A little bit of smocking…

I started smocking toward the end of spring a pleated bishop graciously sent to me by Linda (Thank you, Linda!), and stopped halfway because I was stumped by the feather stitches as determined by the smocking plate.  I didn’t like how they looked.  [I have concluded the symmetry of feather stitches looks more fetching when stitched vertically than horizontally.]  A few days ago I took out the feather stitches (originally stitched in yellow), and started stitching the scallops to replace the feather stitches… as you can see in the following picture:

IMG_5411

That’s all I have to share for now.  I spent another day just running errands, and I am beat!  And…. our local Target is out of the Pentel white eraser.   So our quest for a Pentel white eraser (mentioned in this post) continues… just what I need to add in my crazy schedule, ha!

Thanks for stopping by.  Hugs to you all!

12 thoughts on “A little bit of smocking…

  1. that is such a weird request that I had look up “white pentel eraser” All it looks like, is those runny tiny white erasers in a mechanical pencil….I wonder why it has to be those. Because if she doesn’t own stock, I can’t think up !another reason why it has to be that kind!

  2. The smocked scallops look great and love the colors (so “today”s quilting colors!!). Just got my “Quilt” mag yesterday and your poultry cutie greeted me! Always a treat to see your sweet smile greeting me in a publication!! Will be finishing up (hopefully) 2 quilts today. The one binding is the yellow ‘chicken wire’ print. Bridal gown fitting in a 1/2 hour and 2 bridesmaids’ dresses (different weddings) will fill some of my time before I start the next customer’s quilt. I really need to get my demo/trunk show organized for mid-Sept (quilt shop in the Black Hills, SD). Ahh, yes, the “lazy, hazy crazy days of summer”…….where….where?????!!!!! LOL! Hugs, SSAB

  3. That really looks beautiful, Wendy. I love the colors you are using with the fabric too.

    I hope you find the erasers soon. How frustrating and time consuming!

  4. I’m tickled to see you’re using some of the stuff I sent you! This is wonderful! Love the colors you selected to go with that print. Of course, we must see a finished picture of Miss Baby (or is she now Miss Pre-Schooler?) modeling it.

Leave a Reply

