi

  18. I would ask how long it took to make, how they got started quilting, was it difficult, is it their design, is it for sale, etc.

    I think people labor under a false impression about hand quilting. You are an artist with the machine. A truce artist. I am in awe.

    xo

    Sheila

  19. SOB SOB!!!! I have tried to order the calendar but nothing happens. It obviously cannot be bought in the UK. Why do you have such fantastic magazines etc. and we only have a few. There were definitely a couple of quilts in that calendar that I liked the look of. That one of yours is just fabulous and appeals to my love od scrappy quilts!

  20. I have just been having a really good look at this quilt. I thought there were two different blocks here. One, an hourglass and the other triangles with borders. I have just “deconstructed” the picture, and realise it is just one block. VERY clever and very effective.
    I can just imagine it in red, white and blues… Very masculine and nautical.

Leave a Reply

