Fabric Preview – Black, gray & yellow!

Hello Friends!  After shipping off a couple of quilts this past weekend, I am ready to play with more fabrics!  Yeah, I know… more fabrics! Ha!

IMG_5367

I feel like gray is the “new white” among fabrics lately — as I am seeing more and more gray in upcoming fabric lines.  I personally like gray in fabrics.  It has a very nice blending effect.  How about you?  How do you feel about gray?

I have to fly – stay tuned for sneak peeks in a few days.

16 thoughts on “Fabric Preview – Black, gray & yellow!

  1. Looking forward to seeing what you do with these! I have mixed emotions about grays. Some blend well or feel cozy but sometimes they feel drab. I’m not sure what makes the difference. Those fabrics look very far from drab, though! :-)

  2. Grey is a good color, but I tend to favor browns, so my choice would be to use tan. Browns/tans have a much cozier feeling to me, grey is a much cooler color. I know, tan is not modern, but that’s okay.

  3. I like a lot of the gray, yellow, black and white quilts I’ve seen lately, but I have to say, gray is not one of my favorite colors. I live in the Pacific Northwest, and gray is the color of the sky most of the year. My preference is COLOR!

  4. I made a wall hanging with those colors but not the same fabrics. I had bedding in those colors so made a wall hanging to hang above a single bed. Looks great.

  5. I’m starting to appreciate gray. It plays well with my favorite black/red/white. lol And I’m playing with black/white prints that read gray. It’s so interesting. But it’s so much fun to read your blog and see all the fabric combinations, and then see the finished quilts. Keeps me inspired! Thanks Wendy!

  6. There is so much grey in fabrics right now. Although I don’t have much grey in my decorating, I do love seeing it in the fabrics. It’s a softer black and a more subdued white – if that makes any sense! ;-) Have fun sewing with it. I am also working on a black, yellow and grey piece right now.

  7. At first the gray choices were limited and I really couldn’t get in to it but now that there are so many more out there (some with brown undertones to soften the impact) I am liking them more and more….and you are right, gray is today’s ‘white’. Maybe the “Mod” quilt movement can take the thanks for that. Hugs……SSAB

Leave a Reply

