A very special “I SPY” quilt!

Meeting Vicki is on my quilting bucket list!  She and I don’t live that far from each other, but we just haven’t met up (all my fault!).   I look forward to remedying that little problem in a few weeks.  Anyway, back to Vicki…  She is one of the most versatile quilters I have ever met.  If you haven’t come across her blog… click here to visit!  You will be surprised by all the things Vicki can do (besides quilting!).

vicki

I remember musing to Vicki a while back about feeling bad about throwing away some of my smaller scrap pieces.  Vicki told me to send the scraps to her because she knows of a sweet lady from her guild who can definitely use my scraps to make charity quilts.  Karen A. of Country School Quilters used the leftovers of the quilts she already made with the scraps I sent to make the following “twice leftover” quilt.

leftover quilt

I was really touched when I saw how the scraps of the scraps came together in a sweet, bright and happy quilt that Karen is going to use to bless someone!  Looking at the fabrics got me in an “I SPY” mode to see if I could remember what quilts the scraps are from… At a quick glance, I counted about 30 different quilts.

IMG_5441

Thank you so much, Karen, for blessing my heart by blessing many many others with your talent!  Seeing that scrappy quilt made my day!

I would love to hear any snippets you / your guild might have about making charity quilts.

“And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.” (Matthew 25:40)

Thanks for stopping by.  I shall chat with you again tomorrow.

***

Click on the quilt names below if you are wanting to do some I SPYing yourself or just interested in what the original quilts look like.  Notice how I got some of the names wrong in my original “I SPY” notes, ha!

A Sprinkle of Spring (Fons and Porter Love of Quilting, May/June 2012)

A Tale as Tall as a Tree (Quilter’s World, October 2012)

Apple of my Eye (Annie’s “Love Those Precuts” Book, 2013)

Butterfly Kisses (Quilting Treasures Free Pattern / Butterfly Kisses)

Christmas in Ohio (Fons and Porter Easy Quilts, Winter 2010)

Color Burst (QUILT, June/July 2013)

Cottage Chic Christmas (Quilter’s World, December 2012)

Country Breeze (Fons and Porter Easy Quilts, Summer 2012)

Fabrique Foursome (Fons and Porter Easy Quilts, Summer 2013)

Flower Duet (American Patchwork & Quilting, May/June 2012)

Floral Linda (Benartex Free Pattern / Catalina)

Garden Mist (Quilter’s World, Summer 2013)

Greeting Cards (The Quilter, Holiday 2012)

Home is where the Quilt is (Quilter’s World, December 2011)

In a Meadow (The Quilter, April/May 2013)

In & Out (Quilter’s World Quick & Easy Quilts, Spring 2013)

Joseph’s Pinwheel (Fons and Porter Love of Quilting, June 2011)

Monkey Around (Quilter’s World, April 2013; Quilting Treasures Free Patterns)

Nature Walk, publish pending

Not Too Square (The Quilter, December 2012/January 2013)

Now I Know My ABC’s (Fons and Porter Love of Quilting, March/April 2013)

Pattern Play (QUILT, June/July 2013)

Peppermint Packages (Quilter’s World, December 2010)

Queen Anne (Benartex Free Pattern / Antoinette)

Roslynn (The Quilter, February/March 2009)

Sunburst Melody (Annie’s Sweet Layer Cakes Book, 2013)

Sweet Bouquets (Quilter’s World, April 2012)

What’s the Buzz? (Quilts and More, Summer 2012)

Watercolor Sketches (Quilts and More, Spring 2013)

Winter Bouquet (The Quilter, December 2011/January 2012)

10 thoughts on “A very special “I SPY” quilt!

  1. The guild I belong to has a charity round robin going on, in addition to some of us, who are not patient enough for the round robin and have to make a few charity quilts at a time.
    Additionally you may have heard about about our floods in the Calgary, Alberta region.There have been hundreds of quilters who donated fabric, whole quilts, quilt tops and TIME, to make quilts for the thousands of people who lost everything in the flood. Here’s a link if you are interested in more info. http://www.mysewingroom.ca/classes/index.php?pageref=alberta_floods_2013
    Cheers!

  2. This is very inspiring. I should suggest this idea to my church group. We are always looking for easy ways to make charity quilts.

    Also, on another note, I purchased your video from Annie’s last week. I have watched it several times and I love it! I learn something new every time I sit down to watch. Thank you!

    Laura

  3. The local guild I belong to makes quilts and pillow cases for the local pediatric ward at a nearby hospital. We often get thank you notes from the nurses there, but the best are when the kids themselves send us a thank you in the form of a hand made card. Warms the heart!

  4. Karen can turn any pile of scraps into a joyful quilt! I am so blessed to count her as a friend. She made over 40 charity quilts last year. Probably more, but she loses track! Indeed, she blesses many – those who receive her quilts and all who know her. I love you, Karen!

  5. When I was on the program committee I got my guild to make flannel blankies for the local pregnancy center, along with some burbie pads with the leftover flannel. The year before someone donated unsewn blocks and I arranged for them to turn them into placemats for the county Meals on Wheels program. They literally went throughout the whole county. This year the committee made carriers to attach to walkers. And the first year lapquilts. We use donated fabrics from the group and others and also purchase fabric. It is very rewarding.

  6. The Belle Point Quilter’s Guild in Fort Smith (just down the mountain from Rogers Sewing Center) makes cozy quilts for children who the police have to remove from homes or help during some kind of accident or tragedy. They have the small child size quilts in their vehicles and can give one to a child in need. We also make Home of the Brave Quilts for survivors of fallen heroes in our ongoing conflicts. Enjoys your emails, Lula Hanson

Leave a Reply

