Fabric Preview: “Not Gloomy”

Oh, what do you know — look at the bottom of my latest and rather eclectic pile of fabrics — gray!! 

IMG_5410

It’s kind of weird.  I don’t normally stop and think about the color palettes I use for my various designs until it comes time to actually sit down and make the samples.  I sure hadn’t noticed my extensive use of grays a few months ago when I was finalizing designs with various magazine editors until these last few weeks when I was actually working to make those designs happen!   I am heartened by the fact that my “gray” quilts so far sure aren’t looking gloomy!

IMG_5396

IMG_5292

I just came through a pattern writing marathon!  I have a little done on the quilt using the eclectic fabrics shown above, but not enough for a sneak peek.  So, what do you think of my e-clec-tic-ism in those new fabrics?

Thanks for stopping by, Dear Friends!

11 thoughts on “Fabric Preview: “Not Gloomy”

  1. Wonderful! I’m loving the choices! Very funny how the right shade of gray works with so many different colors. I’ve got a pastel pink and gray collection in my stash; but then they also work so well with brights. Maybe gray is the new neutral!

  2. Wonderful selections! Gray seems to “play” nice with so many different colors. I have a beautiful pastel pink and gray collection in my stash for a project; but it also goes so well with brights. Maybe gray is the new neutral!

  3. Your work could never be gloomy! I just saw a beautiful gray, black and yellow quilt at our local quilt shop this week. The colors you are using with your grays are gorgeous.

  4. Definitely not gloomy at all! Grey is kind of a funny color – sometimes it can look a little gloomy, but sometimes it is cozy. Your greys look fun with what they’re paired with.

  5. I think the grays are giving your latest quilts a slightly more contemporary feel, but they are definitely cheery and not gloomy at all! Now, if you were quilting with only gray, black, and brown fabric, THEN I’d be worried about what was going on in your life!

Leave a Reply

