Catching up: Sneak Peek #1

Hello Friends!  I hope you have had a good weekend, and have had a great start to a new week.  I put myself in the high gear to get quite a few things done because my “to-do” pile is getting to be rather overwhelming.  I worked on a new quilt over the weekend, and here is a sneaky peek for you:

IMG_5105

Do you like what you see so far?  I would like to know how you would coordinate the print such as the one shown?  Bright and bold, or a bit subdued, or scrappy?!

I will have more revealing peeks for you when it is safe for me to do so. :)  I think I am going to be able to quilt this quilt in a “fun” way.  Stay tuned for details.

What’s on your agenda this week?  I hope you get to do something fun!  Thanks for stopping by.  Hugs to you all.

28 thoughts on “Catching up: Sneak Peek #1

  1. Such a “happy fabric”. I’d go bright and scrappy. But then I like quilts that make me smile. Well, you asked lol!!!!

  2. The owls are adorable. I especially like how each owl has a different pattern on its body — one wavy lines, the other swirls. Quilting cues? :-)

    I like to use prints like this one sparingly, mixed with lots of others. I feel like, if I coordinate solids and blenders to just one print, it gets too matchy-matchy. I love seeing antique and vintage quilts with so many different fabrics, and thinking about the scrap bags they must have come from, the remnants of this loved one’s dress and that loved one’s work shirt. So maybe that’s why I like to mix so many fabrics into my own quilts, even though I’m spoiled with fabric stores instead of rag bags!

  3. I’d go bright to balance the bright birdy section. I like the way you’ve separated the two fabrics with a white strip. That gives your eyes a place to rest when looking at the quilt.
    This week and next I will be working to finish up quilts to put in my guild’s quilt show; this includes a couple of Linus Project quilts.

  4. Wow that owl fabric is just adorable. I think modern and bold is the way to go here! Why not wake up the owl!

    Have a great week

  5. Bright and bold. Looks so cute. I sewed today and played frog after..rip it rip it rip it. Wrong side to right side doesn’t work! But it’s right now after many done that way. There are days and today was Monday!

  6. Definitely bright! I’m anxious to see the fun quilting. My BOMs came in; I’ll be working on those blocks–all FOUR of them.

    Keep on quilting….

  7. I’m all about the brights so you know where I would be with this one. LOVE those cute birds!!! You are going to have fun with this project.

  8. Oh, wow – what a fun print! So many ways one could go with that. At the moment, I’m charmed by pops amid calm plays of cool tones, so if I had cart blanch for shopping, I’d probably really enjoy playing with different gray tones and slips of bright color to enhance good pops of this fabric. Ask me again in a few days and I’d probably feel like some other kind of ensemble!! ;D

  9. I’m a bold and bright kind of girl…love the oranges and pinks, with a pop of lime and turquoise! I’m actually doing some organizing today…too many UFO’s sitting about that need to be put into to their respective “to do” bins!

Leave a Reply

