Merry Christmas 2012!

Dear Friends, my little family wishes you a very blessed Christmas!  Manifold blessings to you and yours from heaven above!

nativity14

Thou didst leave Thy throne and Thy kingly crown,
When Thou camest to earth for me;
But in Bethlehem’s home was there found no room
For Thy holy nativity.

Refrain

O come to my heart, Lord Jesus,
There is room in my heart for Thee.

Heaven’s arches rang when the angels sang,
Proclaiming Thy royal degree;
But of lowly birth didst Thou come to earth,
And in great humility.

Refrain

The foxes found rest, and the birds their nest
In the shade of the forest tree;
But Thy couch was the sod, O Thou Son of God,
In the deserts of Galilee.

Refrain

Thou camest, O Lord, with the living Word,
That should set Thy people free;
But with mocking scorn and with crown of thorn,
They bore Thee to Calvary.

Refrain

When the heav’ns shall ring, and her choirs shall sing,
At Thy coming to victory,
Let Thy voice call me home, saying “Yet there is room,
There is room at My side for thee.”

My heart shall rejoice, Lord Jesus,
When Thou comest and callest for me.

“Thou Didst Leave Thy Throne by Emily E. Elliot, 1864”

***

Thou Didst Leave Thy Throne is of my favorite Christmas hymns.  Pray tell what is yours?

24 thoughts on “Merry Christmas 2012!

  1. I’ve never heard that hymn, Wendy! I love Silent Night — we always sing that at the very end of our 11 PM Christmas Eve service, with all the lights turned off in the sanctuary, and each of us holding a single lit candle. Merry Christmas!

  2. Good Christmas Eve to you dear Wendy. I have so many fave Christmas/Advent songs. Growing up in a Lutheran Parochial school/church, I learned and loved them all. But the one I hold the dearest is “Of the Father’s Love Begotten”. I want to weep when I hear it sung by John Michael Talbot on his CD “The Birth of Jesus”. It is a hard CD to find. but you can probably find it on the internet now and it would be worth your time to do so. He has a lovely voice and the male voices echoing thru the music take my breath away. (I could be a music critic here). I haven’t been able to sing Silent Night for 31 years now, after the birth of my first child, a son. Then I understood the great honor and sacrifice bestowed upon Mary. Now my daughter can no longer sing it either. We stand side by side in the darkened church, candles alight in our hands and tears running down our cheeks. Her little boys asking “mommy, why are you crying?”
    Merry Christmas to you and to all.
    donna j from Kansas

  3. Merry Christmas to your sweet family! We love all the Christmas Hymns, and enjoyed singing together at church last night (although Larry remarked that one was a “downer”,lol and I cannot remember the name:-})
    hugs, pokey

  4. Merry Christmas to you and yours. Here is to a Wonderful New Year
    for all of us.

    I am making your Sweet Shoppe wallhanging in SimpleQuilts & Sewing.

    Can anyone tell me why you put together the top with borders before
    putting the fabric candy pieces on the blocks?

    Thanks Much,
    Christmas Hugs, Pauline

  5. My favorite is a more modern Christmas song Mary Did You Know by Mark Lowrie. When he sings it, it seems like he is really talking to Mary.

  6. It’s christmas day, thank you for sharing another message of our “Lords” love for his son and how he died to save us all! It’s quiet and still in my house so I’m taking this time to listen to some christian music. So I too can praise him for all that he has done for me and you. God bless and merry christmas.

  7. My favorite Christmas song is “Silent Night”. Especially the third verse: Silent night, holy night Son of God, Love’s pure light, radiant beams from Thy holy face, with the dawn of redeeming grace, Jesus, Lord at Thy birth, Jesus, Lord at Thy birth!

    May the wonder of His unconditional gift of love be your focus!
    Merry Christmas!

  8. Wishing you a wonderful Christmas too! I adore that hymn – at any time of year- and I also love O Little Town of Bethlehem. Christmas has been hard for me this year, with my dear husband spending Christmas with Jesus. Xx

Leave a Reply

