Variations: Final Sneak Peek

Hmm…. it smells a tad musty in here… I have been away, and haven’t posted.  It’s time for me to get back to my blogging routine. I hope you have been well

You remember these fabrics?

IMG_3459

While I was “gone”, I put in many an all nighter to get my Variations quilt (Miss Baby calls it The Instrument Quilt) completed to ship to the editor.  Here is a final sneak peek for you:

IMG_3520

Since we are on the music theme…. we had trouble getting the violin to rest on Miss Baby correctly last week during our practices at home.  While I was getting a little flustered trying to get the instrument on her one day last week, Miss Baby looked at me squarely and said, “Mom, you don’t know this, do you?”  It was an eye-opening moment for her, I think…. her Mom doesn’t know everything!  If only she knows just how little her Mom knows…

So tell me, what you’ve been up to while I was gone.  It’s good to be back, and I look forward to catching up with you.  Come back tomorrow for a Thread Talk post to round out the week.

13 thoughts on “Variations: Final Sneak Peek

  1. Know how you feel. The first time my oldest son said, ” That’s not what the teacher said”. I cried. How fast they grow up.

  2. Oh, but I pray your day will come when you hear the words “How did you always know?” (spoken by my son across the kitchen table once he was married and had his little girl!). Every parent should be so blessed!! Love the “Instrument Quilt”! Hugs, SSAB

  3. That quilt looks like it is going to be gorgeous. I can already picture it above a piano or in a music studio.

    Miss Baby’s quips are so funny. They do find out all too soon that Mom and Dad don’t know it all – but that makes us lean all the more on the One who does, and hopefully they will, too.

  4. Out of the mouths of babes! Sounds like my g/dau. Just been sewing up simple tops to use up stash but I think it multiplies during the night. Glad you are back.

  5. I’m sure it won’t be the last time that she doesn’t think you know it all ;-)

    Those fabrics look beautiful together. All nighters??? You poor thing! Get your rest.

  6. So Miss Baby is learning to play the violin! Wonderful. The youngest child I taught was 2. It was more of a general music lesson with lots of games. :) You have a sponge or shoulder rest? Have her stand in playing position, turn her head to the left and lift her chin. Soft shoulders. Bring violin to her and place on shoulder and have her drop her chin. You’ve probably already tried all of this, just the teacher coming out in me. lol.

    Love the quilt, by the way, and I may have to purchase those fabrics!

    Happy Quilting:)

  7. I too was going to suggest the round makeup sponges—about 3″ diameter.
    My daughter teaches violin to little ones in Louisville and she puts them on the back of the violin with rubber bands stretched from opposite corners. More comfortable for the little ones and helps keep it from sliding.

  8. Ooh, I didn’t know Miss Baby was taking violin lessons! YAY!!! :-) Is she in Suzuki method? My son has been taking violin for several years. What kind of chin rest are you using with Miss Baby? Is it the rubber band and sponge kind? Those colorful Kuhn Junior rests work well when they are little and the little “legs” are adjustable height to help get a good fit. Another suggestion is to take pictures or even video with your phone at her lesson — then print the photo at home and you have a visual reference of how the teacher had your daughter correctly holding and positioning the instrument.

    Those fabrics look even more alluring in your “sneak Peek” picture, by the way. The quilting really DOES make the quilt!

  9. Oh this one looks intriguing Wendy! And what’s this you say about not knowing everything?? They are usually teenagers when they decided that parents don’t know everything! I think Miss Baby has a jump on things :) I can almost see the look on her face as she said that to you…. too cute!

Leave a Reply

