Between Heaven and Texas Blog Hop & Giveaway

Hello Friends, thanks for stopping by on this fine Sunday!  I hope you have enjoyed your weekend so far.  I want to extend a special welcome to those who are visiting for the first time.  I hope you enjoy your visit.

marie-blog-tour

EVENT:  Marie Bostwick’s Between Heaven and Texas Blog Hop, hosted by Michele of Quilting Gallery.

PARTICIPANTS:

Monday, April 29 – Marie’s intro post and her block – http://quiltinggallery.com/
Tuesday, April 30 – Michele – Quilting Gallery – http://quiltinggallery.com/
Wednesday, May 1 – Bonnie Hunter – Quiltville – http://quiltville.blogspot.com/
*Thursday, May 2 – Pat – Pat Sloan – http://patsloan.typepad.com/
*Thursday, May 2 – Kim – Persimon Dreams – http://www.persimondreams.com/
Friday, May 3 – Melissa – Happy Quilting – http://happyquiltingmelissa.blogspot.com/
Saturday, May 4 – Jo – Jo’s Country Junction – http://www.joscountryjunction.com/
Sunday, May 5 – Wendy – Ivory Spring – https://ivoryspring.wordpress.com/
Monday, May 6 – Victoria – Bumble Beans Inc. – http://bumblebeansinc.blogspot.com/
Tuesday, May 7 – Vicki – Quilting Lodge Blog – http://www.quiltinglodgeblog.com/
Wednesday, May 8 – Melissa/Jake – Generation Q Magazine – http://generationqmagazine.com/
Thursday, May 9 – Jennifer – Sew Hooked – http://sewhooked.com/
Friday, May 10 – Jackie – Canton Village Quilt Works – http://cvquiltworks.blogspot.com/

ABOUT MARIE: http://www.mariebostwick.com/

Between-heaven-and-Texas_small

ABOUT Between Heaven and Texas:

In this luminous prequel to her beloved Cobbled Court Quilts series, New York Times bestselling author Marie Bostwick takes readers into the heart of a small Texas town and the soul of a woman who discovers her destiny there…

Welcome to Too Much–where the women are strong-willed and the men are handsome yet shiftless. Ever since Mary Dell Templeton and her twin sister Lydia Dale were children, their Aunt Velvet has warned them away from local boys. But it’s well known that the females in Mary Dell’s family have two traits in common–superior sewing skills and a fatal weakness for men.

While Lydia Dale grows up petite and pretty, Mary Dell just keeps growing. Tall, smart, and sassy, she is determined to one day turn her love of sewing into a business. Meanwhile, she’ll settle for raising babies with her new husband, Donny. But that dream proves elusive too, until finally, Mary Dell gets the son she always wanted–a child as different as he is wonderful. And as Mary Dell is forced to reconsider what truly matters in her family and her marriage, she begins to piece together a life that, like the colorful quilts she creates, will prove vibrant, rich, and absolutely unforgettable…

Making my 12″ Orange Eyed Susan Star Block:

blog hop block2

Step 1.  Cutting.  Cut from solids or mottled fabrics – one (2 1/2″ x 2 1/2″) orange square, one (5 1/4″ x 5 1/4″) light pink square, one (5 1/4″ x 5 1/4″) dark pink square.

IMG_1769

Step 2.  Cutting.  Cut from floral print fabric – two (1 1/2″ x 2 1/2″) rectangles, two (1 1/2″ x 4 1/2″) rectangles, four (4 1/2″ x 4 1/2″) squares, two (5 1/4″ x 5 1/4″) squares.

IMG_1762

Step 3.  Constructing HST units.  Draw a diagonal line on the wrong side of one (5 1/4″ x 5 1/4″) floral print square.  Lay square, right sides together, on the dark pink (5 1/4″ x 5 1/4″) square.

IMG_1764

Sew 1/4″ away from the drawn line on both sides of the line.

IMG_1771

Cut along the drawn line.  Open and press to yield two half-square-triangle units.  Repeat the process with the remaining (5 1/4″ x 5 1/4″) floral print square and the (5 1/4″ x 5 1/4″) pink square.

IMG_1773

Step 4.  Constructing QST units.  Draw a diagonal line on the wrong side of one pink/floral HST unit.  Place unit, right sides together, on one dark pink/floral HST – making sure the floral triangles are opposite from each other in the HST units.

IMG_1774

IMG_1775

Sew 1/4″ away from the drawn line, on both sides of the line.  Cut along the drawn line.  Open and press to reveal two Quarter-Square-Triangle Units.  Repeat with the remaining HST units to make a total of four QST units.

IMG_1778

Step 5.  Constructing block center.  Sew two (1 1/2″ x 2 1/2″) floral rectangles to the opposite sides of the (2 1/2″ x 2 1/2″) orange square.  Add two (1 1/2″ x 4 1/2″) floral rectangles to the remaining opposite sides.

IMG_1776

IMG_1779

Step 6:  Block Assembly.  Sew together the units together as shown to complete the star block.  Please note that the diagrams do not depict the 1/4 seams allowance around edge of block.

block assembly

block assembly1

My block sewn out:

blog hop block2

Click here: Blog Hop Block to download pattern instructions.

GIVEAWAY:

Leave a comment and tell me your favorite book.  Entries are accepted between now and Friday (5/10/2013).

GOING ONE STEP FURTHER:

Be a part of the Linus Project.  Quoting from Quilting Gallery:

“Want to help out a great cause while enjoying the great free patterns from Marie’s Blog Tour? Make an extra star block and donate it the The Linus Connection. Jennifer from Sewhooked has been an active volunteer for The Linus Connection for over 10 years. She’s made and donated approximately 300 quilts to The Linus Connection since 2002, many of them made from orphan blocks donated by quilters from around the world.

The Linus Connection is a 501(c)(3) organization based in Austin, Texas whose mission is to make and deliver handmade security blankets for children in crisis situations in the Central Texas area. The blankets go to children in hospital emergency rooms, in crisis centers, in foster care, battered women’s shelters, to any child who is in need of a little extra security in their lives.

Contact Jennifer for mailing information at sewhooked@gmail.com or visit The Linus Connection blog to find out other ways you can help.”

***

Thank you for stopping by.  Have a blessed day!!

IMG_1143

104 thoughts on “Between Heaven and Texas Blog Hop & Giveaway

  1. I love your quilt block, Wendy. It’s so fresh and cute, and I like the pop of color with the ” eye” in the center.

    I think that Linus Collection sounds FABULOUS. What a great charity! I had a friend who was a social worker in Florida, and she told me that some of the children she rescued had nothing while others came with everything they owned in a paper bag. So I can imagine how much they love to have a quilt (security blanket) of their own.

    XO,

    Sheila

  2. I love the fabric you used in your block….so cute!!! I have read all of her books and cannot wait for this one!!! Thanks

  3. Love your block! All of Mary Higgins Clark’s books arre my favorites, she is just the best, can’t put them down! Thank you for chance to win. :)

  4. Pretty block – thanks for sharing. My favorite book is CHINA COURT by Rumer Godden.

  5. Love the block. It is so bright and cheerful. I love Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series . I am trying to locate Marie Bostwick’s books at my local library, but so far, no luck. Thanks for sharing.

  6. It has been a while since I read it, but I enjoyed the book “Redeeming Love” by Francine Rivers

  7. This is a wonderful block. I really love the fabrics you used.
    Right now I am loving “Wheat Bellies” by William Davis M.D and “Primal Blueprint” by Mark Sisson

  8. Such a pretty floral print! My favorite book(s) are anything by Jennifer Chiaverini. I would love to read Marie’s books now also!

  9. I have to agree w Sandy on the Outlander series, and Bonnie Larson on Jordan’s books, another fav is Terry Brooks, I read everything he writes! I love the block too.

  10. Wendy I love this block. Black Eyed Susan’s are my favorite flower, and my name is Susan! Even if I don’t win, this block is wonderful thanks.

  11. I love your block Wendy. So pretty and fresh. I’m stumped when it comes to naming my favorite book, since I spend all my spare time between quilting and knitting. But right now I’m reading any and everything I can find about Free Motion Quilting!

  12. And another vote for Outlander – the whole series! I love your block. I also love the print you used – what line is it from? I can only hope it’s still available.

  13. I am enjoying a series of mysteries by Kathryn M Wall set in Hilton Head. Light reading with twists at every turn of the page.

  14. I love reading Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons by Lorna Lanvik! It makes me laugh out loud. Beautiful block, love the colors!

  15. Love the block!!! So Springy:)
    I have been reading the Yada Yada series…I also love the Elm Creek series:) Just love to read:)

  16. Great block, and fun title! I’ve read the first 2 Cobbled Court books, and loved them. I read a lot, so I have lots of favorite books. I really like Debbie Macomber’s books, and Jennifer Chiaverini’s. Susan Mallory is also a favorite.

  17. Very pretty block thank you for the pattern instructions. My current favorite books are the Cedar Cove series by Debbie Macomber.

  18. Thank you for contributing such a cute block! Other than the Bible – my favorite book is an old one – Eye of the Needle – and it has nothing to do with sewing! LOL

  19. I love this block – the fabric star seems to float on air!
    My favorite book is The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck.

  20. I do love Marie’s books, and have read all of the Cobbled Court series. However, my favourite book of all time is Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.

  21. I also like your block and the fabric line is wonderful. Please post what it is!!
    I have so many favorite authors, but one of my favorite books is Winter Garden by Kristin Hannah.

  22. I love to read, and picking one favorite is impossible. I’ve enjoyed any book by Alexander McCall Smith, but if it’s quilt stories we’re talking about, I like the Elm Creek series by Jennifer Chiaverini. My favorite books to read other than fiction are memoirs of either building/living in the country or traveling. I haven’t read any of Marie Bostwick’s books, but you can bet their on my list for this summer.

  23. Gorgeous block Wendy! As usual, your colors are impeccable! My favorite book – impossible to say! I love them all!!! Currently reading Liz Curtis Higgs’ The Girl’s Still Got It, a story about Ruth. Great read so far!

  24. We finally have sunshine and nice weather in Wisconsin!!!! Thanks for telling us about the blog hop. Love the block and the colors you chose.

    Favorite “quilting” author………Sandra Dallas

    Enjoy the day!!

  25. My favorite book – hmm, changes from time to time, depends on the genre. For quick and easy reads, it has to be the Eve Dallas series by J. D. Robb/Nora Roberts. Thanks for the chance to win.

  26. I love your orange eye variation of the traditional block. Favorite book? Thich Nhat Hanh’s Peace is Every Step is one I enjoy re-reading gifting to others.

  27. There are just toooo many wonderful books to have one favorite. I have enjoyed reading her previous books and look forward to reading this new one, especially since I live in Texas. And yes, I do sew for The Linus Connection. We would really appreciate the donation of more blocks to help us in our goal of providing a “blanket” to every child in crisis in central Texas.

  28. Love your block and the fabric you used. The floral print is gorgeous! I love to read and don’t have a favorite book. I did enjoy the Cobblestone Court series and am sure I’ll like this book. Thanks for the chance to win.

  29. Oh my favorite book for today, everyday it changes, is The Help. I just finished it. This is a beautiful block, I tried to also ‘like’ your picture but I had to have a wordpress account.

  30. So-o-o-o pretty…..cheerful & happy….perfect for those sunny summer moments! (Don’t ya just love a little alliteration??!!?? LOL!) Hugs, SSAB

  31. love the block, the name of it grabbed my attention as i love black eyed susuan flowers. my favorite book would have to be my favorite author, james patterson. i love everything he writes. thanks for the opportunity to win your book. i think it would be terrific. i am a new quilter so the information would be great.

  32. Pretty block! I love the rounded corners. My favorite book is Pride & Predujice by Jane Austen.

  33. love your block and great instructions. Favorite book is Cheaper by the Dozen.
    Thanks

  34. Your block is a winner. I use audio books while I sew. My favorites are mysteries especially if they involve quilters. I haven’t read any of Marie’s books. but I am going to put one on hold at the library when I finish this post.

  35. Great name for your block. My favorite books are mysteries or science fiction. Thanks for the chance to win.

  36. I love the orange center to your block! I am hard pressed to pick a “favorite” book, but I just finished The Dressmaker by Kate Alcott, and I really, really enjoyed it.

  37. Pretty block. Great quick tutorial. Thanks for sharing it. As far as books, how do you pick one? Right now I am reading Unbroken written by the woman who wrote Seabiscuit. (which I really liked)

  38. Beautiful block. I don’t have a favorite book, I just love to read. The last book I read was one my daughter loaned me Where We Belong by Emily Griffin

  39. Love love love your block. I agree with many of the comments re: the orange center . it certainly pops off the center. I love to read and have too many favorites to count.

  40. Well let’s see, right now I am reading Old Patchwork Quits and The Women Who Made Them. It was published in 1929 and was written by Ruth E. Finley. I would love to get my hands on copies of all the pattern that were published by the Kansas Star too. I really love to see vintage patterns…
    Our local sewing group ASGLA is sewing blankets for the Linus Project this year and we have donated quite a few so far. We are making them and donating through out the year. It is a great organizatian and I am proud to donate to them.

  41. I love your block. I enjoy reading all types of books. I enjoy reading books by Jennifer Chiavarini and Vince Flynn.

  42. Favorite book…. “These is my Words… The Diary of Sarah Agnes Prine” By Nancy Turner. Thanks for a chance to win. Janita

  43. I couldn’t pick just one book as a favorite, but one I read recently and really enjoyed was “In a Sunburned Country” by Bill Bryson.

  44. WOW Wendy! Where do you come up with all these ideas – you are such an inspiration! My favourite book is Ashes in the Wind, by Kathleen Woodwiss. I have only read it three times though… which for me is a good thing, because sometimes i have a hard time just getting through one lol. Thanks Wendy!

  45. I love all of Marie’s previous books and can’t wait to read this one! I also love books by Lynn Austin. The latest one I read was “Wonderland Creek.” It was fabulous!

  46. My favorite book ever is The Girl in Hyacinth Blue, by Susan Vreeland, but I enjoy Marie Bostwick’s books, too. Saw your quilt in Quilt Magazine while I was at Barnes & Noble this evening… beautiful!

  47. Nice block, enjoy the spring floral. My favorite book is The Girl of the Limberlost, a very old book.

  48. My favorite books are a series, “The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency” by Alexander McCall Smith.

  49. My new favorite book is Miracle of Catfish by Larry Brown. Sadly he died before the book was completed but it is such good character driven story and I can see where it was going.

  50. Wendy, your block is wonderful, so bright and beautiful.
    The book I am reading at the moment is by quilter Sandra Meech.

  51. I have lots of favorite books. One of the most memorable is, “To Kill a Mockingbird.”

  52. I haven’t read any of Marie’s books yet, but I do love “Follow the River”. I have read this book several times! Love your block!

  53. It was a lovely weekend – the first one of many we hope that is summery weather after snow on the prairies of Western Canada.
    You have created a lovely block for this hop and Linus is a wonderful cause. Thanks for the great tutorial.
    Regards from Alberta,
    Anna

  54. Love the block and the fabrics you used! Very cute! And of course, some of my favorite books have been those by Jennifer Chiaverini!

  55. Love your background fabric, so cute! My favorite book is Middlesex, such a great but weird story.

  56. I wasn’t sure what kind of book you were talking about. I love scrap quilts so I love any quilt book using scraps. Fiction — my husband and I read to each other every night. Right now we are reading a book by Joel Rosenberg that is good. “Damascus Count Down” is a third in a trilogy which we are enjoying. We also have enjoyed books by Francine Rivers, Nicholas Sparks, and Debbie McComber.

  57. Hiya!!! Oh it’s too hard to pick out one single book, I’ve read and love hundreds of them. I’m currently into fantasy and thriller books, but that can change at any given time. Love your block, so pretty with all the flowers. Thank you for having the giveaway. Blessed be, hugs!!!

    pamspretties57 at gmail dot com

  58. I enjoy reading all of janet Evanovich’s books. I love all the star blocks and yours has such pretty fabric.

  59. I love all of Marie’s Cobbled Court Quilts books, the series is wonderful. Thank you for your lovely star block.

  60. I don’t read much any more because of the medicine I am on. The book that I am trying to read now is Devoted to Quilting By Nita Beshear. She has another one out now so when I get done with this one I will buy the other one. Thank you for the beautiful block.

  61. I really like your Orange Eyed Susan Star Block. I am currently reading Marie Bostwick’s “A Single Thread”. I would love to win Between Heaven and Texas. Thanks for the chance to win!

  62. I love the fabric you used in making that great block. I’m not a reader, but more of a do-er. As a retired Home Economics teacher, I am re-reading 4001 Food Facts and Chef’s Secrets. It has some awesome tips in it. Before I retired I taught elementary school and love chapter books because they’re a quick read and I tend to like historical fiction. Thanks for sharing.

  63. Love the block, thanks. My favorite book is Magnificent Obsession by Lloyd C. Douglas. Hope I win.

  64. I love the colors of the block! Thank you! Right now my favorite books are the Game of Throne series. I’m on book 4

  65. I haven’t read any of Marie Bostwick’s books, so I can’t say which is a favorite, but I do like books written by Susanna Kearsley. Thanks for the chance to win. By the way, I am just now quilting a donation quilt for Project Linus.

  66. I don’t have a favorite book but I do love to read books relating to my craft life – the ones with quilting and knitting as part of the storyline.

  67. Lovely block. My favorite book is the Bible…it never goes out of style…and of course I love all of Marie Bostwick’s books. I love to sew while listening to them.

  68. I really enjoy Bonnie Hunter’s books. I haven’t read any of Marie Bostwicks yet but am looking forward to it.

  69. I can’t choose a single “favorite” book, but my favorite book from childhood was Little Women.

  70. Pingback: Giveaway Winner: Between Heaven and Texas | Ivory Spring

Comments are closed.